We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Music Man Square” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Music Man Square

Music Man Square
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Music Man Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Docents obviously love the place, very personable, patient with questions. Delightful recreation of 1912 shopping.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    35
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, MI
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quaint Town Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Plus, there are tours into the adjacent boyhood home of Meredith Willson. Lots of fun "stuff" to buy in the gift store -- my favorite are the "Trouble" tees that will adorn my teenagers and be gifts for my young niece and nephew. Also acts as a conference center and local area to have wedding receptions, reunions and such.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLutefisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
389 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Located next to Meredith Wilson 's home, this attraction looks like the set from the Music Man. It is worth seeing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lavonnemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
477 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Interesting site, slow tours, and a warning...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I am an educator in Theatre with a specialization in Musical Theatre. Along with that, my wife and I are musical theatre lovers and both have a connection to THE MUSIC MAN, so going to this attraction was a no-brainer.

There are positives here: the facility is nice, air-conditioned, and there are a few informative exhibits in the museum. Additionally, the Willson boyhood home is there and the gift shop has a lot of interesting items related to Willson, the musical, and the museum. However, along with the positives are the negatives. First, the tour guides are slow and do not have all of their facts at the ready (one just apologized for not knowing, the other carried notes). Secondly, the Willson home was very hot and there were very few original pieces in the home; most of the house was furnished and decorated with period pieces NOT belonging to the Willson family. Finally, the streetscape (which we were told cost over 10 million dollars) attempts to be a recreation of set pieces from the MUSIC MAN film, but be aware that these are, indeed, replicas and some of them are replicas of pieces that did not even appear in the film.

I think that the facility focuses too much on the MUSIC MAN film and not on the Broadway productions. If you are a fan, it is a must see...just once.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Takes the Music Man beyond just one of my hsuband's favorite films”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

The exhibit is both informative as well as enoyable. There is history of Meredith Wilson, as well as Music, itself. And many references (including some of the movie sets!) to The Music Man! Don't miss the "76 Trombones"!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Music Man Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing