We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, ok value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, ok value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family and I stayed here overnight through our travels and had a very good night of rest.
Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, though the hotel itself shows some signs of age.
The blower in the bathroom was not working, and the water from the shower head not
coming off as strong as it should. Hot breakfast was good, with a generous variety;
price for night of stay was OK. Overall, a decent hotel and stay.

Room Tip: If you would like a good night of sleep, mention it to the hotel receptionist when you book -- we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InnsAndSuitesLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    46
    24
    20
    12
See reviews for
70
21
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a nice, clean, up-to-date hotel. The staff is friendly and there are always cookies and coffee at the front desk! I have not had the continental breakfast and therefore cannot comment on it. The price is very reasonable - my king suite was only $111/night (negotiated rate). I will definitely stay here when I visit Mason City again next summer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMASONCITY, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We appreciate all comments and I will pass your comments on to the staff. We hope to see you on your next visit to Mason City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I really like Country Inn and Suites as a chain, and I had a nice stay at this one in Mason City. Clean, quiet, spacious king bed room. I slept comfortably and have no complaints. I've stayed at this hotel twice in the past couple years, and I will likely stay here again next time I travel through.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sali_Bloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMASONCITY, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again as your travels bring you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
208 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our daughter booked two nights here, two rooms over the 4th of July weekend. Very nice place. Friendly and courteous staff. Free breakfast was awesome. Different items on the breakfast offering each morning. I'd definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMASONCITY, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. I will advise the staff of your comments and we hope to see you and your family on your next trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I booked 3 rooms for a family get together, the manager was extremely helpful with helping me get all of the rooms together. When we arrived everything was clean and very nice. Our stay was very uneventful as far as the rooms go, everything was clean, comfortable, quiet - just perfect. Breakfast was good the next morning. We would for sure book there again when/if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Mn
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stopped there just as a snowstorm was coming in.
After 6" of snow one of the employees shoveled the snow from
around my car the next morning when we left. I have never had this happen before.
Like all CIS I have stayed at the rooms are clean and have comfortable beds.
Great breakfast. Will definitely stop there again on our trips
to visit grandchildren.
This hotel is off the interstate about 5 miles so the rooms were also quite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFM_NL_Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMASONCITY, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. Yes, it was quite a storm and we were more than pleased to help you out of the parking lot. Between the snow removal company and my employees, we were busy most of the day Monday moving snow and digging cars out. Thankfully for those who were travelling, the roads were passable by mid day. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again when you travel through our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
182 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Mason City Country Inn & Suites. Room was clean & quiet, but bathroom needed a touch of grace as room shown some wear & tear and any repairs looked rather sloppy. A well stock warm breakfast was offered in the morning and appreciated that they used glass rather than the plastic cups that many places use now days. Had a nice chat with manager in the morning & he provided us with directions to help us in our way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMASONCITY, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for you kind response. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. Your comments about breakfast are well taken and I will pass your comments on to my breakfast staff. We look forward to returning in the future and hope you will choose us when you stop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mason City
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mason City
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Mason City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Clear Lake
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
4.7 mi away
Super 8 Clear Lake
Super 8 Clear Lake
#5 of 8 in Clear Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
Address: 4082 4th St SW, Mason City, IA 50401-1578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Mason City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Mason City
Mason City Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing