We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is such a great place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Le Mars
North Eastham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“This is such a great place.”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The people at the desk are wonderful and helpful. The breakfast is exceptional for the Express type hotel. The beds are great, rooms have everything you need and are practically brand new. Love the wi-fi and cleanliness. Having a refrigerator and a nice bathroom makes your stay a joy. Loved the pool as it was very clean and well-cared for. Good location too. Not many hotels around that area so this is a gem. LeMars should be proud that they have a hotel of this quality in the area. It is nicer than any other Holiday Inn Express I have ever been to. We opened the windows and shut off the air-conditioner. Very quiet location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravel1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
9
Solo
0
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This hotel is the nicest HIE we've ever stayed in. It is very clean and the staff is consistently nice, friendly, and efficient. My favorite part is that the hotel actually has windows that open, so we were able to turn off the air conditioning and enjoy a fresh breeze through the windows, and wake to the sound of birds calling. The breakfast offers a good variety and the coffee is good. There's a nice big room to sit and enjoy breakfast while reading the free paper. Would definitely stay again...there were no negatives.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GodsGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Visited Le Mars for a friends wedding during Memorial Weekend '11. The hotel was packed as there were two wedding groups staying at the hotel.

Knowing that the hotel was going to be packed and the fact that Le Mars is lacking in hotel rooms, I booked the room in February. Upon checkin we received quite a scare when they didn't immediately pull up our room under our name. After about 10 minutes I suggested trying similar spellings for our last name and the hostess finally found our reservation. Self admittedly I should have printed out the confirmation Email but then I realized that I never received it and had been meaning to call the hotel. Will wholeheartedly admit this was my mistake.

Anyway, the room was as to be expected from a HIE. Room felt clean and our reservation was as ordered. Internet access worked so life was good until I went to stretch out on the bed. Let's just say I nearly pulled a Clark Griswold as I plopped down on the bed and nearly bounced off it was so hard. Thankfully, I reminded myself we were in town for a wedding and I would likely not have any trouble getting to sleep.

Hotel staff was mostly helpful throughout the weekend and generally pleasant. Breakfast did the job.

There's not much to Le Mar's but the hotel is right in the middle of what could be the busiest area in town. There's a quality restaurant sharing the same parking lot as HIE with a great beer selection called 4 Brothers. Quick note about 4 Brothers...they likely will close early if they don't have a reason to stay open so if you have a decent sized group coming in and plan to go there late night call ahead and check to see if they'll stay open. There is a Walmart nearby if you need anything else.

Everything was fine with our stay until we got back home. The night of the wedding, the bridesmaids all had their purses and gear bags delivered from the home where the wedding was at in Le Mars to the hotel by the brides grandmother. The hotel agreed to store the bags securely until they were requested upon arrival back to the hotel. When we got home my wife could not find her very nice, pretty expensive wrist watch. Upon talking to two of the other bridesmaids, we found out that one of them was missing a very valuable and sentimental ring and another was missing cash.

Each person that were missing valuables contacted the hotel separately and received the same answer from the hotel receptionist, "Oh, that wouldn't happen here, I've been here for a long time and all the workers have been here for a year. I can honestly say that no one here would do that." Needless to say police reports were filed.

I get it, we should have never put the hotel in that situation and/or placed anything valuable without our supervision or locked in a safe. But, the town is extremely small and they did offer to keep them locked up and safe. It is very unlikely that this could have happened anywhere else except the hotel. Not to mention the extremely poor excuse offered by the hostess/manager. Really? No one making $7 an hour at your hotel would take the time to rifle through a bunch of purses looking for anything of value? That is totally inconceivable! No offer to contact the police or look through security cameras. Nothing at all. I've stayed all over the world from Hawaii to Mexico to Rome and the only place I've ever had anything come up missing was during a stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Le Mars, Iowa.

Moral of the story, lock up your stuff! Other than this episode, the Holiday Inn Express is what you would expect it to be. Oh, and it's really the nicest option in the town unless you want to drive 30 minutes to Sioux CIty.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salty74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Clean and up to date. Easy access with quick food close.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

This hotel is nice, clean, and seems new. They have everything you would ask for from a hotel including easy internet access, a pool, a fitness center, and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lori0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Courteous, friendly staff was definitely tops! Rooms were contemporary and clean. Common areas well-appointed. Pool/hot tub area clean and contemporary. A couple of things I noticed that were minor but worth noting: I had to wipe out the inside of the fridge (each room conveniently has its own fridge) before we could use it. A portion of the trim in the bathroom was missing. Wouldn't they replace that before selling that particular room? Also, as noted by a previous reviewer, the price was a bit steep: 99/night-115/night depending on the day of the week- but they are willing to work with you. This is definitely your best option BY FAR in LeMars, Iowa!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrhenry04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed here while attending a music festival in Le Mars the week before Labor Day. It is the largest hotel in town and appears to be the newest as well (less than 3 years old). Our nonsmoking king room was clean and comfortable with everything in good working order. The bathroom was exceptionally large, and the good shower pressure and stable temperature were appreciated.

This hotel is located on the extreme south edge of Le Mars. It is quite a ways from downtown, but much closer to Wal-Mart, a grocery store and numerous restaurants. The only eating option within walking distance was an Applebees-type bar and grill, which we did not try. Although the hotel is located on a 4-lane highway, it is set well back from the road, and traffic noise was never noticed.

The standard brand amenities are all there, including a free, full breakfast bar with good food and a great variety of hot and cold options. There is also a business center and a good-sized pool and hot tub. The staff were all efficient and friendly and cheerfully accommodated our early check-in and late check-out requests.

The hotel does not have a shuttle service, which to me is a significant lack considering its distance from the city's businesses and attractions. If you find yourself without a car, a taxi is your only other option. Also, the $95 a night +tax that we paid feels a bit steep for a small market, but I can understand paying a premium considering we were there on Labor Day weekend with a major event in town.

One other thing to note is that Le Mars is only 25 miles from Sioux City... so this hotel may be worth a look if Sioux City hotels are booked or their rates are too high.

Bottom line, a nice hotel and a decent value. Solve the transportation problem and they have the best place in town.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fender78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Mars
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites LeMars
0.7 mi away
Amber Inn Motel Le Mars
Amber Inn Motel Le Mars
#3 of 4 in Le Mars
26 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Orange City
Hampton Inn Orange City
#1 of 2 in Orange City
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sioux City South
22.7 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City
24.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites: Sioux City-Southern Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars
Address: 1285 Sleepy Eye Dr, Le Mars, IA 51031-2894
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Le Mars
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Le Mars
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Comfortably at our New Hotel in Le Mars, IA Enjoy a comfortable stay at our 100% non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Le Mars, Iowa, proudly located in 'The Ice Cream Capital of the World.' Your family will enjoy lodging at our newly built hotel in Le Mars, Iowa, as it provides access to several of Le Mars' best attractions, including the Blue Bunny Ice Cream Capital of the World Visitor Center and the Argosy Riverboat Casino. Sioux City, Iowa is just 30 minutes from our hotel, as well. With a vibrant night life and Iowa attractions, you are sure to find plenty to do in Le Mars. Along with being in close proximity to many Iowa attractions, our choice Le Mars hotel's location is situated near local businesses such as Wells Dairy Corporate, the Le Mars Convention Center, the Le Mars Family YMCA and the Floyd Valley Hospital. In addition to its central location, our Le Mars lodging offers a meeting room and business services featuring free high-speed, wireless Internet access. Unlike the disappointment business travelers may find at other Le Mars, IA, hotels, you will be impressed with the accommodations our Le Mars hotel provides, such as complimentary hot breakfast bar and Simply Smart bedding and bath collections. Come relax in our heated indoor pool or enjoy a book in our Great Room with a warm fireplace. Book your reservations today and enjoy our great Le Mars hotel's deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Le Mars
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars Hotel Le Mars
Holiday Inn Le Mars
Le Mars Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing