We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left a 8 plus month pregnant lady without a room due to overbooking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Marshalltown
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Left a 8 plus month pregnant lady without a room due to overbooking”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Misunderstandings happen I get that but this b level hotel overbooked a busy weekend and then in a desperate attempt to make up rushed and accidentally cancelled a room. Pregnant lady and three kids that drove five hours for a state swim meet left in lobby to rot even though the people they gave her room to had not showed up yet. Probably the worst show of. Customer service I had ever witnessed. We gave up our room and drove back home three hours and missed day two of the meet for this young family please don't ever give this place ur business. If u have questions regarding the event email me but don't let them spin it. They screwed everybody but them claylincoln@hotmail.com

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamptonhosedme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodhsi_admin1, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear guest,

I’m Liz, General Manager at the hotel. My apologies for the inconvenience and misunderstanding. I deeply regret that you had a poor experience and that our offer to assist you was not to your satisfaction. It was never our intention to upset any part of your travels nor is this a norm for the hotel and staff. Thank you for the feedback in order to allow us to improve.

Sincerely,
Liz Wilke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    80
    34
    18
    7
See reviews for
132
40
14
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Nice clean and simple hotel. Nothing to special. Good options for breakfast. Good working condition fitness room, clean pool and hot tub. It was fairly new when I stayed there so it's kind of to be expected that everything was clean and in working order. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesSchroer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodhsi_admin1, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear smokenqueal,

I’m Liz Wilke, GM at the Hampton Inn & Suites in Marshalltown. Thank you for taking the time to leave positive feedback! We are very proud of this 2 year old property and are always trying to expand on what our guests might enjoy We appreciate you considering us for your business travel and we look forward to having you stay again when you find yourself in the area.

Sincerely,
Liz Wilke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I will for sure be back here again!! Awesome food, rooms, pool, staff and motel! We stayed in a double queen suite and it rocked! We were very happy with it! My 6 year old got the flu and threw up on the floor, the staff at night came up and helped us clean up and got us new stuff! They were great! The pool stays open from 6am till midnight........where else can you find that! Pool was an ok size too.

Room Tip: choose the double queen suite, awesome!! You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. We really appreciate any and all feedback. We enjoyed having your family there and look forward to the next time you are able to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Had some business in Marshalltown. Was grateful that there is now a Hampton Inn in the town. It is new with clean rooms, nice decor and good Hampton breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate any and all feedback and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to accomodating you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I chose this hotel based on the positive ranking and reviews I read on this site. It lived up to the reviews for sure. The whole place was clean, attractive, and comfortable. The staff was very nice. My room was amazing...modern, neat, huge bathroom, comfy bed, quiet. I didn't use or see the pool/business area/workout room as I got in late and left early. My only complaint is that in the AM when people were leaving their rooms many of them let their doors slam...waking me up. Not a reflection on the hotel, just inconsiderate guests. Breakfast offered waffles, oatmeal, yogurt, cereal, pastries, juice, milk, and coffee. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowastategal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites of Marshalltown and for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I am very pleased that you were happy with your stay. It is our goal to receive reviews like yours. We look forward to the opportunity of accommodating you during your next visit to Marshalltown. If you ever have any questions, comments or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact me. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2011

For even a small town, this was a nice hotel. The first thing I noticed is how friendly everyone is here. The staff knew i was coming in days after my traveling companion and made sure my room was right next to theirs, which was a nice touch.

The rooms are clean and spacious. The bed was nice and the shower was clean and warm. The free breakfast was decent. Not everything was good but there's enough options for anyone to find something, as I did. And the coffee was good.

My only complaint/word of warning is the entrance road. It's not the most obvious as the hotel is off the main road a bit. But just turn in just to the west of Culver's. It would help to have a sign there.

Oh and the free wifi is kinda slow, so don't expect too much there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProgressiveAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us. We value the opinions of your guests and appreciate any comments they may give us that may show us areas where improvements are needed. I apologize about the entrance from the Iowa Ave. We have tried several times to have an electrical sign installed however, we don't own the property where the sign should be placed and we are unable to put a sign there. We recently worked with the city and they have installed a street light to mark the entrance into our property from Iowa Ave. Hopefully this will be an improvement. Thank you again for your comments. If I can ever be of assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, IA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I've been staying in Marshalltown for over 20 years, since the Hampton was built this is my place to stay. Lovely new motel, great clean rooms, comfortable bed, a shower which I love and quiet. It's a bit hard to find but well worth the search.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jette1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. We strive to give our guests the best experience possible when they visit the Hampton Inn and Suites of Marshalltown so when we receive reviews like this we truly appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshalltown
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Marshalltown
0.1 mi away
Best Western Regency Inn
Best Western Regency Inn
#3 of 11 in Marshalltown
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Marshalltown
Comfort Inn Marshalltown
#4 of 11 in Marshalltown
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tremont Inn On Main
Tremont Inn On Main
#2 of 11 in Marshalltown
40 reviews
22.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Marshalltown
Motel 6 Marshalltown
#7 of 11 in Marshalltown
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown
Address: 20 Iowa Ave W, Marshalltown, IA 50158-4780
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Marshalltown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Marshalltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Marshalltown
Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing