We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view - easy to get to from I-80”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Le Claire
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent view - easy to get to from I-80”
Reviewed August 4, 2007

I stayed here overnight on Tuesday, July 31, 2007. My check in was quite late in the evening, and the front desk staff was helpful and courteous even at that late hour. My room was clean and adequate, with a big comfortable bed, business desk with internet connectivity, a sofa bed, clock radio, TV, and two bedside tables. The bathroom was roomy and appointed with the Holiday Inn toiletries and towels that I like so well. This one had not only the soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion I usually see, but also a makeup removal towelette. That was helpful, since I'd forgotten mine. There was coffeemaker in the bath as well, and two AZO teabags, a nice change. I had a room on the road side, and there was a notice about the trains that passed by nightly. Earplugs were next to this note. I didn't need them, though I did hear the train. This property is directly next to the Mississippi River, and many rooms are river front with balconies. There is a pool, but I didn't investigate the pool area. There was a complete breakfast the next morning with all manner of hot food and good coffee. I'd stay here again.

  • Liked — The location and the view - excellent altenative to Davenport hotel prices
  • Disliked — I was pleased with the accomodation
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    76
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
68
103
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We stayed here for one night with our children. We had a suite with a view of the Mississippi River. We really enjoyed our stay. Unlike a previous reviewer, we did not have a problem with the train. I did hear it once, but it was not very noisy and did not affect me sleep. The breakfast was very good, though for some reason, the cinnamon rolls were not warm.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FamilyAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2007

The hotel itself is a nice Holiday Inn Express, fairly new and located right on the Mississippi river (so close it will certainly flood out sometime in the next 20 years). The staff was nice and check in/out is fine. The biggest problem is that a railroad runs less than 50 feet from the back of the hotel and trains go by every 3 to 4 hours during the night. Not only do they blow the train whistle, but the proxmity to the tracks can cause the room to shake when the engines pass. There was a note about the train and some ear plugs in sealed plastic bags in the room when I arrived. That alone is NOT a good sign.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank dale3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Illinois
Level Contributor
383 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2007

Stayed here because only hotel in Quad Cities with pet policy that doesn't break the bank. Nice indoor pool, lobby has giant aquarium that children enjoy. Rooms are comfy and bathrooms clean. But the hotel is right next to a railroad and during our stay, trains went by three times in a night, waking us each time. So for a restful stay, I would not recommend this hotel. But if you want to see the river, the view is beautiful. Breakfast in the morning was about average - a nice perk.

  • Liked — river view
  • Disliked — railroad next to hotel
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisamarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Claire, Iowa
Level Contributor
177 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2006

This is a relatively new HI Express that is directly on the Mississippi River near the I-80 bridge. We were given this room as a XMAS gift and finally got a chance to use it.

The main attraction is the view of the river from the motel. Our first problem was that the room we were given is on the first floor, and those rooms are at parking lot level and if there are cars in front of your room, that is all that you will see. They do have a patio, if you like sitting 5 feet from the parking.

The upper floors have balconies, so with a little whining I pursueded the clerk to give me an upper floor. She came through with an upgrade to a whirlpool suite, which was 2 rooms with a whirlpool in the bedroom. Very nice.

The decor in the hotel is very bland. VERY bland. But the place is clean and typical HI Express quality (which I find to be high).

So, if you want a river view, make sure it is not on the first floor. Otherwise this is a nice HI Express.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank wsteinhauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Claire
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Riverview
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Le Claire/Quad Cities
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Davenport
Hampton Inn Davenport
#1 of 26 in Davenport
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Davenport
9.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Moline
9.8 mi away
Radisson on John Deere Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport
Address: 1201 Canal Shore Dr SW, Le Claire, IA 52753-9527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Le Claire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Le Claire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Riverfront LeClaire, is located just off I-80, on the banks of the Majestic Mississippi River. The hotel is conveniently located just minutes from downtown Davenport and Moline. LeClaire is home to Twilight Riverboat Cruises and the hotel is within minutes of boarding. We are also less than 15 miles from the Isle of Capri and Rythym City Casinos. The Holiday Inn Express Riverfront is a preferred lodging accomodation for Tyson Foods and Olympic Steel. Other nearby businesses that stay with us are John Deere, Exelon and Alcoa. So, whether it's business or pleasure that brings you to our area, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express, LeClaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport Hotel Le Claire
Holiday Inn Le Claire
Le Claire Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing