We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not 4 the family”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mason City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Reviewed December 16, 2009

The hotel room was very interesting we walked in and were greeted by a blast of the smell of smoke we found ashes next to the bedside, we opened the door again to check the no smoking sign posted---Yes it said No smoking but it smelt worse than a bar in there. They must have thought so too because there was a car freshener hanging from the light.
The floor boards were all rip out of the room and in the corner there was some animal poo. Everything was well worn and the bedspread was a dingy brown/yellow on the inside--the sheets popped off the bed every other minute so you could have a look at the wonderful mattress you are sleeping on. The mattresses crunched when you sat on them (yes I thought it was strange too).
The bathroom had hair in the drain in the tub--as in it covered the whole drain--not just a few hairs. The sink was grimy brown and felt greasy.
I noticed many contractors staying here--this hotel wouldn't be bad for that I suppose, due to the fact that it is the cheapest place in town , no one minds if you bring a little dirt in, and they have a little fridge and microwave., but not a family---or your loved ones.
On the plus side--
It did have a little refrigerator and microwave. It claimed to offer free breakfast but didn't see where they could have it and plus was a little afraid to eat there. It is located right next door to the town's mall, other shopping hot-spots and not to far from restaurants . Our room was right next door to a gas-station, so if you wanted coffee or a snack late at night you are right there. The person behind the desk seemed nice. They had a outdoor pool in the drive-way.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moorepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2009

Upon late afternoon check-in, my husband was given a room that was not ready; the bed was unmade and there were dirty linens in the bathroom. They did give him another room but after making him feel like the other room should have been OK. The second room was cleaned (?) but had cobwebs around the ceiling and no baseboard.

There was a sign posted that breakfast was served starting at 6:00 am. At 7:15 there was nothing there but coffee and no one around so he waited 10 - 15 minutes. He checked out shortly after that and there still was no one around.

Definitely NOT a "best value inn; Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjtravaille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

I stayed in the Americas Best Value Inn, during one of the events in Mason city.The good thing is they have the best rate for the service in town.
I guess it used to be Best Value Inn before and heard the new management has taken the Vantage Hospitality brand and upgraded it to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites.The front desk manager was really friendly and accommodated with all my request regarding the rooms, although they were full that night.He was very good in giving us the directions.The rooms were cozy and comfortable.I actually stayed in one of the upstairs room with kind of private balcony and the hotel has both interior and exterior corridor access.
There was a nice swimming pool,but it was out door, so closed for winter.The breakfast, room cleanliness,linen were all decent.The wireless internet was really faster than my home connection!! Although the parking lot in front is bit tight, actually there are enough spaces to park all the cars.If needed they have additional spaces at the back too.
I would recommend this hotel to individuals and family both for bussiness and family purpose

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tracy077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2006

The Mason City Thrift Lodge is now called America's Best Value Inn. Being budget travellers on a cross country trip, we have to make every penny count. I got a 1 Queen Bed Room for $39.95 + tax. This is half the price the rest of the known motels in the area.

Of course, you get what you pay for. The motel is located in an older area of town, which is cramped and depressed looking, along a busy intersection. Parking was a bit tight in front of the office since there was a small swimming pool that took up much room. There was additional parking at the back but it did not look very safe. Check-in was quick. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We had a first floor room which opened into an interior corridor with worn carpeting. Our room smelled musty and old although it looked clean and average size. We had a view of the back parking lot and a glimpse of the town mall. There was a table and 2 chairs, 1 night table, dresser, microwave and a small fridge. The AC was ok although the iindividual thermostat control was broken. The bed was average and the sheets looked clean. The bathroom was clean too with thicker than average towels. The shower stall was big with swinging glass doors. The water felt a bit slimy but this was a common observation during our stay in Iowa motels.

There was a continental breakfast in the morning but the orange juice was obviously watered down and at 9:30 am, they were out of toast. Checkout was 11 am and at 9:00am, we got a loud knock on the door from housekeeping despite having a "Do not disturb sign" on the door knob. Checkout was quick. I asked directions to the post office. They could not even remember the name of the streets. The verdict: If you can put up with a few things and if your stay is only for a night and only to sleep, go ahead and book a room here and save some money.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank prettycat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2004

After sleeping in this hotel I now believe that cars can be comfortable. This hotel will make you wish you had rather slept in your car. The beds here will make you believe that the floor has got to be more comfortable. The hotel is located next to a major through-fare in town which means that you will here road traffic all night long because the walls are paper thin and the hotel is right next to the highway. Also, because it is next to the highway the lights from the highway and parking lot will illuminate your room all night long. The room had a bad odor and felt damp. I slept in my sweatshirt because I was afraid of the sheets. I had to lift up the quilt to insert a bed-rail for my 3-year old & looked at the matress which looked to be 30 years old possibly found on the side of the road judging by the stains on it. The matress felt that way too. Instead of staying here, sleep in your car. You will be more comfortable.

7  Thank Back2Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mason City hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mason City
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mason City
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Mason City
52 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Mason City
Days Inn Mason City
#8 of 8 in Mason City
179 reviews
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Mason City
Super 8 Mason City
#5 of 8 in Mason City
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 24 5th St SW, Mason City, IA 50401-3816
Location: United States > Iowa > Mason City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Price Range: $29 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Americas Best Value Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Mason City, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing