We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dirty”
Review of Super 8 Mason City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Super 8 Mason City
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“dirty”
Reviewed November 4, 2009

I have stayed at this motel last year and it has gotten worse. First of all they have you pay for a microwave and a mini fridge. Five dollars a piece, each day! That is ridiculous since I'm staying there for four days. The cleaning staff doesn't do a good job. Sitting on the bed you can see candies and junk under the dresser. They don't pull out the night stand and vaccum behind it. Shower curtains are dirty. The doors don't seal up, so you have smoke coming into your room. Nasty. Breakfast is just the basics; cereal, oatmeal, bread, biscuits and gravy, coffee and juice. Oh, the best part is that the pool actually has a sign up saying that you can't swim if you have diarrhea. Gross. Front desk people are slow. Parking is cramped, lines are way to close together for my comfort.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky7196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    85
    42
    21
    18
See reviews for
81
45
25
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2009

When checking in for a business trip, it took us a while to get checked in because they did not have our room despite a confirmation number. Once gettting to the room, it was not the room we had booked--much smaller. When calling down to the front desk, the clerk gave us another room. Fine and dandy until we got all of our stuff hauled in from the car after going down the road 3 miles to find something to eat. When getting back to our room, we noticed that the floors were not very well vacuumed and there were literally fingernail clippings underneath the night stand! Too much for us to bear so we called down to the front desk getting a different staff member who then reluctantly gave us an upgrade to a nicer room. We stayed in this room 1 night only to discover the next day that our keys no longer worked to get into our room. When going to the front desk, the manager informed us that we would have to pay for the room we were currently in if we wanted to keep that room--an extra $20! He was going to make us move to a different room..this was the MANAGER! I cannot believe the customer service of this place and the run around we had been given, especially when it came to paying for the room. I do not recommend staying here. It is not much cheaper than the other hotels in town but dirty rooms and rudeness of all staff make it worth the $5-$15 elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmgirlie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mason City hotels

chengdu, china
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2008

Stayed here while passing through Iowa. All we wanted was somewhere cheap for one night, and the Super 8 was just about the same price as all the other budget options we called in town. We were pleasantly surprised at what we got for the low price: large, very clean room, nice clean pool for the kids, passable breakfast, friendly service. Definitely would stay there again when in Mason City.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank uiuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed here in two rooms for five nights while visitng family in the area. This property is well-located in Mason City near restaurants and shopping. The Applebee's is right in front of the property which would be convenient. The exterior of the property is among the cleanest I've seen. The maintenance is excellent and the gentleman that works on that was always busy touching up paint, cleaning the grounds, etc. The rooms are basic and functional. All seemed clean. We were basically only in the hotel to sleep as we were with family all day. One gripe was that since we were with family until late and then slept in until approx. 9 or 10 in the am we could never get housekeeping service. We were able to trade out towels but the rooms did not get serviced over the five days. They may have if we'd asked, but we really used them very lightly. The main clientele seems to be visiting workers from various companies based on the population of the parking lot at night...along with a few families and travelers.

This property is not close to the I-35 exit (about 6 miles east) and so I'm not sure many one night travelers use this hotel. That being said, if you are going to Mason City and need a place to sleep for a reasonable rate, this would be fine. The Country Inn and Suites is nicer as far as furniture and fixtures and we've stayed there before, but is about twice the price per night. We got two rooms here for the same as one room over there and again, for the little time we spent in the rooms it was fine. Stay here if you just need the basics.

  • Liked — Functional and clean
  • Disliked — Just average comfort
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 22, 2006

I do not know what that other reviewer is talking about. I have stayed at this Super 8 many times and it is a great property. The staff was very accomodating, the pool was great, breakfast was wonderful-with alot to select from. That other reviewer must have been having a bad day, because I have had nothing but "super" experiences here. Highly recommended property.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2003

This hotel stay was one of the worst I have ever had!! (And I've stayed in a LOT of hotels!!!) I was confired for a non-smoking room, and requested first floor; I received a smoking room on the 3rd floor. The "continental breakfast" consisted of cold cereal and white bread, no muffins or other breads. The "large pool" was fairly small and only 3-4" deep. Considering the price of this hotel, they need lower the price or improve the amenities. Also, the false advertising is a real disgrace.

Helpful?
6 Thank JenniferJK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mason City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mason City
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mason City
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Mason City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
5.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
5.6 mi away
Super 8 Clear Lake
Super 8 Clear Lake
#5 of 8 in Clear Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Mason City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Mason City

Property: Super 8 Mason City
Address: 3010 4th St SW, Mason City, IA 50401-1566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Mason City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Mason City 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Super 8 Mason City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Mason City
Mason City Super Eight
Mason City Super 8
Super 8 Mason City Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing