We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place to relax and enjoy a magic paradise of Indonesia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peter's Magic Paradise
Ranked #1 of 2 Tarimbang B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Just returned from Sumba where we unfortunately only spend two nights with Magic Peter and his delightful wife Yosni. No need to say that this is a very unique place. For one the location is simply breathtaking. On a hill top with 360º views. If your choice of holiday is on the beach then Peter will drive you down to one of the worlds most incredible unspoiled beach you have ever seen anywhere. The drive will take about 20 minutes and at the same time is a bit of an adventure. Unfortunately I am not a surfer but I am told that Tarimbang offers one of the worlds greatest break anywhere. If anyone has ever visited Bali and its overdevelop beaches around Uluwatu, then you can easily visualize the beach in Tarimbang. Beautiful white sand and incredible cliffs on both sides. Once you are done with surfing or doing nothing on the beach, head back to Peters resort where an incredible delicious Sumba meal awaits you. Prepared by Peters wife and then enjoyed on a big table hopefully with other guests, the three course dinner will be something to be remembered. Most of the vegetable served are actually grown on the resort. I traveled over the passed 24 years extensively across every region of Indonesia and the food served in Peters place has to bee among the best local food I ever tasted. Prizes for food and a cold Bintang Beer (Rp.70'000) are more then reasonable. Please do keep in mind that for Peter the nearest store is a three hours drive away where a bottle of large Bintang costs Rp.40'000 which then is sold for Rp.70'000. More then reasonable.
This is definitely a must place to visit for someone looking for something very unique.
We will definitely be back, and next time back I will bring with me Family and friends

Room Tip: All rooms are identical. Very unique are the bathrooms with an open view overlooking the beach of Ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HeinzvonHolzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 25 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Were there to surf with family. Best place to stay with breathtaking view and delicious food. Yosni and Peter are great and will drive you down ( 20 min) to the beach to surf and pick you up. The place is clean and comfortable we just loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 311nicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is an unusual little paradise located on top of wooded green hills offering a panoramic view of the hills, the sea and the cliffs framing the white sandy beach. Access is via a safe if occasionally potholed rural road which also leads down to the fine, wide expanse of a beach near a fishing village set among coconut trees.
My bungalow had a front-row view of the beach from both a large window and a balcony, a spacious downstairs bathroom built into the cliff, while close by exotic birds and sometimes monkeys can be observed in the tree-tops below. The infinitiy pool offers similar views towards the sea and is set in a landscaped garden with colourful flowers and bushes. The owners Yosni and Peter entertain guests in a relaxed fashion, almost like family members, with fresh fruit and greens, and superior home-made foods, spiced up occasionally by Peter's magic tricks. Deliciously fresh fish for dinner can be observed being paddled to the beach in outrigger canoes during the early morning, where the density of visitors seems to be a person per kilometer of pristine sand. Prices reflect the standard offered in a remote location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Go2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The environement is just breathtaking : when driving all along the kilometers it takes to come to Peter and Yosny's place BE SURE you will not forget it. I am living on Sumba since now 8 years and had never seen such an enchanting place and such a warmfull welcoming ! When beeing in that place you really feel priviledged by such an excluive and unique beauty.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank graffounet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MangoBango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanThamrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank natesibarani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarimbang
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sinar Tambolaka
Hotel Sinar Tambolaka
#7 of 14 in Sumba
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nihiwatu
Nihiwatu
#1 of 14 in Sumba
350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Watukaka Resort
Watukaka Resort
#3 of 14 in Sumba
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pondok Wisata Pantai Cemara
0.0 mi away
Oro Beach Houses and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Sumba Adventure Resort
Sumba Adventure Resort
#3 of 7 in Waingapu
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter's Magic Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter's Magic Paradise

Address: Jl. Tarimbang | Sumba - East Nusa Tenggara, Tarimbang, Sumba, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Sumba > Tarimbang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tarimbang
Price Range: $750 - $785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Peter's Magic Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing