We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bier Stube

Bier Stube
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Le Claire
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, Pub, American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The food was delicious with a great variety of authentic German food. The pretzels for the appetizer were amazing and a very wide beer selection.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoeJillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    96
    28
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eldridge, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was okay and the import beer selection is good, service lacking.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been to the Le Claire location twice and neither experience was outstanding. The first trip was on a Sunday just as their brunch was closing down so I gave them a pass on the poor service. The second trip was on a week night and they were not busy, yet the service was still substandard.

Most of us tried one of the German foods that they have and we were not incredibly impressed. My wife and I are probably spoiled because of the German restaurant in her home town, but the rest of my extended family thought the food was just average.

I have had much better success at the Moline location which is strange as you would think that they would be relatively close to the same. Also, the Moline location has a better beer selection.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QCHusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great, German-style fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful view of the river from seats on the patio or near the windows. Plenty of TVs if you want to catch a game while you munch. Make sure you try the warm, German potato salad. Yum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Inkapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had a wonderful lunch here overlooking the Mississippi River. It was cold and rainy so we could not use the patio. Many authentic German dishes and something for everyone. The potato pancakes are fantastic, wish we could have tried everything. Pleasant waitress very knowledgeable, attentive and friendly, great atmosphere, clean, and did I mention the view?
Sadly we are 2 hours away from this place but, I'm looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went to the Bier Stube for my wife's Birthday and sat on the patio. A great place to watch the river traffic. Our German food was excellent and the staff was also excellent. We plan to be back again for some inside dining.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank recfun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bier Stube also viewed

 

Been to Bier Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing