We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A rescued treasure”

Stockman House Museum
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Mason City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the only Prairie Style Frank Lloyd Wright House open to the public in Iowa. We have regularly scheduled tours seven days a week from May thru October. Tour by appointment available November thru April.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A rescued treasure”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

A lovely FLW house rescued by a group of caring citizens and lovingly restored to a museum with regular tours. Our docent was very knowledgable and clearly loved the history of the place. This was an easy 5 block walk from Central Park and the Historic Park Inn and made the perfect little excursion during our visit to the hotel. The interpretative center next door is great as well with models of many Prairie Style homes (if you're lucky, the feisty little lady running the place will ignore the "do not touch" signs all over and show you that the roofs of some of the models are removable to show the inside).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KylieandKipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    20
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Loved the tour guide, wish I could remember her name! A dear older woman who lead the tour telling stories about Frank Lloyd Wright as well as local history! quite worth it!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, MI
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Docents are FULL of tidbits.”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is NOT to be missed when you go to Mason City. Extremely knowledgeable staff and the center is a treasure trove of historical insight into Frank Lloyd Wright and the Prairie School of Architecture.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MsLutefisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
“Enjoyable tour!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

A very friendly and casual tour was provided to us on a rainy Sunday. I enjoyed seeing a FLW home for a budget minded family. I did not see one piece of art glass, which was actually quite refreshing. It gave you a chance to see the "way-ahead-of-his-time" bones of the house and the genius of FLW. I kept saying "I could live in this house" over and over again. Our tour guide and the staff and the Architecture Interpretation Ctr were extremely friendly and interested to hear about other FLW properties we had visited.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarenSybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting, Worthwhile”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

So interesting, Knowledgeable docent. The Architectural Interpretation Center is wonderful! Well worth your time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stockman House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing