We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wright on!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Historic Park Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Ditto on everything the other reviewers said. This hotel is a "must stay" for any Wright enthusiast. The attention to historic detail and quality of the restoration gets an A+. Take the hotel tour available on weekends only ($5). All the 4-star hotel amenities are there. Only one suggestion for the Park management: have the restaurant open on Sunday for brunch and dinner. With many of the other downtown restaurants closed on Sunday, we were forced to the shopping strip outside of town for Sunday brunch and dinner. Too bad, we would have loved to try the Inn restaurant which looked great! Kudos to the not-for-profit Board of Trustees who made the restoration happen. They have given a priceless gift to Mason City! PPS, Mason City also boasts the largest collection of significant, historic prairie style homes outside of Oak Park, IL. The Stockman House, only a few blocks away, is open for tours ($10) and is quite a gem in and of itself. The new Visitor Center next door is wonderful too!

Room Tip: Suite with jacuzzi is available at a higher cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valstewart557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 489 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

An amazing restoration! A must-stay for any Frank Lloyd Wright fan. It has all the warmth and welcoming that you associate with Mr. Wright's buildings. All sorts of wonderful public rooms and spaces to get lost in although the bar and restaurant were not open on Sunday evenings. The windows are true works of art (and they even open!) but they do let in lots of noise. I would suggest a pair of earplugs. How wonderful that such a building has been saved and used for its original purpose.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCH550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Kudos to the supporters who brought the Historic Park Inn back to life! Not everyone understands or appreciates the importance of this building, but for those that do, this hotel is a little gem. It is small, and the rooms are of varying sizes - but the real draw is the fabulous renovation. Thankfully, enough people understood the significance of the building and not only prevented it from being demolished, but brought it back to its true glory. Additionally, there are wonderful nooks & crannies throughout the hotel for relaxing with a book or beverage. Also, the lounge on the lower level is a great hang out spot (serving well constructed beverages and a small selection of delicious appetizers). The main restaurant on the first level is also a worth supporting - everything we ate was wonderful. For a small city, Mason City has so much to offer - hopefully the residents support the venues as much as the we tourists!

Room Tip: Overlooking the city square/park - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, and found the hotel to be charming and perfectly updated! We are big Frank Lloyd Wright fans, and this hotel is beautiful! It was restored very close back to his original design, and still has a lot of the original art glass and details. (and the restaurant it open and is very good.. although pricey) I would suggest taking the official tour offered a few times a day.. it was very interesting! It has some cute shops and nice restaurants right outside, all within walking distance. We also walked to the Stockman House and along the Prairie Style walking tour on our way there. We loved this weekend getaway!! Can't wait to go back!

(we stayed in a Queen corner park facing room the first night, the other wall was facing the shops/restaurants. Its' walls were full of gorgeous original windows, that opened up to let the outside in. However, at night, since the original windows are single pane, they let a lot of noise through. We were awoken to a bar brawl Friday at about 2 a.m. from a bar below. We switched rooms the next night and it was much quieter.. but we didn't get the beautiful 2 walls of windows.)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingperson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed at the Historic Park Inn for one night and I very much wish it could have been more.
I advice eating dinner at the restaurant the food and service were excellent. My friend and I also went just down the street to Kush Spa & Salon where we were pampered by the wonderful staff there. Only negative point to hotel stay was the noise--But, that is to be expected with any hotel it would not deter
me from staying there again maybe just bring earplugs next time :)
Love the Player Piano

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golightly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Fabulous hotel! The only downfall, you need to find a way to get permission to get the floor redone in the lobby. It completely detracts from the beauty of the lobby spaces and the hotel.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank maryesparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice president of Corporate Support Services at Historic Park Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Thank you very kindly for your five-star rating of our historic hotel. The tile floors in the lobby and Skylight room are original to the Historic Park Inn Hotel. Considered “historic fabric” by the National Park Service and the State Historical Society the requirement was established to maintain as much of the original floor as possible. On the east and west sides of the Skylight room you will find “footprints” of the original booth locations from the café that occupied the space in 1910. While most of the tile survived 100 years of use and remodeling, some individual tile replacement was required. We made every effort to preserve as much as possible of the original flooring, fixtures, skylights, stained glass, woodwork and more to protect the integrity and historical significance of the property while balancing that with offering guests comfort, luxury and ultra-modern amenities. Again, thanks for staying with us and for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel is a real gem. Not just a beautiful, painstakingly restored Frank Lloyd Wright building, it's also a great hotel. All the staff we met were lovely, the room was spotless and showed real thoughtfulness - a choice of softer or firmer pillows, much softer towels than you normally find in a hotel at this price, gleaming bathroom, detachable shower head with different water settings. Breakfast was ample and we enjoyed being able to sit outside on the terrace to eat it and swap notes with other FLW fans.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mason City
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mason City
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mason City
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Mason City, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Mason City
52 reviews
7.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Mason City
Super 8 Mason City
#4 of 8 in Mason City
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Park Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Park Inn Hotel

Address: 15 W State St, Mason City, IA 50401-3228
Location: United States > Iowa > Mason City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mason City
Price Range: $100 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Park Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Park Inn Hotel, together with City National Bank, of Mason City Iowa were designed by American architect Frank Lloyd Wright as a dual purpose building and completed in 1910. The design greatly influenced architecture in Europe and is as striking today as it ever was. The Park Inn Hotel is the last Wright designed hotel in the world, and has undergone a nearly 20 million renovation; the restoration of the distinctive brick and terra-cotta façade as well as art glass windows has restored the Prairie School building to a functional hotel. The interior, while renovated into a contemporary hotel, has public areas and guest rooms restored as closely to Wright's design as possible. Art glass and much else designed by Wright remains. Public area furnishings are period-style and include reproduction Robie House Lights, reproductions of the Mercury statues Richard Bock and Wright designed for the bank, and reproductions of the barrel chairs Wright designed for the bank directors' room. We invite you to come and stay with us in the center of the many area attractions Mason City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Historic Park Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Park Hotel Mason City
Historic Park Inn Hotel Mason City, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing