We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local wine experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wide River Winery Tasting Room

Wide River Winery Tasting Room
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Le Claire
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the tasting room and courtyard in historic downtown Le Claire. Sample award winning, locally made wines and enjoy live music on Friday's 5-8pm (May-Sept)
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local wine experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Went in on a whim and went out with 3 bottles of Miss Behavin wine. Tasting was reasonably priced and got to keep the engraved wine glass. Would highly recommend taking time for a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dgreaney54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBrienIA, Guest Relations Manager at Wide River Winery Tasting Room, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive feedback on our tasting room in Le Claire, IA. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the experience and that you like our cranberry wine, Ms. Behavin. Just so you know, Ms. Behavin has another name; Merry Berry! Be sure to stock up for your Thanksgiving feast as this wine is perfect paired with your turkey dinner.
Warm regards,
Martha O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    17
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byron, Illinois
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a little time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We did a wine tasting, the woman who helped us was very helpful. We had a fun time and came away with 3 different bottles of wine and free wine glasses as souvenirs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrNana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
186 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Inside or out its a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

What is not to like about wine tasting? No it isn't free but the cost is minimal and you can enjoy the wines that they are offering standing at the bars or take your drink or bottle out to the patio. This is a very popular destination and was quite crowded when we visited. A must for wine lovers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City IN
Level Contributor
176 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great wines!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for part of an afternoon. Our hostess was Char and she was great to talk with. The tasting cost $6.00 for 6 samples plus you got to keep the glass. The wines were great and we bought a couple bottles. The building was from the1800's and had recently been renovated. Great way to spend an afternoon

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great place to spend some time relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Happened to stop at winery. Glad we did. Staff was very knowledgeable and made good suggestions. Bought a bottle and relaxed in garden. Was surprised to hear local musicians. Make it a stop

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank marva m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wide River W, Public Relations Manager at Wide River Winery Tasting Room, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Marva,

We are so glad you were able to stop by and catch some local entertainment. We have live music every Friday in Le Claire from 5 - 8 PM. Hope you can make it back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wide River Winery Tasting Room also viewed

 

Been to Wide River Winery Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing