We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our first visit to Beaujolais Region”
Review of La Grappille

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Villie-Morgon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Grappille
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were guests at a wedding at a nearby Chateau. Due to circumstances in UK we were a little late arranging our accommodation for the long weekend and local hotel rooms were being reserved by other wedding guests. How lucky for us!! as we were given the link to the beautiful La Grappille. After a long and tiring drive we arrived at this stunning location. Bruce and Pauline welcomed us to their delightful 19th century farmhouse with delicious and much needed refreshments. Our rooms were chic and extremely comfortable. The charming sitting room, lined with books and with a kitchen facility, was just perfect as we were able to relax there and on the patio to enjoy our surroundings in between the wedding ceremony and various two day celebrations. We enjoyed Pauline's vast choices of breakfast delights including a special request by one member of our party for english style scrambled eggs which she researched and produced with absolute skill. Bruce and Pauline are the loveliest people you could wish to meet and perfect hosts and La Grappille is a perfect place. We would love to make another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 24 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have properties in Cambridge UK and Nice France. When driving point to point we love to stop in the Beaujolais. A couple of years ago we got tired of the same Ibis hotels just off the autoroute, which we find quite satisfactory, but after repeat visits we wanted to explore more of the countryside. We found some nice places in the Sawday guides (I was at Oxofrd in the same College as Sawday) Then last year the owner of a charming large family home decided to retire and she introduced us the Bruce and Pauline. We were truly delighted to stay with them in their stunning farmhouse. It has three or four double rooms, each with en suites, in immaculate order, with everything done to the highest standards. Pauline and Bruce served us a lovely dinner (pre-booked), outside where we enjoyed views of the vineyards, and plenty of birds. Bruce and Pauline take cash or a cheque drawn on a French bank. The nearest cash machine is only as few km away. Their location is brilliant if you want to buy wine from small producers (recoltant producteurs). Bruce even makes his own! We can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

La Grapille is a perfect base to explore Beaujolais region. The 19th century farmhouse is tastefully restored with rustic but chic decor, offering a great panoramic view of the area. The owner Bruce and Pauline are charming host and extremely helpful. The 5 course alfresco dinner prepared by Pauline was light & elegant, making a welcome break from eating out all the time. We had Beaujolais wine tutorial from her followed by great recommendation of places to visit.
Definitely worth doing. If you want a French country chic b&b this is a perfect place!

Room Tip: The blue room on the first floor has two large windows with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanako_lotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Bruce and Pauline were perfect hosts. We enjoyed their knowledge of the area and they even set us up for a private tasting at a nearby Chateau (who gave us the key to the garden and said feel free to walk around - amazing). The dinner Pauline prepared was simple but elegant, one of the best we had in France. The rooms were simple but very clean and the bathroom was also new. The view from the patio area is amazing, as is the surrounding countryside.

I am trying to plan a return trip with a bike, it would be an amazing place to ride.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Pauline and Bruce are incredibly nice people with an absolutely gorgeous farmhouse situated right in the middle of some of the most famous and picturesque vineyards in the region. For travelers interested in wine or just wanting to spend some time in some spectacular country this is the ideal setting, The wine cellar is stocked with superb selections including wines from Clos de La Roillette and Cret de Ruyere. Paired with the excellent multi-course dinner while looking out over the vineyards makes for a simply wonderful evening. All and all, a great place to stay while in the Beaujolais.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielmarkweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

La Grappille is a wonderful place in a charming town in the Beaujolais.

I stayed here during a cycle trip through France for a few days. As with most parts of France there is great cycling around here and some beautiful routes through the vineyards.

The place is a picturesque, very recently renovated farmhouse on a hill overlooking Ville Morgon. It is surrounded by vines and the views from La Grappille are absolutely stunning. On a clear day you can see the Alps.

The hosts, Bruce and Pauline are both French but have lived all over the world. Both have worked in International development in North Africa and the Middle East. They are extremely friendly and I was fascinated by their stories. Pauline is originally from the area and is the daughter of a winemaker and so knows the wines of the area intimately - always a good thing!

Ville Morgon is in the Beaujolais Villages, part of the Beaujolais which produces some of the best French wines. It is not to be confused with the much more well known Beaujolais nouveau for which the region is known internationally and is a very cheap, young wine. The fame of nouveau has made the Beaujolais Villages is one of the best kept secrets of French wine and means you can pick up some fantastic wine at much better prices than neighbouring Burgundy.

Ville Morgon itself is a small town with a great little restaurant in the centre. It is just big enough to have facilities such as a bank and bakery, small shops etc. There is occasionally a market in the main square.

All in all a great stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank georgenturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank odile L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Grappille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grappille

Address: Lieu Dit Bellevue, 69910 Villie-Morgon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Villie-Morgon
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Villie-Morgon
Price Range: $94 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful and cosy bed and breakfast in the heart of the Beaujolais vineyards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing