We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleep Deprivation in Downtown Marshalltown” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tremont Inn On Main

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tremont Inn On Main
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Marshalltown
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sleep Deprivation in Downtown Marshalltown”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Tremont Inn is a multi-room hotel and restaurant business. We stayed in #209, a spacious 2nd floor room which overlooked the east alleyway of the building. It was a large room with a 12’ ceiling and a clear hardwood floor. A huge, comfortable King bed dominated the space along the north wall. A brown leather chair & ottoman nestled under a reading lamp, just begging for a person to settle in with a good book. Complementing the décor was 2’ x 6’ business table, modern artwork on the walls, drapes on the windows, a separate (and immaculately clean) bathroom, and a generous clothing closet. You can park on the street to unload your vehicle, but you can’t stay there overnight – plenty of free, off-street parking exists behind the hotel. The website www.tremontonmain.com provides many details. The Innkeepers live on the premises.

We encountered many surprises during our stay: 1) Handicapped access is not available from the 1st floor lobby to the 2nd floor rooms. 2) All guest rooms are on the 2nd floor. Adjacent buildings have brick walls which efficiently reflect sounds. Unfortunately, street & alley noises from pedestrians and vehicles were audible, especially after dark. 3) Most civilized cities in the Midwest have passed and enforce anti-cruising ordinances. Apparently Marshalltown has not done so. 4) About 1-1/2 blocks south, an active marshaling yard with a locomotive repair facility exists. Railroad equipment makes noise 24/7. 5) Air-conditioning retrofits into older hotel rooms not originally designed for them are sometimes problematic. Our room was one of those. 6) Plan ahead for your own breakfast.

We hope your sleep experience won’t be as awful as ours was. On the other hand, if you must be in Marshalltown on business, you might be better served by the chain motels along US Route 30.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unclevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TremontInn, Owner at Tremont Inn On Main, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with your experience during your night’s stay in August 2013. Your comments are appreciated. We wish we could solve the points you made. However most of the points below are beyond our control and some of your comments do not apply to our facility. Since your stay five months ago, you may have confused our hotel with another.

Responding to your six surprises below:

1. We are a historic building and do not have an elevator to our second floor. The hotel was completed in 2009 featuring eleven rooms, each with wall to wall carpeting, soaring 13 foot ceilings and individual décor. The expansive hardwood floor hallway is original and was the pathway to professional office spaces which occupied the second floor prior to the renovation.

2. Since we are located in the historic district of Marshalltown, we have restaurants, shops and events that draw people to the area making it a busy and thriving downtown
on weekend evenings. Although you did not share the date of your stay, your complaint about breakfast indicates you were here on a Saturday night.

3. Not that I am qualified to speak for the City of Marshalltown, but it does have an ordinance regarding cruising and excessive noise.

4. We do have a very active railway system about a half a mile south of our downtown. When the wind blows from a certain direction, the entire town can hear the Union Pacific trains travel through to all parts of the U.S. Marshalltown was built around the railroad and it has been a part of the fabric of our town since 1853. We equip each room with a sound machine for the light sleepers.

5. As for the air conditioner, we would have had our HVAC repairman look into the complaint right away. This is the first time we have been made aware since your stay in August.

6. Our building includes two restaurants open Monday through Saturday. The Tremont Grille is open from 7:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. and our fine dining restaurant is open from 3:00 p.m. to close. Our restaurants are closed Sundays and major holidays. However, the hotel Butler’s Kitchen is available to all guests 24 hours a day seven days a week. It is stocked with gourmet coffee and tea, cereal and milk, muffins, yogurt, energy bars, chips and snacks, juice, soda, bottled water and beer. We show each of our guests the Butler’s Kitchen when checking in. Everyone enjoys the amenities on the honor system.

Again, that you for your comments. It’s unfortunate that you couldn’t sleep. We would have done anything we could to help you with that if we had only known.

Respectfully,
JP and Jennifer Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
11
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our wedding night and very impressed.

I locked myself out of my room (great work) but the owner was nice enough to let me in and also moved my car which was parked in a limited zone.

The rooms are very spacious and cosy( perfect for winter) with a large bed and good bathroom (shower pressure kind of soft however). They have a nice pantry for gifts and a gorgeous hallway and art on display.

Would definitely recommend the histroic tremont inn for couples or singles, maybe not a family hotel however.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tomwatson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kakac, Owner at Tremont Inn On Main, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We always enjoy helping people , especially newly wedded folks. Want to thank Tom for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review . Addressing his concern of lack of stimulating water pressure for his morning shower, here's what we did: The shower head in their room has been examined and cleaned of sediment. Our City Water Department requires us to test our Backflow Valve yearly and the water supply had to be turned off for a time to run the test. Better results are our hope. Thanks for giving us a chance to correct this for our next guests.....Thank you Trip Advisor for the forum....JP&Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hosts really do a great job in making sure their customer needs are met.
It's nice to have a reasonably priced, comfortable accommodation and really feel like you're actually getting more than you are paying for.
Definitely will stay here next time and would certainly recommend to anyone.
There are also a few restaurants right across the street, so if for some reason you tire of the Tremont restaurant, you have options.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank epab04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kakac, Owner at Tremont Inn On Main, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for noticing our team work and value. Since we live in the building and strive to connect with every client and their needs, it is appreciated that you took the time to share your experience with the Tremont and it's staff. Thank you and please visit again soon. JP&Jennifer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Time has passed and I still think about the hospitality we received at the Tremont. We had a strange end of our vacation and I never wrote about how wonderful it was. First, we had a very trying flight, layover, lost luggage, trip to Marshalltown and we did not get to the hotel to late at night where we were greeted and fed sandwiches when they heard of our ordeal. We visited until I finally had to ask to pay as though it was an afterthought. I felt so comfortable. They even parked our car out back since it was so late!

Our luggage showed up from the airlines two days later while we were away and they had them lugged up to the room and place carefully for us when we returned. These owners know world class customer service! They even shipped my mom's phone charger when we realized it didn't make it home.

The room was fabulous with lots of little touches, just like a guest room in someone's home. The snack kitchen was also very convenient and safe to run down the hall in your slippers as it is a locked establishment. The only thing we weren't prepared for was the tall stairwell that my mother had difficulty getting up to our room, but don't let that stop you, as it is a minor issue that most can overlook.

If I make it back to Iowa, this is a must stay. I highly recommend this home, hospitable, and historical hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Booktersbubbles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kakac, Owner at Tremont Inn On Main, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
As onsite owners, we get the opportunity to personally extend our hospitality. As travel goes, it starts at your home and ends and begins again at ours. Sometimes we get to make things better and in your case, it was our pleasure to get your trip on smooth waters again. Thank you for the feedback and for the business. It is our pleasure. Signed, JP&Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns Point, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Tremont Inn On Main -- what a wonderful surprise! We stayed there at the end of a long stretch of touring and hotel stays in different areas around the USA. We felt so pampered during our stay in Marshalltown. JP and Jennifer, the hotel owners, were gracious hosts. The rooms, halls, and common areas are impeccable and stunning, with all modern conveniences and updates. The bed in my room was extremely comfortable, and I slept very soundly every night. The restaurants below the hotel had very friendly staff and delicious food. If I ever find myself heading anywhere near Marshalltown IA again, I will know exactly where I will book my reservation. I highly recommend this place, this beautiful boutique hotel outshines any chain.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I grew up in Marshalltown, and for a recent trip back I was afraid I would have to stay in a chain motel by the highway. When I heard about Tremont Inn on Main, I was thrilled to give it a try. I could not have been more pleased! Who knew something this delightfully cosmopolitan could be found in my hometown. Everything about my stay was of the highest quality. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. It is quiet! There is a touch of Europe about the place, including the well-stocked breakfast room. There is a lovely, high quality dining room and bar for dinner and a homey coffee shop/diner for breakfast and lunch. Thank you, Jennifer and J.P. for what you have created and your gracious hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

A family member had recommended this hotel, but I wasn't sure what to expect. It's above some restuarants, so I envisioned going to bed with the smell of garlic in the air. Not so! Instead, we found a beautifully renovated room with comfortable chairs, a small table and pair of chairs, and a king-sized bed with high-quality bedding. The bathroom was spotless and up-to-date. JP and Jennifer were very gracious hosts, and we enjoyed passing by the work of local artists on the way to our lovely room. I was sorry that we had planned so many activities with family because our room would have been a cozy retreat in which to curl up with a cup of coffee (from the coffee bar downstairs) and a good book.

We enjoyed tasty meals at both the grille and the fine dining restaurant. Shelly and other servers offered exceptionally friendly service, and the food was considerably better than that at other places in the area. If you're in the Marshalltown area and don't mind climbing some steps (no elevator), this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms are on the second floor of an older building, and there is no elevator. You will be able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshalltown
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Marshalltown
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Regency Inn
BEST WESTERN Regency Inn
#3 of 11 in Marshalltown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Marshalltown
Comfort Inn Marshalltown
#4 of 11 in Marshalltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.8 mi away
Motel 6 Marshalltown
Motel 6 Marshalltown
#8 of 11 in Marshalltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
17.3 mi away
Designer Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremont Inn On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremont Inn On Main

Property: Tremont Inn On Main
Address: 24 W Main St., Marshalltown, IA 50158
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Marshalltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Marshalltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tremont Inn On Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic building has been revitalized back to it's original purpose; to welcome guests internationally and to make everyone feel like they have a home away from home. Spacious suites with soaring ceilings, each room is different from the next. With breakfast and lunch available in The Tremont Grille and dinner in our casual yet fine dining restaurant, Tremont on Main offers a full bar and wine selection and delicious fare. You will not find a better place to rest your head and fill your belly. Rated the Best Small Hotel in Iowa, you will be glad you stayed in the heart of Iowa at Tremont on Main. Plenty of parking available behind the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Tremont Inn On Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tremont Inn On Main Marshalltown, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing