We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Must-See" Frank Lloyd Wright Site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Historic Park Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is an extraordinary facility in many ways and its rescue and ultimate restoration is a wonderful gift from the many contributors in Mason City (and elsewhere) who supported this project to present visitors and future generations. The alternative - demolition and destruction - is unimaginable, although such things have happened elsewhere. The original number of rooms (+40) has been reduced to 20+ to include private baths in each room, so this is definitely not a "cattle-call" hotel. The public areas are, as would be expected in a FLW building, quite unique including a basement which has been repurposed for a bar and social area. The former bank which is part of the overall FLW-designed complex and attached to the hotel has also been repurposed to accommodate events which, according to the hotel staff we spoke to, keeps the room well-booked. There are several other interesting attractions in Mason City which make a visit worthwhile, including the FLW-designed Stockman House (also rescued and renovated) and the Meredith Wilson (the musical "Music Man") home and stage sets from the musical. For rock n' roll buffs, the Surf Ballroom is nearby in Clear Lake, Iowa a 30 min. drive from the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the building overlook the back of some commercial buildings, whereas those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViajeroSFBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 476 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Delightful, interesting, cozy hotel. Lots of little nooks to explore. Beautifully decorated. We chose to splurge a little and took a suite facing town square. We could hear people on the street early in the evening ( not bad or rowdy by any means) but by bedtime it was quiet. You can hear the train whistle at night, and it reminded me of the scene in Music Man when the salesman has to leave. My only complaint is the included breakfast, which consisted of packaged bread and muffins (yech), yogurt and hard boiled eggs packaged in individual baggies. Coffee and juice ran out and you have to call the desk and ask for more and then wait. After staying in a wonderful room and having a nice dinner in the hotel, breakfast is a downer. But the tables are large and we sat around with other guests and visited. That part was fun. So definitely stay here, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank follylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Not only is this hotel special to Iowa, it's special to the world. On top of that, it's right in the heart of Mason City, has a great bar and restaurant, and is perfect for a tired traveler. Though the breakfast isn't much (bagels, toast, yogurt), the coffee is great.

I look forward to many more stays!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at the HPI two nights while attending my sister's wedding. The hotel is very charming and has some trendy touches. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very nice but small. Unless you get a suite be prepared to feel cozy. The room we, and other family members had, only had showers, no tubs. The bed was extremely comfortable. We could hear people talking in the room across the hall and doors closing during the night so not the quietest hotel we've stayed in.

They offer a limited continental breakfast which consists of bagels, toast, muffins, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, coffee, orange juice and hot tea. We did not eat in the restaurant or venture into the bar so I can't comment on those.

All-in-all it was a comfortable stay. If you are looking for some history and want to be within walking distance of the museum, Music Man Square, and the Meredith Wilson footbridge this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnySkiesDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed in the suite with hottub and park view. Beautiful view of park and city. Room was spectacular. Staff was very professional and kind. We also got the romance package, with champaign and chocolates at arrival, very good! Ate at the adjoining 1910 Grille and then had a nightcap at the 1910 Lounge downstairs. The food was AMAZING! Don't even need a steak knife to eat your amazing steak! And the Lounge has real mixologists that use area favors to create unique cocktails like apples from a local orchard. Loved and cherished every minute at the Park Inn. This was our second time staying for our Anniversary, and will be back again and again. Just wish more locals realized the treasure they have in their back yard with this historic hotel!

Room Tip: The Park View upgrade is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I happened to see a local PBS documentary on Frank Lloyd Wright and his endeavors in Mason City and it fit into my travel plans to drop by Mason City for an evening. I made a point to stay at the Historic Park Inn Hotel and found the place very charming and comfortable. This Hotel would make a nice mini vacation for people from the Twin Cities or Rochester area. Things to do include the Mason City walking tour which takes you past historic homes including some by Frank Lloyd Wright. If you get a chance by all means stay at this hotel. WJH

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Frank Lloyd Wright's spaces have an unmatched sense of space and design. This hotel, designed and built over a century ago lets you actually live in and experience his genius. It is one thing to tour Taliesin in Spring Green Wisconsin or experience his workshop in Chicago but to actually live (albeit briefly) in such space is a memorable experience. This hotel was thoroughly refurbished and reopened a couple of years ago. The Wright genius is dominant but the comforts and appointments of the rooms are strictly upscale 21st century. And the prices are surprisingly low. This place is definitely worth a special trip.

Room Tip: Splurge and ask for a room with a park view. We arrived without a reservation and our inner room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruralminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mason City
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mason City
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mason City
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Mason City
51 reviews
7.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
8.1 mi away
Best Western Holiday Lodge
Best Western Holiday Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clear Lake
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Park Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Park Inn Hotel

Address: 15 W State St, Mason City, IA 50401-3228
Location: United States > Iowa > Mason City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Price Range: $72 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Park Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Park Inn Hotel, together with City National Bank, of Mason City Iowa were designed by American architect Frank Lloyd Wright as a dual purpose building and completed in 1910. The design greatly influenced architecture in Europe and is as striking today as it ever was. The Park Inn Hotel is the last Wright designed hotel in the world, and has undergone a nearly 20 million renovation; the restoration of the distinctive brick and terra-cotta façade as well as art glass windows has restored the Prairie School building to a functional hotel. The interior, while renovated into a contemporary hotel, has public areas and guest rooms restored as closely to Wright's design as possible. Art glass and much else designed by Wright remains. Public area furnishings are period-style and include reproduction Robie House Lights, reproductions of the Mercury statues Richard Bock and Wright designed for the bank, and reproductions of the barrel chairs Wright designed for the bank directors' room. We invite you to come and stay with us in the center of the many area attractions Mason City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Historic Park Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Park Hotel Mason City
Historic Park Inn Hotel Mason City, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing