We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great Learning Center

Highly recommend a visit by all ages. The guide, Jenny was so knowledgeable, patient with the... read more

Reviewed August 13, 2018
grannymaryp
,
Franklin, Wisconsin
Summer fun

This is a great place to bring ur kids. They can learn different things. My grandkids got to pet a... read more

Reviewed July 22, 2018
Patty H
,
Maquoketa, Iowa
via mobile
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
13
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews all ages a great place to bring great learning turtles treasure hands grandkids exhibits
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2018

Highly recommend a visit by all ages. The guide, Jenny was so knowledgeable, patient with the children - made the experience a learning one for all. Center has walking rails and hands on exhibits.

Thank grannymaryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

This is a great place to bring ur kids. They can learn different things. My grandkids got to pet a snake turtle and they had a blast. Great family fun time

Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2017 via mobile

Our grandkids loved going here to see the displays, walk outside, and investigate treasures in this wonderful environment. It is not over stimulating so perfect for young children when you need a couple hour adventure.

Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017

Just down the road from the Hurstville Lime Kilns is this fantastic Interpretive and Visitors Center.

The center itself is located in the Southwest corner of an area that includes walking trails, a bird blind, observation deck, and a marsh. Depending on when you visit, you may encounter migrating Pelicans like we did.

Inside, the center is fantastically organized with several natural habitat displays, a display explaining the nearby Lime Kilns, a model layout of what Hurstville used to look like and a couple of live snakes and turtles.

Very friendly and knowledgeable employees are there to answer any questions you may have.

This is a great center and I would recommend stopping by.

Thank IA_Hawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017

What a treat to have such a wonderful facility in this rural area. I have family in Maquoketa and we have visited the Hurtsville Interpretive Center several times. A trip to the center is a fantastic opportunity for young and old alike to experience first hand a variety of natural treasures. My family and I especially loved the wild bird exhibit inside, as well as the live beehive exhibit. A lot of thought and effort has been put into making this a valuable facility, and it has certainly paid off.

Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

Super friendly staff, very knowledgeable. Lots of neat nature-oriented activities for kids and adults. The kids got to hold turtles & even a snake! The glass beehive is super cool, too. See if you can find the queen bee!

Thank Jessie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2016

Very easy to find, just out of town a mile or so. Good for all ages, a must stop. They have several walking paths that go out to a pond. The building has lots to look at and learn about some of the animals in IA. There is a live bee hive, really cool. It's free so take a little time out of your day to visit here.

1  Thank Kristine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2015

Great learning environment for kids and adults. Nice little walking trail. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Thank Robin632015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2015

This building houses the conservation efforts for Jackson County, Iowa. It's a newly constructed, beautiful prairie style building. The main floor and small loft area contains displays that are interesting and family friendly (my children ages 5-11 enjoy them). There are nature exhibits, taxidermy of native animals, some live snakes and turtles, a model HO scale train historical layout of the Hurstville area, native rock display, and more! It is worth a 60-90 minute visit.

The historical nature of the Hurstville lime kilns is well described; my husband and I are not from this area and we found this explanation super informative.

Several times when we've visited, they have free make-and-take activities (simple) for the kids to do on their own as well.

Outside are nature paths, outside games, a picnic area (somewhat overshadowed from the proximity to the highway).

The gift shop is nice and features local products and books. There is also a sizable wall of brochures for the area. Sign up for the newsletter and see all the activities they offer.

The staff, exhibits, and building are a real resource to the area!

2  Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2015

This is a nice nature center. Even though it is small, it has a lot to look at. There are many hands-on exhibits for kids. Our son most enjoyed the water pump outside. Nice place to spend an hour or so and best of all it is free!

2  Thank RoadTripfromIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews