We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Le Claire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have stayed at this location twice now. Each time the person at the front desk was very helpful and amicable. The fresh cookies are a great hit. The rooms are spacious and clean, wifi is quick, and the view of the Mississippi River is spectacular.
Rates are reasonable and breakfast is good. The usual fair, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, sausage, pancakes, rolls, yogurt, apples, bananas, juice, coffee, and hot water for tea. I may have missed some things, but you get the idea.
If you do stay here, be sure to look for bald eagles up and down the river in the treetops. Also, if you are looking for good eats, Sneaky Pete's has great steak, Steventson's has good upper scale food, and there is a nice coffee/wine shop on one of the corners for something light and quick.
Andrew was the front desk clerk when we stayed here last and he was very helpful and very friendly. The bed this trip was really mushy, not sure what that was about, but it wasn't the most comfortable for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, they have little balconies on them and offer a great view of the mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtrvl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hi luvtrvl99,

We appreciate your kind words as well as you bringing the mattress situation to our attention. Reviews like yours help us to improve our services.
Guest satisfaction has, and continues to be, a top priority for The Holiday Inn Express LeClaire. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Barbara Epton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 291 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our room was huge and we had a very comfortable sleep on the beds. Friendly staff. Great location on the Mississippi River. The German restaurant a short walk away is recommended and has some excellent beers. The only downsides were our pet room had a funny smell (probably from some sort of cleaner) but we stopped noticing it after 30 minutes or so, and at the morning breakfast, the coffee was cold and the apple juice was watery. Great cinnamon rolls though. If you're not in a pet room and you don't care about the breakfast drinks, this hotel is highly recommended. Even with these problems, it's still a pretty nice place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanSSwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Hi Dan,

Thanks so much for leaving us this review. We're sorry to hear about the initial smell in your room and dissatisfaction with your breakfast drinks. We'll be sure to pay close attention to any issues that may have caused these problems so they don't happen again.

We hope you had a safe trip home to Germany and that you'll visit us again the next time you're in Le Claire!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The property is extremely clean and well-maintained. The staff is friendly and efficient. Even the maids are friendly and go out of their way to say hello. Location is beautiful, right on the Mississippi River. Ask for a river view room; it's definitely worth the few bucks extra. Even though there had been an accident on the river, and the Coast Guard was using one of the meeting rooms as a command center, the property was quiet and restful. There are a few restaurants nearby, but it is a small town.

Room Tip: Ask for a river room. The view is very pretty, it is a bit quieter on the river side (there are tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hi Fred,

Thanks for staying with us and leaving this kind review! Thanks for your patience with all the commotion involved with the Coast Guard; it's not every day a towboat sinks in the river right outside our doors! The good news is, they've cleaned it up and removed the sunken vessel.

We hope you had a safe trip home and that you'll visit us again soon, Fred.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have stayed here before when traveling through Iowa. This year I had a lovely (and large!) room overlooking the river and enough time to take a nice walk along the Mississippi. The last time I stayed, there were many bald eagles overhead- a real treat for bird-lovers! I ate dinner at the nearby Bier Stube and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip west.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hi Nancy,

Thanks so much for your kind words and recommendations. Bald eagle season (roughly Dec. - March) is already upon us again, so you'll want to plan your next visit soon!

We hope you had a safe trip and look forward to your next visit, Nancy.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Holiday Inn Riverfront is a great hotel in the wonderful and quaint little town of La Claire, IA. We can to La Claire to visit the site of American Pickers TV show. We were upgraded to a specious suite with a balcony overlooking the Mississippi River. The hotel lobby and breakfast area were spacious and nicely decorated. There were several resturants within a short walking distance of the hotel althoug we drove across the street to the Subway and took our sandwichs to a lovely spot at a picinic pavillion on the river. They had breakfast buffet with plenty of variety. Room had looks of plug ins for cell phones, Ipads, etc.

Room Tip: As for room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hi Kathy,

We're so happy to have served you so well during your stay! We certainly appreciate the charm of our small town and we're glad to hear you did too. We hope you made it home safely and that you'll visit again some day.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

They are a great location on the Mississippi. Its in a small town very relaxing. The staff was awesome and prompt in all our request. Loved staying there. The room are spacious. Showers are nice. Its has a pool and hot tub plenty of time to have fun. Breakfast is a normal hotel breakfast had hot food.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room on the river side . Its beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sitter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hi there sitter4,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us this kind review -- we truly appreciate it! We hope your trip home was safe and that we'll see you again soon.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This location next to the river was nice, but it's also expensive at 3-figures for a King room in a rural area. The staff was very friendly at check in. Room was clean and spacious. But, I was on the backside facing the railroad track which is literally just feet away. (I'm a Platinum member and could not get a room facing the river?) Breakfast was standard HIE fare and just ok, as was the coffee. There were several coffee carafes, in case one ran dry. However, all 3 on the front row DID run dry and I opened one on the back row. So, a little more attention to detail in the breakfast area. I am finding that the Holiday Inn Express breakfast has become very standard and not very good. Not a ding on this location, but the chain as a whole.

Not sure I would spend this much money on this location again.

Room Tip: Ask for a River side room at reservation. Cost even more, but probably worth it and away from RR tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hi Robert,

Thanks for staying with us and saying such nice things about our property. I am sorry that we were unable to upgrade you during your last stay. Please ask for me next time you make a reservation and I will do everything possible to get you upgraded to the riverside. Thank you again for your review.

Barbara Epton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Claire
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Riverview
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Le Claire/Quad Cities
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Davenport
Hampton Inn Davenport
#1 of 26 in Davenport
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Davenport
8.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Davenport
Staybridge Suites Davenport
#13 of 26 in Davenport
153 reviews
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Davenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport

Address: 1201 Canal Shore Dr SW, Le Claire, IA 52753-9527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Le Claire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Le Claire
Price Range: $116 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Riverfront LeClaire, is located just off I-80, on the banks of the Majestic Mississippi River. The hotel is conveniently located just minutes from downtown Davenport and Moline. LeClaire is home to Twilight Riverboat Cruises and the hotel is within minutes of boarding. We are also less than 15 miles from the Isle of Capri and Rythym City Casinos. The Holiday Inn Express Riverfront is a preferred lodging accomodation for Tyson Foods and Olympic Steel. Other nearby businesses that stay with us are John Deere, Exelon and Alcoa. So, whether it's business or pleasure that brings you to our area, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express, LeClaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport Hotel Le Claire
Holiday Inn Le Claire
Le Claire Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing