We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location for Hawkeye Parents”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Le Claire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Loved that this newer Holiday Inn is close to Iowa City and right on the Mississippi. The view from our room's balcony was so very relaxing. Our room was clean and the hotel staff was attentive. The breakfast had a automatic pancake maker and this was a blast. We enjoyed watching the kids waiting with excitement as the pancake was being made. The staff kept the area stocked and clean the entire time. Within walking distance is the Beir Staube Restaurant which has an excellent selection of German Sausages and Beer!

Room Tip: We chose a high room facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chucketta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks so much for the review, Chucketta.

We're proud supporters of the Hawkeyes and their parents, so Iowa supporters are always welcome at our doors. We hope to see you again during your next visit to the Iowa City Area.

Thank again for the kind words!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express LeClaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 290 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a riverside suite with a balcony. The room was very nicely decorated with a king size bed and a seating area. As another reviewer stated, the riverside suites do overlook the parking lot as well as the river, but this didn't diminsh our enjoyment of our balcony and view. Since we were on the third and top floor of the facility we heard relatively little noise from other guests during our stay. The only slight issue we had was with the pillows. If you do not like firm, slighly over plump pillows we suggest you bring your own. Both my husband and I struggled with this during the night. The hotel is also situated very well for exploration of LeClaire or the Quad Cities. A variety of restaurants are close by, as well as a grocery store for any snack items needed. The hotel has a nice sized pool and hot tub. Both my husband and I were a bit surprised to find that the exercise room was small and very limited for the number of potential guests. Breakfast was included and we found the food to be very good and there was plenty to chose from. I did have to complete some work during my stay and I found the internet service to be more than adequate for my needs. We had a great time and look forward to a future stay at this HIE.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie64_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hi Marie,

Thanks so much for the review and kind words. We like to think we're well-positioned to provide a homebase for those exploring the beautiful Quad Cities, so we're glad you found that to be the case.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Le Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Our room, a suite, was terrible. We stayed a few months ago, but I just discovered Tripadvisor.
In the hallway wall up against the bedroom was an Ice machine and soda machine. You could hear the ice crashing down through the wall, and the soda tumbling down. There were flies coming through the screen and worst of all the noise of the frieght trains passing within 100 or so feet through the night was not pleasant. They did give us a partial refund, but I would have rather had a quiet nights sleep.

Room Tip: Ask where the ice machine is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSGPA9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback for us and I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to noise. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accomodations and your comments are very important to us as they enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Thank you again. We know that you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope that you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs.

Barbara Epton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is your standard HIE and is a good one. I've been staying here for 5 years when in town for work and haven't ever felt the need to find another hotel. You can read all the other reviews for the view of the river.

The bandwidth here is horrible and isn't any good for anything other basic web surfing. Good luck trying to stream anything. The TVs are nice but using old school RF connection. Most stations have three or four channels and you can never find what you are looking for.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank dcbone27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thanks so much for the review, dcbone27.

We're very pleased you've chosen our hotel during your visits to LeClaire and we hope to see you again the next time you're in town.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express LeClaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and drove out to the Mississippi for a day of bald eagle photography. We've enjoyed other HIEs so choosing this one was a no-brainer. Arrived late on a Friday night and were greeted by a cheerful receptionist with exciting news. We'd been upgraded to their suite having been chosen guest of the day! The suite was quite large and had a large jetted tub in the bedroom. Nice HD tvs. Plenty of storage. Clean and better than what you'd expect at this price point. One caution: we were on the second floor. Not that the guest upstairs were tap dancing, but you can hear footfalls quite well. If you're not a sound sleeper...go high or go home. We also paid for the river view side of the building. Yes. You will see the river. And the parking lot right in front of it. Save a few sheckels and face the other way. Breakfast was included and very good with a nice variety of cold and hot items.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChiWeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our Hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas as well train and encourage our staff. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express LeClaire for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
Barbara Epton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have stayed at this motel twice now, and each time it was a very good experience. Most recently we had an executive king room on the river side of the building. Wonderful! It was January but 45 degrees and sunny the day we got there. We spent some time on the balcony taking pictures of the river. Gorgeous.

The room was beautifully decorated and completely clean. This type of room has a sofa and chair and a desk, as well as the bed and fridge and microwave. The shower was outstanding, Lots of hot, soft water with a very powerful shower head! Great.

We went downtown (about 5 minutes away) for supper and had a great mexican meal at the Blue Iguana. Breakfast the next morning was very good, but for some reason the coffee that was served in the air pots was only warm, not hot. That's a very small complaint after such a great motel stay. We will choose to stay here everytime we need a motel in the area. It's a sure bet to be a nice place.

P.S. I see in other reviews that people complain about the noise of trains. Honestly, in both of our stays we never once noticed train noise. Not once, ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side... gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judylynnsnider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our Hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas as well train and encourage our staff. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express LeClaire for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
Barbara Epton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice now and have no complaints. Nice to see the river when it is warm outside. Nice restaurant next door beirstube with some great German beer. Rooms clean, and quiet. Shower feels a little like a space shuttle, but clean and new. Just watch your step in and out.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewEnglandTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

It is wonderful to be able to share your positive comments with our staff. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas as well train and encourage our staff. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express LeClaire for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
Barbara Epton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Claire
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Riverview
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Le Claire/Quad Cities
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Davenport
Hampton Inn Davenport
#1 of 26 in Davenport
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Moline - Quad Cities
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Davenport
8.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Davenport
Staybridge Suites Davenport
#13 of 26 in Davenport
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport

Address: 1201 Canal Shore Dr SW, Le Claire, IA 52753-9527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Le Claire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Le Claire
Price Range: $110 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Riverfront LeClaire, is located just off I-80, on the banks of the Majestic Mississippi River. The hotel is conveniently located just minutes from downtown Davenport and Moline. LeClaire is home to Twilight Riverboat Cruises and the hotel is within minutes of boarding. We are also less than 15 miles from the Isle of Capri and Rythym City Casinos. The Holiday Inn Express Riverfront is a preferred lodging accomodation for Tyson Foods and Olympic Steel. Other nearby businesses that stay with us are John Deere, Exelon and Alcoa. So, whether it's business or pleasure that brings you to our area, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express, LeClaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport Hotel Le Claire
Holiday Inn Le Claire
Le Claire Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing