We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understaffed, Food only Fair”

Sneaky Pete's Cowboy Steaks Inc
Ranked #10 of 23 Restaurants in Le Claire
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Absecon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Understaffed, Food only Fair”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife, kid and I stopped in Sneaky Pete's one afternoon for a late lunch. The waitress eventually made her way over to us for our orders. She apologized and said she was the only one on that afternoon. Really? When a restaurant’s problem affects the guests, I start seeing red flags. The décor is unusual… kind of rustic, with hundreds of neckties hanging from the beams in the ceiling. Kind of weird, and not particularly attractive.

When the food finally came (it was a long wait – maybe our waitress was the cook too??) it was only fair. The meat was over cooked and vegetables tasteless. Their idea of a Philly Cheese Steak doesn’t even come close.

Aside from the view of the Mississippi River, there wasn’t much nice to say about the place. The food was filling, but not very tasty, service subpar, and the décor left a lot to be desired.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 50StatesOrDieTrying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    70
    61
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kankakee, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good food at very reasonable prices.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The name and ambience may draw you in yet the food will bring us back.
We were here on a Saturday night and the prime rib special was very good and very reasonable. The salad bar in the antique bathtub, the exposed wooden beam, bench seating and great views of the river all contribute to the fun relaxed atmosphere. The staff were very accommodating especially for a large group at the last minute. We all had a great time and noticed that the manager was especially helpful to a customer with special needs to ensure he was cared which was nice to see.
This was our first time and would be one of our first choices again when we are back in the Le Claire area. We have already talked about staying closer to here the next time we are in the area.
This is a definite place to stop if in Le Claire.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great food but took over 45 minutes for food to arrive. Kids enjoyed looking at all the neckties hanging from the ceiling.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank spedmedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, MI
Level Contributor
143 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“E njoyed the atmosphere”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

They have ties hanging around the restaurant! It goes with the saying cowboys don't wear ties and the sandwiches were tasty!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rphsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Food was average. Seating was all bench picnic table style. We had elderly people with that were uncomfortable with out back support and it was very difficult for our group to be seated on the benches. Probably will not return there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silvisgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sneaky Pete's Cowboy Steaks Inc also viewed

 

Been to Sneaky Pete's Cowboy Steaks Inc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing