We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere and food”
Review of Crane & Pelican

Crane & Pelican
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Le Claire
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Classy comfort food served in an 1851 River boat Captain's home.
Mn.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere and food”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped for lunch and were awed by the beautiful building and its great many mantels. Great eye candy while u eat. Food was spectacular with a nice varied menu. Worth a stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    65
    21
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Streator, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great place”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on the word of a shopkeeper. I had the Cranberry hummus with veggies, one of thier starters, and my husband had thier. sawyer burger with slaw. We were extremely happy with the food and service. Being able to look out on the Mississippi was an added bonus. Yes, we will stop there again when we are near here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, service and view.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Plan to include this restaurant when in LeClaire. You will not be disappointed. The menu will offer various selections. We had the Sawyer hamburger that was great

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solotraveler120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moline, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Awesome food”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place (former house of a river captain) has some of the best food I have ever tasted, it also supports local farmers, Steak was awesome! vegetables were great, and the atmospher was very nice!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 101165mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Quaint & Cozy”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Beautiful interior. Even the Woman's bathroom is beautiful! I ordered the Gouda Cheese Soup. Very yummy. They served it with packaged Oyster Crackers, with such a cute, quaint and a bit on the elegant side I was surprised that is was plain old Oyster Crackers, even the Westminster Bakers Oyster Crackers would have been an improvement. From an elegant place like this, I would expect homemade bread to come with my soup. I am a soup person, I was disappointed again with getting a regular table spoon for my soup, again a cute, quaint, classy restaurant should have "soup spoons". My son's hamburger was tasty, but that presentation was lacking. Sort of looked like someone ran out of ground beef. A local person had raved about the place, "oh be sure to save room for their delicious desserts". We ordered the lemon cake with raspberry filling, way TOOOOO sweet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crane & Pelican also viewed

 

Been to Crane & Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing