We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hamton Inn - If your going to Marshalltown - this is the place to stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Marshalltown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I had to travel from the UK to one of our US manufacturing plants based in Marshalltown Iowa . The company booked me into the Hampton Inn & Suites on the outskirts of town. I'd often seen the Hampton chain hotels but didn't really know much about them and I figured they were just a fairly basic hotel - but what a surprise !! I arrived at night and the hotel was well lit and signed. On entering reception it looked pretty new with a comtemporary feel, particularly the seating and breakfast area to the left. The receptionist was friendly and efficient and escorted me to the room. All the staff I talked with over the three days I was there were all really friendly and could,nt do enough to help.
The room itself was large and spacious with two double beds, flatscreen TV, desk, highspeed free internet and a spacious and clean bathroom with shower and a selection of accessories for your use. The room decor was again quite contemporary and would have fitted into more upmarket hotels quite easily. In fact the whole place had the feel of a "boutique" hotel, which I guess is what the designers were aiming for. The bed had a range of different pillows to suit personnal choice.
Breakfast was served in the room just off reception with a selection of juices, cerials, eggs, ham, fruit, waffles, toast, and danish, plus of course the great coffee. The coffee was on tap free all day, which is what I love about US hotels. The UK hotels would sting you £5 for a cupper. All this for $83 a night.
I didnt realise there is also a full fitness and health center there, but I didnt have time anyway.
I'm due back there in a couple of months time and will definitely be staying there again and I would reccommend it to others who may be staying in town or passing through. Great surprise and top marks.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank custardcannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 370 of 370 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2010

I do a lot of business travel and for the most part, you can rely on Hampton Inns. They are pretty much all alike which isn't necessarily a bad thing. This one is brand new and IF you can find the entrance, you'll find it like most others. There is no clear entrance sign yet as its a relatively new hotel and I would be willing to bet 90% of the people drive into the restaurant driveway in the front of the hotel assuming that's how you get there. After four or five minutes trying to find the entrance, we got there. The front desk help was very slow but pleasant so the check in required some patience. My room seemed to be bigger than normal and lacked some of the customary extra chair and table. The TV was ALL THE WAY across the room on a credenza and required it to be turned up a bit louder than normal. It seems they didn't think through how to best arrange the furniture in some rooms. Clean and comfortable bath and bedroom. Downstairs lounge was just that, more of a bar setting which was a bit odd since there is no bar. High table in the middle with stools but its decorated tastefully. Morning Eggs were less than exciting.....no doubt a mix and dry but the other food was the standard at a Hampton Inn.
I give it a mediocre but compared to other options in Marshalltown, its probably the best bet.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asquam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Wonderful hotel - right off the highway exit. (but watch out - it is a little hard to get to as you have to drive down past the hotel. My husband asked about this and something about how the city won't let them put up a sign so this isn't really their fault!)

The hotel is fairly new so everything was really nice and new. The rooms are great - comfy beds and pillows, breakfast was great and more than just cereal and bagels, people very friendly and helpful, and the whole place was extremely clean and welcoming. Also not too pricey so it was nice to have a good place to stay but not have to spend a lot of money.

Can't wait to stay there again for a wedding in the fall!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marthajvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 76Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Debido a su ubicación en un ambiente campo-ciudad es un excelente hotel para descansar comodamente.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odilon D A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Odilon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshalltown
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Marshalltown
Comfort Inn Marshalltown
#5 of 11 in Marshalltown
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Marshalltown
0.1 mi away
Best Western Regency Inn
Best Western Regency Inn
#4 of 11 in Marshalltown
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tremont Inn On Main
Tremont Inn On Main
#2 of 11 in Marshalltown
40 reviews
22.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
22.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown

Address: 20 Iowa Ave W, Marshalltown, IA 50158-4780
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Marshalltown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Marshalltown
Price Range: $102 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Marshalltown
Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing