We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Marshalltown
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Marshalltown
Burlington, IA
1 review
“Not perfect”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I reserved a room a couple weeks in advance (by calling the motel directly) and neglected to ask for a handicapped room. I then called a few days in advance to request a handicapped room and was told one was available. The reservation was read back to me by the gentleman on the phone. When we got to the hotel ( in mid afternoon) there was not a handicapped room for us. The desk clerk was very nice and apologetic and "upgraded" us to a room with a jacuzzi. My disabled partner was nicer about this than I was, but really, what good is a jacuzzi if one is disabled? He was still stuck basically taking sponge baths. The room was nice, the staff was pleasant, the breakfast good, but when I reserve a room directly though the inn where I am staying, I expect it to be right and I expect any "upgrade" to still meet my needs. This is our 2nd stay in Marshalltown and as there may be more I will probaly explore other options before I return to this motel. I would have given a much better review if the room I reserved had actually been given to us!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    63
    49
    37
    25
See reviews for
107
31
12
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We were there for the race in Newton Iowa and the Americinn Marshalltown was a great host to us. We stayed last year also, i am sure we will stay next year also...
Freindly staff clean and comfortable property. Thank you. R

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roni79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We travel to central Iowa frequently and this is where we stay. The hotel is beautifully maintained. Beds are comfortable. We love the in-room jacuzzi. Breakfast is delicious with a wide variety to choose from. Two local newspapers are available each morning. We've stayed here so often we are greeted with hugs from long-time staff members who make us feel like we're family! If you're looking for a great place to stay in Marshalltown, this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniasKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Almost all glowing reviews precede this one, but except for two earlier this year, all are from two or more years ago. This was a our third visit; the first was during the opening year in 1999, a second in 2009 and the third in June/July 20011. We saw a marked decline since 2009. The furnishings, carpeting and fixtures need to be updated sinvce they are almost 12 years old and very worn. Our room door did not close completely unless you slammed it hard; our key cards took several times to open the door every time and we had to have them replaced at the desk twice. The air conditioning was so loud it sounded as those a plane was landing. Our bath fan did not work and when we reported it, the staff member said that they knew it was broken, in fact all the bath fans were broken on that side of the building. The laundry room appliances were dirty. In the breakfast dining area, the waste can was incredibly dirty and looked as though it was never cleaned, the tile floor was sticky 24/7 and the sink's faucet was broken. However, the housekeeping staff was great, except for the day all our towels were taken and the room wasn't cleaned. The front desk staff was also very helpful. Because of them, I hesitated to write this review, but TripAdvisor readers should know the reality of what they will experience now, and not what they would have experienced in the past.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwofortheroadArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Let me just say we WILL NEVER stay here again! My family booked a block of hotel rooms for our family reunion. We stayed from June 30th to July 5th, and almost every member of my family had a problem with their room, bill, air conditioning, or in many instances, all of the above.

First of all don't check in with your DEBIT CARD, they will tell you it won't be swiped until you check out, wrong! My card immediately had a $395 hold on it. I am familiar with holds, but I've never stayed anywhere that didn't give you a heads up! When I complained they pointed to a sign that said "We Strongly Discourage the Use of Debit Cards." God forbid they disclose how much they're holding your card for, because I would have gone elsewhere.

2nd, I moved rooms 4 times, the first two times our Air Conditioner quit on us, the other 2 moves were because the rooms the moved us into were needed for another customer. My father had his air conditioner quit working in his room, which was a big deal because he was in the only available handicapped accessible room, so he had to risk falling in his new room w/ no accessible shower. Then when they moved him back to the handicapped room they tried to blame he and my mom because the "compressor was frozen," which it wasn't, and even if it had been how is it their fault? My sister's room had smoking outlets, yes smoke was literally coming out of their electrical outlets, the hotel's response, "our maintenance guy is out of town, just don't use those plugs."
The only saving grace was a decent breakfast, and one friendly staff member, a gal with glasses and long hair, she was the only one who was kind and understanding in response to our concerns. I couldn't say the same for the Manager and Asst Manager. We had to fight like hell to get our bill down, and they eventually conceded, but we will NEVER return to Americinn. The first 2 family renunions we stayed at Americinn were great, but its gone down hill fast since October of 2009!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimBrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marshalltown hotels

Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

GM Liz bent over backwards to make this a pleasant stay for us, from the moment I first called on the phone to make a reservation. She graciously accommodated our need for an early check-in. The whole hotel is spotless - my room was very clean, comfortable, and included HDTV and a recliner. Breakfast in the morning is very good also. I am not sure my travels will take me back to Marshalltown anytime soon, but if so I would be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PilotEricB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinnliz, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for the review. It was our pleasure to accomodate you both. The next time you fly into Marshalltown it would be an honor to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Although there are not too many places to stay in Marshalltown, the AmericInn is my new favorite. I used to stay at the Best western, but it never seemed clean and the people were never too friendly. This last visit to Marshalltown prompted me to stay at the AmericanInn and what a pleasant surprise! A very clean motel, friendly people, small but very cozy lobby and very comfortable beds! If you need to travel to Marshalltown and need somewhere to stay, get a room here!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpohlplatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinnliz, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate the time you took to compliment our hotel. I am very proud of both my housekeeping and front desk staff. We are glad you tried us on your last visit to Marshalltown and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshalltown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown
0.2 mi away
Best Western Regency Inn
Best Western Regency Inn
#3 of 11 in Marshalltown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Marshalltown
Comfort Inn Marshalltown
#4 of 11 in Marshalltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Tremont Inn On Main
Tremont Inn On Main
#2 of 11 in Marshalltown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Marshalltown
Motel 6 Marshalltown
#8 of 11 in Marshalltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
17.0 mi away
Designer Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Marshalltown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Marshalltown

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Marshalltown
Address: 115 Iowa Ave W, Marshalltown, IA 50158-4773
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Marshalltown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Marshalltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Marshalltown 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are in Iowa for a business trip or to enjoy the local attractions, the Baymont Inn and Suites Marshalltown is the perfect location for your next visit to the area. Located just ten minutes from the Meskwaki Casino and only three miles from the Iowa Veterans Home, our hotel provides a number of services and amenities to guarantee a convenient and relaxing stay. Wake up to a free continental breakfast along with a complimentary copy of USA Today. Take some time to relax in our heated indoor pool and spa. If you are in the area for business and need to stay connected, free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas makes that easy. Additionally, our hotel features a business center and meeting space for up to 30 people, ensuring a productive trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Marshalltown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Marshalltown
Baymont Inn & Suites Marshalltown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing