We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel and IMPECCABLE Service!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Historic Park Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a 2 night stay at this magnificent hotel. Our room was perfect and the service was top notch. We were thrilled throughout our stay and we were contacted while on our drive back home (Chicago) that we had left our Ipad behind. They not only kept it for safe keeping but mailed it out immediatly!!! We were so grateful for their honesty and true dedication to their guests!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is amazing!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheAhlmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 476 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were on an 8 day vacation traveling around to Frank Lloyd Wright properties and began with 2 nights at this lovely and lovingly restored inn. The restoration was done in a historic style while adding modern function and conveniences and we really appreciated that decision. We stayed in an expanded king which was very, very nice, though we would have preferred a room with 2 beds and the hotel does not have much to offer in that regard. Be sure to take the tour of the hotel as that greatly added to our enjoyment of the stay. The included continental breakfast was good and served in a wonderful area of the hotel. Both the hotel restaurant and the downstairs bar are excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeWoodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Mason City, like many Midwest towns struggles to become a destination, especially with Clear Lake so near. The Historic Park Inn gives Mason City relevancy and a reason to come to Mason City. I attended a meeting there last week. As the only remaining hotel designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, the hotel is a jewel and worth staying for an event. The staff is incredibly friendly and willing to help. I would encourage the banquet department to continue building on presentation but the food itself was excellent. The hotel is filled with history and truly offers Mason City something to be proud of!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Greg271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stopped here on way back from Badlands / Blackhills trip , This is a Beautifully restored Icon of a Hotel , Frontdesk staff was great , very enthusiastic about Hotel , room was small but very comfortable ,very clean , great bed & nice bath , was there on Monday so restaurant was closed but good food within short walk.

Room Tip: I dont' think there is a bad room in the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very comfortable all the way around. Quiet, clean, and an excellent breakfast. The staff was friendly and accomodating. MJ at the front desk was very helpful!!! I did not dine in the restaurant but the smells in the lobby in the evening from it were divine. I will return for a pleasure trip to dine, take the tour, and visit the Surf Bar/Buddy Holly experience nearby. Excellent setting downtown with beautiful park across the street and mall (with a Younkers Department Store) behind the hotel. Thank you, HPI!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

On a day trip to Mason City we began with a guided tour of Historic Park Inn. The cost is $10 and worth every penny. Our guide Barb, was very conscientious in her descriptions of everything from the brick and grout to the furniture and carpeting. This hotel is a rare jewel indeed. I implore anyone who wants to learn more about fine architecture or who appreciates unique lodging to take this tour. I don't think one who spends the night here will learn about Frank Lloyd Wright, the reconstruction process and the nooks and crannies of the hotel as one who takes the one hour tour.
Frank Lloyd Wright may not have been one of Mason City's favorite people in 1910 but he certainly left a legacy that this smart city has restored to its' original glory.
One minor disappointment was that we did not get to tour any of the 27 rooms but we did sneak into one being turned over and it was as nice as we expected. Also, the tour takes you to a few places that the regular guests are not allowed into.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the HPI on a whim after seeing the PBS program on the restoration of this property. Being a huge FLW fan, I knew of this property but also knew it to be run down and closed. Sad! After I had seen the program, I knew we had to stay here. We had a few days to relax and decided to make the HPI a one night stop. Our stay began with wonderful personalized service, moved on to superb service in the lounge, and a fantastic meal experience in the 1910 Grill. We went to the Music Man museum and also did the self guided walking tour of the prairie style homes and it was just amazing. Hard to believe that there are so many gems in a town of 28,000. The level of service at the hotel is unmatched even by places claiming to be all about service! If you find yourself near or are a FLW fan, you must go and relish an evening or two. A couple of blocks away also is the Coffee Cat coffee shop. Well worth a stop with the personalized service as well.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mason City
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mason City
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mason City
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Mason City
51 reviews
7.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
8.1 mi away
Best Western Holiday Lodge
Best Western Holiday Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clear Lake
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Park Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Park Inn Hotel

Address: 15 W State St, Mason City, IA 50401-3228
Location: United States > Iowa > Mason City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Price Range: $122 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Park Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Park Inn Hotel, together with City National Bank, of Mason City Iowa were designed by American architect Frank Lloyd Wright as a dual purpose building and completed in 1910. The design greatly influenced architecture in Europe and is as striking today as it ever was. The Park Inn Hotel is the last Wright designed hotel in the world, and has undergone a nearly 20 million renovation; the restoration of the distinctive brick and terra-cotta façade as well as art glass windows has restored the Prairie School building to a functional hotel. The interior, while renovated into a contemporary hotel, has public areas and guest rooms restored as closely to Wright's design as possible. Art glass and much else designed by Wright remains. Public area furnishings are period-style and include reproduction Robie House Lights, reproductions of the Mercury statues Richard Bock and Wright designed for the bank, and reproductions of the barrel chairs Wright designed for the bank directors' room. We invite you to come and stay with us in the center of the many area attractions Mason City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Historic Park Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Park Hotel Mason City
Historic Park Inn Hotel Mason City, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing