We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, friendly, nostalgic”

Big Dave and Holly's
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Le Claire
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious, friendly, nostalgic”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here on a Friday. It was not very busy, except for a few regulars. We all loved our food and deserts. The waitress suggested the pork tenderloin sandwich with the additions of pepper jack cheese, barbecue sauce, and pickes. Both my husband and I ordered and loved it! It's not on the regular menu though, so font be afraid to ask for it. The owner was making ribs for a catering job and let us sample because we commented on hie great it smelled. Wish we could have gone back on Saturday when they serve ribs in the restaurant!

If you have fond memories of small town, independent burger, fries, and ice cream joints, I think you'll really enjoy this one.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    18
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Friendly service.....good portions.....prices were fine. We had the Reuben and pork tenderloin, and the tenderloin is large. Both sandwiches and the generous sides were tasty.....most definitely will come back.

Funny story: The view over the river has train tracks in front, and a train slowly came by as we ate. Train stopped and backed up a few cars, but the lead engine was still a few hundred yards away. Two guys come out of the lead engine, walked back up the road to this place, and came in and picked up some carry out they had obviously called in ahead of time. They went back to the engine, and went on their way. That is a fair indicator of the rep this place must have in the area :)

Helpful?
2 Thank michaeld1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gotta have the pork tenderloin....worth going out of your way!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Simple and small but big on service, quality and taste. The pork tenderloin sandwich could feed two! The chicken tender salad also large in size and flavor. We would go out of our way to eat here again!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nursedonna13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fisk, mo.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“nice folks, good food”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

stopped here on a Saturday about 1:00. Sat at counter and ordered pork tenderloin sammy and fries. both were hot, fresh and really big portions. Struck up conversation with locals, this is one of those places where everybody knows everybody else. Good food and great value, Holly behind counter is a sweetheart.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikekFisk_Mo_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food but not always open the hours state on website”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We ate here on a short spring break trip with our kids. The food was great, portions huge, and the view was nice. We had sandwiches, burgers, fries & great shakes. Place is tiny. My only complaint was that we went to eat there one evening after a long drive. We were all starving & tired and sooo looking forward to some good diner food. Their website clearly said they were open for another 90 minutes, but when we got there, they were closed. Don't know why. There wasn't much else in Le Claire that night that was family-friendly so we had to leave town and drive another 15 min or so to find a place to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GottaGetOuttaHere08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Dave and Holly's also viewed

 

Been to Big Dave and Holly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing