We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bell Inn
Nearby Hotels
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$212
$201
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Rabbit(Lyndhurst)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Penny Farthing Hotel(Lyndhurst)(Great Value!)
$110
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveler rating
416
241
84
33
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
416
241
84
33
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew forestgolf coursegolf clublovely hotelevening mealmy partnerhigh standardthe pubbar areatoastacross the roadfull englishcar parkthe ground floorcream teaafternoon teagolf break
Filter
Updating list...
639 - 644 of 806 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice country retreat with calm, quiet atmosphere.
Room was average appointed, lovely large bathroom. Dinner & breakfast were very good quality, even considering we were using a voucher. The only disappointment was the cream tea. Only one small scone each and not real cream! Come on, not a lot to ask. I had expected a bit more and have had much better elsewhere, it didn't spoil my stay but it definitely have made the difference.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaureenB365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier C, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear MaureenB365,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. Your compliments regarding the room, dinner and breakfast are very much appreciated.
Since your visit our cream tea offering is something we have looked at and improved. It now includes 2 scones and the traditional clotted cream. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards,

Didier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We pulled in to the car park over the Easter weekend at 9pm and hoped they had a room free for us as we didn't book. The staff at reception were lovely, they really made us feel welcome.

We were told that the restaurant usually stops serving food at 9.30 but the reception spoke to the restaurant to ensure we'd get fed as we were starving!

The room was decent - quite large with a good size bathroom. We could hear the music from the bar but it wasn't loud. We ate at the restaurant and were impressed with the standard of the food which was very good. We went back to the room at midnight and the music was still playing but it was at a low level. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well.

Breakfast in the morning was a little chaotic but we managed to eat as much as we wanted, even if it meant waiting for some of the hotplates to be refilled.

All in all a nice place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faceman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was a great value night away with breakfast.. This hotel is well worth it's 3 stars. The rooms were of a very good standard, good spec, lovely spotless bathroom, tea and coffee, hairdryer, big comfortable beds. We had a room overlooking the car park and golf club. We stayed in a room overlooking the car park and golf club. This was no problem for us, I am a light sleeper and there was no extra noise. Breakfast was a very high standard and fresh. It was more than adequate with cereals fruit, toast along, pastries and full english. Service was great from the Spanish waiter. Staff were helpful and polite. We ate in the restaurant in the evening, however the menu looked amazing but didn't live up to it's expectations. The main meal was disappointing but the desert was lovely. Our friends brought their dog which was welcomed at the hotel and bar restaurant. The shortish lad with the brown hair served us in the bar restaurant impeccably, he is wasted there and should be snapped up by a fine dining restaurant. We would recommend it here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeBKHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I stumbled across this lovely looking pub that has been converted in to a trendy looking bar, lovely decor and a warm welcome. They were happy to supply us with a high chair too for our baby. We ordered the roast beef which sounded delicious being it came with red wine jus. Upon being served up we couldn't have been more disappointed. Two slices of beef, three potatoes the size of ping pong balls and a kidney shape dish half full of vegetables, that were very tasty, but we had to order another portion which was slightly embarrassing, but that's what a roast dinner is all about right? Anyway, being it was £17 each we felt within our rights to express how we felt the portion was way too small and when I asked the manageress if she thought it was a generous portion, she said she couldn't comment. Another staff member came over and informed us the chef was new and that they would take on board our comments and review their portions. We think they should review their prices too! £10 would be enough! We were given a complimentary pudding to compensate which was delicious also, but again neuvo cuisine! So basically, don't go there if you're hungry!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank photographer_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very pleasant stay at the Bell Inn. Would have scored it as excellent save for a few things. Breakfast buffet both days was very hit and miss. Plates of eggs, sausages, etc arriving randomly so never able to get what you want on a plate at the same time. Very disorganised. We ate in the restaurant one night and in the bar area the next night. The bar was better. The restaurant service was a bit pretentious for what is after all a pub - albeit a very nice pub. Bedroom was good - nicely furnished and a comfortable bed.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank loobyloo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews