We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and spooky”
Review of Decker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Decker Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maquoketa
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“nice and spooky”
Reviewed October 1, 2005

good place to spend halloween. I was visiting a friend and I think my room was haunted. I got an eerie feeling and then later that night my electricity went out and I had to switch rooms. It was quite riviting, but I felt very welcome by the people there...that were alive.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
24
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2005

We were excited to eat at Decker House Hotel Restaurant after hearing great things but so truly disappointed! The hostess was clueless as to where to seat us. The waitress "disappeared" for a long, long time and we wondered if she would ever come back to even take our orders. The menu selection was very limited. The food was over cooked and cold - the vegetables looked like left-overs warmed up from four days ago! Yuck! To top it off, we woke up at 3am with horrible stomach cramps. Will never, ever eat there again!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank photos2print
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeq1948, Owner at Decker Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear traveler, I apologize for your last visit to the Decker. My brother and I bought the Hotel in February of 2013. We invite you to come back and experience our quality food, accommodations and friendly and professional staff. We are now approaching our first year and have acquired quite a few great reviews. Come back and give us a try. Look me up or mention this response to my staff and I will give you a nights stay in one of our beautiful rooms. I will also discount your meal just to show you that you are important to us. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you for your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 9, 2005

My wife and I spent a weekend there in feb. of 2004 to celebrate our 2 year wedding anniversary. We felt that the care that the staff gives is more like coming home than being away. We already have a room reserved for this feb. 2005 to celebrate year 3.

Thanks Decker House

Lingle Family Clinton Iowa

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 1, 2004

The Decker Hotel, We went thru the town and found the most wonderfull place for Dinner , even with thousends of people in town , the service great and friendly the food was the best ,price was great , now I have to find a reason to go back , Thank you for being a great host , Jochen Ditterich a Ragbrai rider

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 10, 2003

The Decker House is a treasure in the middle of the heartland of America. A beautifully restored hotel, with wonderful rooms, and great food. A great value and an experience highly recommended.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 12, 2003

The Decker House is a beautifully restored historic hotel whose owners,
Troy & RaeAnn Thede make every guest staying at the hotel feel at home.
I have had the opportunity to stay at the Decker a few times and each
time has been a wonderful experience! I would highly recommend it for
business or romantic travel!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maquoketa
0.7 mi away
Maquoketa Inn and Suites
Maquoketa Inn and Suites
#2 of 3 in Maquoketa
38 reviews
1.6 mi away
Centerstone Inn and Suites Maquoketa
17.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites DeWitt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellevue
17.8 mi away
Super 8 Dewitt
Super 8 Dewitt
#3 of 4 in DeWitt
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Squiers Manor B&B
Squiers Manor B&B
#1 of 1 in Maquoketa
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decker Hotel

Property: Decker Hotel
Address: 128 N Main St, Maquoketa, IA 52060-2201 (Formerly Decker Hotel 1875)
Location: United States > Iowa > Maquoketa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maquoketa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Decker Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Italianate structure built in 1875 by James Decker. Beautiful woodwork from the era with full service restaurant, lounge located on site. Beautifully decorated rooms filled with antiques, modern bathrooms and individually controlled heating and cooling. Attractions nearby are the Maquoketa Caves national park, art museum, nature center and beautiful unique shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Decker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decker Hotel Maquoketa, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing