We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
kansas city
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“surprised”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

have statyed at this hotel several times and will stay again. But i was shocked at behavior of front desk- a young adult in our party lost her room key- she went to the front desk to get another key. The man working the desk did not ask her name or for an ID - he simply gave her the key for the room she asked for- good thing she was not an ax murder cuz if she was she just got access to a room NO QUESTIONS ASKED. this is a HUGE safety concern

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMASONCITY, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
My apologies for the way the additional key request was handled by my front desk person. Our policy is very strict. When an additional key is requested for a checked in room, I require the front desk person to ask for ID and room number. We then check the reservation system to be sure the room and name are the same. Many times a person will come from the pool and have no ID so we will ask other information such as address, phone number, etc. If we still are not satisfied, we will escort the person to the room. For a child, we normally ask that a parent come to the front desk so we can issue a new key.
If possible would you provide the date and time of the key request so I can speak to the person on duty that day?

Jim Latham
General Manager
641 423 1770
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    48
    25
    22
    12
See reviews for
73
24
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed at the Country Inn and Suites in Mason City one night, Sunday June 10, 2012. Regular room with a king size bed. The entire property was like new, clean and well kept. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet. No noise from outside the room. Doors close softly, no listening to other doors slamming. Room was well equipped, refrigerator, micro wave, etc.

The free breakfast was very good, with china and silverware, no paper plates, no plastic. Hot items and plenty of the regular continental items.

All the employees we dealt with were friendly and courteous.

So why a "very good rating instead of "excellent"? The pool and whirlpool area was closed for a mechanical problem. It was listed on the Country Inn website as a feature of the hotel, and we would have stayed somewhere else had we known it would be closed, as there are lots of choices in Mason City, and we enjoy a swim and sitting in the whirlpool after a long day on the road. But this property was excellent in every other regard.

By the way, we had no trouble finding the hotel, our GPS took us right to it, and it is well marked, with a large sign out front.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Overall a good experience, but some quirks that would keep me from coming back. On the plus side, the room was clean, if a bit dated. Breakfast was very good, with several hot choices, more than at the competition. On the quirky side, first it was hard to find (my GPS had me going in circles to find the entrance, which is not clearly marked from the road); second, as others have commented, there is no cover over the entryway. Getting our luggage in was a hassle, as our rollers hung up on the seams in the sidewalk, and I had to hold the door open with one arm while trying to get my luggage thru. The "living room" of the suite did not have its own AC/heat control, and was too warm. In the bedroom, the curtains blocked the blower for the AC, sending the cool air behind the curtain and out thru the window glass, not into the room. So to get the benefit of the AC, you have to keep the curtains open, giving anyone in the parking lot a show. Worst, the blower in the return vent for the AC absolutely ROARED constantly, making it almost impossible to hear the TV and difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluecanoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Nice, cute Inn with a creative country charm. Nice spacious rooms and free WiFi. Good view of a farm field from room 335. Pool is NOT heated in the summer, so beware! Friendly hotel guy, and very helpful. All looks well and cozy, until it was bed time. My grandmother pulled out the couch bed, and the sheets were dirty- with pubic hair and blood on them. She went to complain to the front desk, and she came up with a rollaway bed. The sheets on that bed had bus on them. She complained once again and finally got clean sheets. But, despite that, very, very good Breakfast in the morning, but the eggs were kinda runny.

Room Tip: Suites are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tortoiseneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My number one priority when selecting a hotel is that it be ultra clean. This one was. Attractive rooms, pleasant staff, and immaculately clean.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expedition01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmetsburg, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Stayed for an extended weekend, with people of all ages from 6 to 80, front desk people were very friendly and helpful! Rooms where clean and kept that way. Breakfast was above average, and pool was warm enough for the kids(not for me but I like it warm). Only bad thing was a somewhat grumpy breakfast attendant on Sunday.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gholiowa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

The good: location and service. There are a lot of restaurants in the area, easy to drive to. All staff members were extremely friendly and helpful.

The bad: rooms and bedding. I think some of the rooms have had some updates, others not so much. Some of the rooms have refrigerators and microwaves, others do not. My heater did not seem to work one week, and I was very cold at night. It seemed to be blowing constant air, sometimes warm but mostly cold so this was a HUGE negative. The bedding also really needs to be updated. The mattress itself seems pretty old.

All in all, I recommend because compared to the other local hotels this one isn't too bad. The friendly staff definitely makes it a better situation. There is though a holiday inn express being constructed nearby, so I would expect the Country Inn will need to update if they want to stay competitive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mason City
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mason City
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mason City
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Mason City
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
5.0 mi away
Best Western Holiday Lodge
Best Western Holiday Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clear Lake
301 reviews
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
Address: 4082 4th St SW, Mason City, IA 50401-1578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Mason City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Mason City
Mason City Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing