We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality, beautiful antiques and great food!”
Review of Squiers Manor B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Squiers Manor B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Maquoketa B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Thanks to Kathy and Virl, the owners. It was a wonderful place to spend the night. From the candlelight dessert served in the evening to the homecooked huge breakfast spread in the morning and complimentary drinks any time of the day or night. The house is wonderfully furnished with antiques. Our room was beautiful. We enjoyed our stay so much that we plan on going back very soon.

Room Tip: 8 rooms available..even a bridal suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auntie4isu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 68 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Decided on a last minute getaway and oh so glad we did. I am not much on "Victorian" but was told that this place was the real deal. It is! The furnishings are amazing and the place (over 6000 sq ft) is spotless. We stayed in the largest room (Ballroom) with a king sized bed....20 ft cathedral ceilings and 1100 square feet. All of this and in the attic to boot. Location is good as it is a very short walk to downtown. We could have had breakfast served to us in our room but chose to go downstairs instead and eat in the dining room with one table that will seat 18. Breakfast was awesome, filling and much of it came right from their garden.
Peggy was very nice when she checked us in and showed us around.
The owners, Verl and Kathy were also very nice and enjoyed breakfast with us.
If you find yourself near this area we would recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winocpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is truly a unique and exceptional B&B and lives up to it's designation on the national register of historic places. The service and food was wonderful and we were pleasantly surprised with a scrumptious dessert the evening we arrived. Don't miss this great B&B!

Room Tip: rooms on the street side have a bay of huge windows complete with original shutters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a fabulous place to stay. The owners and staff were friendly and accommodating. The evening dessert was excellent and the the breakfast was wonderful. Cathy does a wonderful job working around food allergies. The gluten free peach cobbler was fantastic. The pictures do not do justice to the place. It is beautiful. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAnneNaperville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary, and visited nearby Maquoketa Caves State Park the next day. It was a very pleasant overnight trip, made especially lovely by our stay at Squiers Manor B&B. When we arrived, we got a tour of the house, with lots of history and information about the original owner and his family. The innkeepers seem very knowledgable about the history of both the house and the town of Maquoketa in general. After our tour, we went out to dinner (a side note to keep in mind: we were there the 4th of July, and hardly any restaurants are open in this small town on holidays) and came back to the Manor to mull over the four delicious dessert choices in the fridge. We had a great nights' sleep, and enjoyed a filling and tasty breakfast the next morning. The innkeepers were very friendly, talkative, and available to answer all of our questions. If you're staying in Maquoketa, stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but the ballroom and loft suites are huge, especially for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Built in 1892, Kathy and Virl have transformed this home into a welcoming bed and breakfast with a special bonus of nightly dessert. All rooms are beautifully decorated and have private baths. I enjoyed my stay in the Maids room. Definitely worth a stop.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Friendly inn-keepers, great dessert and breakfast the next morning. A must stay if your plans include Maquoketa, Iowa. Lots of history and tour of house included. Rooms range from huge to standard bedroom size. All a good value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyerb727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maquoketa
0.3 mi away
Decker Hotel
Decker Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maquoketa
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 3 in Maquoketa
39 reviews
1.5 mi away
Centerstone Inn & Suites
Centerstone Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Maquoketa
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellevue
17.5 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites DeWitt
22.4 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squiers Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squiers Manor B&B

Address: 418 W Pleasant St, Maquoketa, IA 52060-2845
Location: United States > Iowa > Maquoketa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maquoketa
Price Range: $101 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Squiers Manor B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Squiers Manor is an experience you will treasure. Built in 1882, this Queen Anne style mansion featured beautiful woodwork and modern conveniences such as electricity and running water. The tradition continues today with the home and woodwork restored to its past splendor. Even the tradition of modern comfort is carried on with wireless internet, private baths with Jacuzzis, television and queen-size beds. Victorian splendor and modern comforts make your stay at Squiers Manor truly memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Squiers Manor B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squiers Manor B&B Maquoketa, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing