We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Can't Go Wrong With Wright”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Historic Park Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Historic Park Inn. We are Frank LLoyd Wright enthusiasts, so staying at the HPI was the reason for our trip to Mason City. Booking the room on-line was easy once we were able to find availiability for a 2 night stay. We were later told by the front desk that occupancy is at 90% year round, so plan ahead and be flexible with your travel dates.

The rooms have all the modern conveniences, yet remain as true as possible to the true spirit of FLLW. Unexpected, yet appreciated, modern elements were a large flat screen TV, a coffee maker and a small frig. A continental breakfast--coffee/tea, juice, yogurt and bagel/muffin--was complimentary.

This was a wonderful experience to add to our "collection" of FLLW venue visits.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 481 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Downtown Mason City has the Frank Lloyd Wright HIstoric Park Inn that my wife and I recently stayed in and will return to, as well as an excellent quaint restaurant, "The 1910 Grille". Both hotel and restaurant are refurbished to the 1910 era. The accommadations were large, quiet and very comfortable. The hotel had an adequate (unexpected) continental breakfast.
We were able to eat at the restaurant 2 evenings, everything from appetizers to dessert. The food was excelent and not your typical fare. A healthy hummus dip, pine nuts on salads, grilled eggplant and a delicious squash. Filet Mignon was perfectly done with a special sauce and onions. My salmon, on a bed of risotto stayed warm throughout the meal as was served in a unique shaped dish. Dessert was enough for two and delicious.The food was of 5 star quality as also the staff. Robert our host checked on us to make sure everything was alright. Shelly our waitress was very helpful with the wine and beer selection. Both Kurt the head chef and Cam, Kurts's assistant, visited our table and answered questions about the food preparation/selection. Billiards was enjoyed after dinner in the Gentleman's Lounge. We had a great experience and highly recommend both hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: Our room on 3rd floor had 3 sets of windows overlooking the city's park to the south. Very prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinnyKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband surprised me for my birthday and we stayed at this wonderful Frank Lloyd Wright hotel. The restoration was unbelievable and what a beautiful place! We had dinner in the 1910 Grille and the food and atmosphere was beyond compare. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I took a Wright road trip through Iowa, the highlight being our one-night stay in one of the third floor suites (room 330) of the Park Inn. Our leaded glass windows overlooked the park on three sides. Some might find it a draw back that our room's windows faced two other room's windows, but shaded are provided for privacy. Lucky for us, the rooms on either side drew their shades! i was determined to keep ours open redardless. I didn't want to miss waking up to the morning sunlight streaming in through that beautiful art glass. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated and nicely appointed. We LOVED the radiant heat in the bathroom, and the vanity was also gorgeous. We spent every moment, from 4 pm check-in to 11 am check-out enjoying every inch of the hotel. We had reservations for dinner at the 1910 Grille, and stopped beforehand for drinks and appetizers in the 1910 Lounge, former gentleman's lounges downstairs. Enjoyed both immensely. After checking out, we spent time walking around the prairie school Rock Glen development and had lunch before returning to the hotel for a guided tour, which was lead by the board president of Wright On The Park, the group that spearheaded restoration. We loved every minute. It was a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaChatNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

In late August 2012 my husband & I stayed at the Historic Park Inn, Mason City, Iowa. If our travel plans had allowed it, we would have extended our stay. What a gem this Frank Lloyd Wright hotel is - we highly recommend it! And this is our first ever review of any hotel, anytime, anywhere. Our guest room was very nicely appointed and its small size was not a problem. The entire hotel is beautiful and fun to explore - which the staff encourage. And the staff were friendly and helpful. Thanks to their suggestion, we took the Walking Tour (they sell a guidebook) of Mason City's many historic buildings. With its connection to both Frank Lloyd Wright and Meredith Willson, Mason City is, itself, a gem well worth exploring. If it weren't so far from our home in Arizona, we'd visit it again sooner than later.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here because of the Frank Lloyd Wright Design and because we had heard about the restoration. The hotel definitely still has many Wright touches and was fun to wander through. Check in went smoothly, although they were training a new employee. We stayed on the third floor in a room with a queen bed. Furniture and fixtures were very tasteful and the bed comfortable. Our room had a nice wall of leaded glass windows. Room was quiet, but in the morning you could hear other guests leaving their rooms because the doors make a loud noise when closing. Unfortunate. We did dine at the restaurant and had a really great meal. As mentioned by others, the continental breakfast is basic, but most high end hotels don't even offer a free breakfast of any kind. Overall it was a real treat to stay in the only remaining FLW hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank IowaSmalltownGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

this is now - the restoration of this hotel is a credit to all involved. This was our third attempt at a US 'Historic Hotel' - the previous two were dreadful - this restored our faith, beautifully done, and the attention to detail has to be seen. We sat in the lounge, when we were due to leave, and were asked if we were 'on the tour'? We joined the tour and so pleased we did, it gave us a deeper insight in to this wonderful building.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mason City
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mason City
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mason City
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Mason City
52 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Holiday Lodge
Best Western Holiday Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clear Lake
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Park Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Park Inn Hotel

Address: 15 W State St, Mason City, IA 50401-3228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Mason City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Price Range: $122 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Park Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Park Inn Hotel, together with City National Bank, of Mason City Iowa were designed by American architect Frank Lloyd Wright as a dual purpose building and completed in 1910. The design greatly influenced architecture in Europe and is as striking today as it ever was. The Park Inn Hotel is the last Wright designed hotel in the world, and has undergone a nearly 20 million renovation; the restoration of the distinctive brick and terra-cotta façade as well as art glass windows has restored the Prairie School building to a functional hotel. The interior, while renovated into a contemporary hotel, has public areas and guest rooms restored as closely to Wright's design as possible. Art glass and much else designed by Wright remains. Public area furnishings are period-style and include reproduction Robie House Lights, reproductions of the Mercury statues Richard Bock and Wright designed for the bank, and reproductions of the barrel chairs Wright designed for the bank directors' room. We invite you to come and stay with us in the center of the many area attractions Mason City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Historic Park Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Park Hotel Mason City
Historic Park Inn Hotel Mason City, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing