We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Marshalltown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Marshalltown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Another perfect stay at the Hampton in Marshalltown. We visit family in Marshalltown at least once a year and have stayed at many hotels in town. The Hampton Inn is by far the best place to stay in our opinion. Rooms/bathrooms are squeaky clean. Beds are comfortable. Wifi connection is great. Staff is helpful and friendly. Price is great considering what you get. Who could ask for more? Will always return to this property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for submitting a review on our behalf. It is our goal to receive feedback like yours. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to accomodating you on your return to Marshalltown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 382 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

OK hotel but did not change bedding in 3 days (adevertised as daily) and did not replace shampoo. In 40 years of extensive travel this has ne er ocurred before. When I spend over $100 I expect clean sheets and replacement shampoo.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank EP_Glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for completing a review of your stay with us. Your feedback is important to us and helps us discover the areas that may need improvement. Your satisfaction is always our number one goal. Every bed is cleaned top to bottom for every guest arrival. On stay over guest rooms the beds are made daily. Sheets are only replaced if they are visibly dirty otherwise we change them every three days. We would be happy to change them daily. Please let us now that when you check in and we will be happy to make note of it. I do hope you will visit us again when you next travel to Marshalltown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is very nice but nothing out of the ordinary. It is modern and kept extremely clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for taking time to complete a review regarding your stay with us. Providing you with a clean and hospitable environment is our main priority and goal. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

First time staying at Hampton. Surprised by the cleanliness and quality of the furnishings. Wife and two kids stayed one night in a room with two queens for 8 year old's baseball tournament. Pool l deck was large with plenty of tables and chairs for adults to sit around and watch the kids. Pool and fitness center was clean. Spacious bathroom. Decent shower head. Break was your typical free breakfast. They had bacon and you could make your own waffles. Check in was less than a minute. The kids had a great time. I hope other Hamptons are as good as this one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for completing a review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you and your family had a great experience while you were here. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and we appreciate all the comments you made about the ammenities that we offer to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was there on a business trip in Marshalltown and enjoyed the stay. All the staff was welcoming and friendly. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The fitness center offerred several cardiovascular machines and some free weights. The free breakfast had plenty of options to choose from.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay with us. I appreciate the kind words. It is our goal to have every guest leave feeling the way you did. We look forward to your next visit wtih us here in Marshalltown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was necessary for us to be in the area overnight. We were happy to learn of a newly built Hampton Inn in Marshalltown, because we knew that it would be very clean, well built, well managed, comfortable, and provide the extras that even more expensive hotels omit. At just over one hundred dollars it stretched our budget, but we were glad we stayed there. Road access and signage are yet to be completed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. I really appreciate it. We have a lot of pride in our beautiful hotel and I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Hopefully soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My family & I stayed here for the YMCA State Swimming Championships. The hotel appeared to be a choice for swimmers and their families, so the place was PACKED.

The room was perfect - big soft beds, large shower with good water pressure, decent size TV with plenty of cable choices, free WiFi. Everyone slept well and the room was large enough to feel we were not right on top of each other - though we were obviously close to each other.

Breakfast in the morning was continental, including makes-your-own waffles, a variety of breads (English muffins, bagels, toast, muffins), fruit and cereal, and your normal juice variety. The breakfast eating area is large, but with the hotel full, the breakfast area was pretty tight as well.

A pool, hot tub and workout room also are available to provide some stress relief. With a hotel full of swimmers, the pool was a hot commodity but they seemed to handle the load well, rotating towels and cleaning garbage quickly.

Only two criticisms: the entrance road was not easy to find and kind of dark on entrance (addressed in an earlier response) and there was a lot of hallway noise. That is to be expected with a hundred kids under the age of 12 running the halls, full of energy. In a normal weekend it probably would not have been noticable, but you'll wake up when there's seven pre-teen boys playing tag outside your door.

All in all we were very happy with our stay and plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Ask for the backside of the hotel. We faced the parking lot, and the light was very bright all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for taking time to complete the review. We value your comments and use them to improve our service to you. I am currently working with the city of Marshalltown to improve the quality of entrance to our property. I hope in the near future to have a permanent sign that will be more visible to our guests. We look forward to your visit next year during the State Swimming Championships.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshalltown
0.1 mi away
Best Western Regency Inn
Best Western Regency Inn
#4 of 11 in Marshalltown
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Marshalltown
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Marshalltown
Comfort Inn Marshalltown
#5 of 11 in Marshalltown
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tremont Inn On Main
Tremont Inn On Main
#2 of 11 in Marshalltown
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Marshalltown
Motel 6 Marshalltown
#8 of 11 in Marshalltown
35 reviews
22.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Grinnell, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown

Address: 20 Iowa Ave W, Marshalltown, IA 50158-4780
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Marshalltown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Marshalltown
Price Range: $105 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Marshalltown
Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing