We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect For Our Honeymoon”
Review of Kiani Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kiani Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect For Our Honeymoon”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed at the Kiani Beach resort from the 13th to the 18th of May for our honeymoon. When we arrived we discovered that the travel agent we used had booked us the wrong room (we were told we were getting seaview, when in fact they booked "mountain"), when I took this up with the staff at reception they could not have been more helpful.

Even though the error was not the hotels fault they upgraded us to a "Seaview Maisonette" that was absoletely perfect! I promised I would write a review here based solely on how helpful the staff were over this.

Over all we loved the hotel. The rooms were cleaned to a very high standard, the whole resort was always clean and seemed to be maintained to a high standard. The location was perfect for us (as a honeymooning couple just wanting to relax after a wedding!) as it was quite and peaceful.

The food was also a very high standard as well. I was concerned before we left that being all inclusive it would be quite repetitive and food might be "recycled", however this was not the case. The menu was always varied from day to day, and there was lots to choose from (I noted as well that they seemed to cater well for children with a separate serving area with more child friendly food of pizza and pasta etc).

During the day there always seemed to be some activity scheduled from football, zumba, and ping pong. During the evenings there was always some kind of show or activity around the bar which was always good.

I think it is worth mentioning as well that all of the bar staff were amazing. Christoph and Ava were welcoming and fiendly and always made an evening at the bar fun. The drinks were always good and we never had to wait long.

Overall I would definately return to Kiani Beach, and I am very glad that we chose here to have our Honeymoon.

Room Tip: The Seaview Maisonette we stayed in was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KianiBeachResort, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for your positive comments regarding our facilities, service and rooms. It is wonderful to know that you relaxed and enjoyed your time on honeymoon with us and we wish you all the best! We were honored to upgrade your room particularly in light of your special stay with us.

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services and amenities in order to provide the best quality holiday experience for all our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    318
    94
    33
    23
See reviews for
650
256
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

stayed this may 9-16 very good service all staff very polite always helpful, complex very clean food very good plenty of choice good place to relax bus ride to closest big town chania good day out 3.60 euro return nice walk along beach to small town kalives would use hotel again if I wanted a chilling holiday baz staffordshire

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KianiBeachResort, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for your comments regarding our facilities, and service.It is wonderful to know that you relaxed and enjoyed your time on holiday with us.

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services and amenities in order to provide the best quality holiday experience for all our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just returned from our holiday at Kiani Beach resort with family of 4 Adults and 3 children. From the time of booking through to our departure we found the staff to be extremely helpful. The hotel lives up to both reviews and the Hotel's website. We were upgraded to Seaview Maisonettes and couldn't have wished for better rooms. The Kid's Club worked well for the children. The only disappointment for them was the absence of the Inflatable pontoon in the Pool. The food was good, though more fresh fruit would have made it better. The entertainment was as expected and the Greek Night was a highlight for us. Would recommend this hotel for families who want a safe, comfortable hotel. In summary: It does exactly what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEITHW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KianiBeachResort, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for your comments regarding our facilities, and staff. It is wonderful to know that you relaxed and enjoyed your time on holiday with us. We apologize for the absence of the inflatable pontoon - however are glad to hear you particularly enjoyed the Greek night! Your comments regarding more fresh fruit has been already discussed with our Chefs.

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services and amenities in order to provide the best quality holiday experience for all our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Kiani beach resort is a medium size resort. It offers everything: pool, playgrounds,...It is located on the beach. Excellent location. We stayed there for 4 days at the end of April. Everything was OK, but the rooms are not big enough. We had family room for 4 adults. The sofas bed it not for two adults or even in our case for two children of 13 and 15 years old. Taking in consideration the rooms and other, the hotel is more four stars than five. The 5 stars are definitely the staff. Especially Goran, who worked at the beach bar. All the best to Goran! And others of course.
The food in generally was good, we even had a barbecue dinner ones. Fresh orange juice for the breakfast!

Since we travelled around during the day, we have missed lunch, so I cannot say what the variety of food was. If it was like dinner-than you could have problems with weight. Simply delicious, you have to try many things.

The stuff: keep up the good work in the future. Also when there is a crowd in summer. All the best!

Room Tip: Do not take familly room with childrens over 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hovnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KianiBeachResort, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for your comments regarding our facilities, and service. It is wonderful to know that you relaxed and enjoyed your time on holiday with us. We also thank you for your comments regarding our location, staff and buffet. Your comments and praises have been passed onto the Team members.

We regret to hear that the room was not big enough for your family. The exact specifications and size of each room are stated on our website, in order for large families to have the utmost assurance of what they are booking before their arrival.

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services and amenities in order to provide the best quality holiday experience for all our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Took my family of five here for a well earned break beginning of may 2014 and I'm glad I chose kiani beach resort. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the animation team were spot on with plenty of activities for both adults and children.
The hotel is very clean and tidy and the food is good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a place to unwind and would definitely return in the future. Excellent holiday :-)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KianiBeachResort, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for your comments regarding our facilities, service and animations program for the kids. It is wonderful to know that you relaxed and enjoyed your time on holiday with us.

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services and amenities in order to provide the best quality holiday experience for all our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Very nice place.Great playground and swimming pool.The best thing was the animation program!!! All day something to do for adults and kids. The beach still need some support but maybe by summer it will be finished.Food was good snd fresh. Very close to bus stop:)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikaalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KianiBeachResort, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

We particularly thank-you for your comments regarding our facilities, service and animations program for the kids.

Thanks to your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kiani Beach Resort are able to constantly monitor our services and amenities in order to provide the best quality holiday experience for all our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again and wish you well on your future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Booked this hotel due to the reviews on tripadvisor, was not what we expected at all.

I am not one to complain or to leave negative reviews but feel this has to be done for this hotel.

The food, where shall I start - it was of poor quality and cheap and cold - and this is breakfast, lunch and dinner. The meat that was supplied was very often pork, was cold, dry and tasteless. The drinks well, again what a joke!!!You have to pay 2 euros for orange juice, and pay 3.30 euros for a coffee (cappuccino) which was sour!!!! the filter coffee supplied by the all inclusive was disgusting!! No drinks were supplied in the room and these had to be purchased from the onsite supermarket which was overpriced or at the bar where there was a fridge selling branded drinks. Also worth mentioning that there is also a freezer selling ice creams. The snacks supplied in the morning and afternoon were leftovers from breakfast in a very small covered area by the pool bar - again the quality was of a 2 star hotel at best.

The staff were not welcoming, it felt as though you were putting them out by asking for a drink - the service was non existent. There is only one bar in the whole hotel - which serves the beach, the pool, entertainment which opens at 11am and closes (dead on) 11pm every night. Towels can be hired at 1.5 euros per day - which I have never experienced before, I have often been asked to leave a deposit which is returnable at the end of the holiday.

If you are thinking of booking this hotel - please seriously consider and check out other hotels.

As I mentioned above I do not like to leave negative reviews but this hotel is lacking in a number of basic standards expected. THIS IS NO WAY A 4 STAR ALL INCLUSIVE HOTEL. I do not expect Caribbean quality for the price I paid but I do expect a level of service and this hotel is 2 star at most.

Very poor!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sorchaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KianiBeachResort, General Manager at Kiani Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Kiani Beach Resort.

Thanks to your feedback we are able to constantly monitor our services and amenities in order to provide the best quality holiday experience for all our guests. Hundreds reviewers on tripadvisor praise our service daily, and it is based on their continual kind words, feedback and honest opinions that you chose Kiani Beach Resort and we thank you for that.

We have discussed your comments with all staff members including the reception desk, bar staff and chefs and would like to take this opportunity to thank-you for highlighting certain points you were unhappy about.

We are very sorry to hear that our all-inclusive buffet menu did not meet your expectations. Our highly qualified chefs and kitchen staff work hard in providing an all-inclusive menu to satisfy all taste’s and ages. All produce used at the resort are sourced from the island, with only quality and freshness in mind. Equally our kitchen and buffet area has just undergone a state of the art renovation with new kitchen equipment, and buffets, ensuring all food is heated to the correct temperature. With this said, as stated on our website, additional beverages other than wine, beer, soft drinks etc. are served at an additional cost. Our coffee served is of a popular brand name. Fresh orange juice is served during the breakfast hour, squeezed from oranges from a local farm nearby. This is point we feel we must mention, as seldom do All-Inclusive programs offer this.

Our staff at Kiani Beach Resort are vigilant in welcoming and serving all guests at our resort with a friendly smile and to the utmost best of their capabilities. The bar staff in particular at the pool area, work within a fun and friendly atmosphere and are always attentive to serving guests throughout the day. We uphold a work ethic that the bar should close at the stated time (opening and closing times stated both at the reception desk and on our website) – in order for all staff members to rest as well.

The charge of beach and pool towels is in place, so that we are able to on a regular basis replace and renew the linen to ensure all guests receive new and only the best towels. Towel fabric after so much use as you can imagine gets worn out very fast. This practice of changing beach towels and replacing with new as well as the dry-cleaning of them, is a practice that perhaps very little resorts do as regularly as they should, and it is for this reason there is a charge. Also, Kiani Beach Resort upholds a 'Green Key' ethic.

We are very sad to hear that you did not enjoy your time fully at Kiani Beach Resort, and would have hoped to have been able to rectify any mistakes we made, or heard your concerns during your stay with us, if you were to voice your complaints at the reception desk.

We sincerely hope that we can fulfill your needs perhaps on another trip to Crete in the future and wish you well on future travels!

Kind Regards
The Team at Kiani Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalami
1.4 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
536 reviews
23.1 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
70.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67.3 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
69.3 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
28.0 mi away
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiani Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiani Beach Resort

Property: Kiani Beach Resort
Address: | Crete, Kalami, Apokoronas, Crete 73003, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Kalyves > Kalami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kiani Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiani Beach Resort is a modern family resort situated directly on the award winning blue flag beach of Kiani Akti, just outside of Kalyves village in Chania.Bathe in the crystal clear waters of the Cretan sea, or relax by the large swimming pool, dotted with sun-beds and umbrellas where you can enjoy fresh beverages and snacks. With a chilled atmosphere and the sound of the sea waves in the background, surf on our free WiFi, or marvel at the idyllic scenery. The whole family is kept entertained at Kiani Beach Resort! Children can enjoy our animations programs and activities throughout the day, swim in the children’s pool or simply have fun in our games room and outdoor pirate’s ship! With their minds at ease parents can relax in the sun, or take part in numerous fitness and recreational activities such as volleyball, football, aqua gym, zumba, tennis, morning stretching sessions and our gym. Our location, paired with outstanding accommodation, facilities, daily programs, and Cretan cuisine at our “Symposium” buffet restaurant, make Kiani Beach Resort a class above the rest for an unforgettable fun filled summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Kiani Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiani Beach Hotel Chania Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing