We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Perico - CLOSED

El Perico
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Serves Alcohol
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
172 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place looks like a little hole in the wall from the outside, but is actually very nice on the inside. Many authentic mexican items on the menu, things I have not seen since I actually lived in Mexico. They were moderately busy but food was fast enough and priced reasonable. Too many things I would like to try that I will have to go back several times. I wanted the choco flan here, but they were out. However their fried ice cream was absolutely delicious, even served in a cinnamon/sugar tortilla bowl with strawberries and whipped cream. The waitress was friendly and helpful and it took a little while for us to review the wide range of choices on the menu and decide what to order.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bleutalefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super slow services”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband I enjoy mexican food, so we thought we would try El Perico. This was a big mistake! It took 10 minutes for some one to seat us, then, another 20 minutes for the waitress to wait on us! The food took over an 1 hour to cook. The waitress said everthing was made from scratch and this was the reason why it took so long to get our food served to us! The first batch of chips and salsa are free, but after that they will charge you $2.99! The food is super spicey so take your pepcid ac before you eat! We were there in January and I had to eat with my winter coat on because it was freezing in the resturant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pigtails65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“had to leave after an hour and 45 minutes do not take kids if they need to eat”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great chips and drinks but after waiting for almost 2 hours we had to go out 4 year old was starving. Smelled good next time no kids and will go for drinks and appetizers - need a kitchen process implemented.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcw_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“NO CHEESE ON THE TACOS!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

And that's a good thing. What a shocker to find authentic homemade Mexican food in Marion Iowa! High points:

- Tacos do not come with cheese.......yes Midwesterners, cheese is not standard fare on tacos

- Tongue, Pork belly and real Chorizo tacos were great and very flavorful

- Great salsa, they will even make a hotter warm batch in a stone molcajete!

- Chimichanga quite good

- Chili Relleno excellent! Instead of the cheese laden blob with a spec of pepper you get a real plate of full size poblanos, with huevos and just a smidgen of cheese.

5 Stars for Iowa
4 Stars for Latino centric areas (Chicago, etc)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Abouna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
2 reviews
“Fantastic Mexican slow food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you're looking for a quick meal this is not your place. If you're looking for bland food like a certain Irish/Mexican sounding restaurant serves, this is not your place. If you're willing to wait for a freshly made, "every dish tastes unique" Mexican meal, you've found found your new favorite restaurant.

Great food is worth waiting for. I try a new dish every time and have never been disappointed. Their ceviche is fantastic. Every sauce is unique. Best salsa and chips I've had. Fantastic mojitos. Don't be afraid to try something new!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Perico also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing