We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grimy and smoky”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Maquoketa
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Grimy and smoky”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here one Friday night. I wasn't too impressed with the grunge in the corners of the bathroom or the ooollllddd blankets on the bed. But the worst part was the smoke smell. There was just no escaping it... yuck! My parents stay here every so often, because it's cheap, and I marvel at the steps they take to do so: flip flops for the shower, bring their own pillows, towels, and clorox wipes, as well as a can of bug spray! Sheesh! Our second night in town was at a different hotel.

Room Tip: Expect the bare necessities, and to smell cigarette smoke when you're in the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannolisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Room was ok. Hotel easy to find. Not many choices in area. Reception was almost surly. Room was adequate for our needs. Zero extra effort on part of reception though. No information about area or anything else. I wouldn't have received breakfast vouchers if I did not ask. All questions answered as if I asked for the inn lease. Weird to see someone's private backyard outside your window.

Room Tip: I would ask to be on parking lot side instead of private residential side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwsiwyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, WI
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We spent one night while on a trip for an anniversary party in a nearby town. I chose this on the recommendations here - and initially my impression was good - friendly receptionist, the hallways seemed clean (except for obvious dust in stairwells and the push-door handle to it's door). But on entering our room, our 7 year old immediately saw a large silverfish on the ice bucket tray. Ick. But ok, that happens. But then there were pieces of ?? on the bathroom floor, and - are you ready - hair on the sheets of one of the beds. And to top it off, I didn't realize that across the hall were smoking rooms. So guess what we smelled all night. So in the end, I wasn't really thrilled with our accomodations. It worked for a night, but I'm sure we could've paid less for the same thing.

Room Tip: If you are a nonsmoker, make sure to ask if there are smoking rooms near yours - if there are, you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

No microwave or refrig in room.
there is a washing mach and dryer
no breakfast but you get a 3$ credit at mcdonalds right next door.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioDave_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMES
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spent two nights here. The staff was very accommodating and helpful when we needed a shower seat for my elderly mom. They also responded when I said the bathroom door squeaked and sprayed some WD-40 on the hinges.

It was quiet and we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernadetteSAmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Very dark at 10pm. Room was ok, bed was very uncomfortable. It will work in a pinch

Room Tip: It was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Parking was terrible, the only way in the lot was through McDonalds. The lobby was basic and clean. Laundry available beside front desk. Three floors, no elevator and ice machine broken on second floor. The carpet in the hallways was very worn yet the tiled entries were neat and clean Room was ok, I found licorice sticks on the floor under the bed. The beds were old and not that comfortable but also not the worst I have had to sleep on. Breakfast was donuts, sweet cereal and bagels. I would stay here again for work, or necessity.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maquoketa
0.7 mi away
Decker Hotel
Decker Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maquoketa
65 reviews
1.6 mi away
Centerstone Inn and Suites Maquoketa
19.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellevue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites DeWitt
17.9 mi away
Super 8 Dewitt
Super 8 Dewitt
#2 of 4 in DeWitt
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Squiers Manor B&B
Squiers Manor B&B
#1 of 1 in Maquoketa
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1019 W Platt St, SE Corner Of Hwy 61 & 64, Maquoketa, IA 52060-2041 (Formerly Super 8 Maquoketa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Maquoketa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Maquoketa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maquoketa Hotel Maquoketa
Super 8 Maquoketa
Super Eight Maquoketa
Maquoketa Super Eight
Maquoketa Super 8
Econo Lodge Maquoketa, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing