We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel: HORRIBLE BUFFET”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Larchwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larchwood
Cherokee, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel: HORRIBLE BUFFET”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed here on January 14, 2014. Hotel is awesome and the rooms are as good as you can find. Bed was very comfortable and rooms were quiet and clean. Love this hotel as this is the second time staying here. Their fitness room is great with new cardio equipment. The Roberts buffet was simply AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Spent 18.00 buck for horrible dry and cold food. There was not one thing on the buffet which I felt was very good. The chief that was working just sat behind the counter and did NOTHING!!! You could tell he did give a hoot about the buffet. Most of the food had been on the buffet for along time and was cold, dry and tasteless. The pizza that was on the buffet had to be dead for a long time and it was gray in color. I will never eat here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFCR, Front Office Manager at Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for providing input on your recent stay at Grand Falls Casino Resort. We are appreciative of the positive comments for the hotel and wellness center. Our housekeeping staff works diligently to keep the rooms clean and they value your compliments. We do apologize for your negative experience at Robert’s Buffet during your stay. I have passed your comments about the buffet to our Food and Beverage Director so that he may work with his team to improve the offerings, food quality, and guest service in this outlet. We realize you have other entertainment options available and are happy that you have repeatedly chosen Grand Falls!

Joel Twedt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    42
    23
    24
    15
See reviews for
25
66
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is by far the best New Year's Eve experience I have ever had and I have been around for more than five decades. Our room was beautiful, with comfortable beds, nice pillows and a lovely balcony overlooking the pool area and the golf course. Of course, it is winter here, so we didn't spend much time on the balcony, but we looked out the ceiling to floor windows and imagined the fun we are going to have next summer on the new golf course and poolside. The dinner at Ruthie's was as delicious as always. The GRAND FINALE was attending the NYE party at the EVENT'S CENTER. The music was wonderful and the complementary champagne at midnight was a very nice end to 2013 and beginning of 2014! This is why Grand Falls is our "get away" of choice. They know how to do it right!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on poolside have a beautiful view. We didn't use the spa or have breakfast this trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dabooklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFCR, Front Office Manager at Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
I cannot emphasize enough how honored we are to hear that your time with us on New Year’s Eve was the best yet! It is reassuring to know that your experiences in the hotel and at Ruthie’s continue to meet your expectations. We are all very excited for the opening of our 18-hole golf course later this summer and we hope you and your clubs are ready for the challenge! Hopefully year-after-year we can continue to add to our New Year’s Eve party and make each experience better than the last for you!

Joel Twedt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, North Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night to relax & gamble. We had a nice room with a balcony overlooking pool area. We enjoyed the hot tub which half is inside and half outside with huge flame torches to set the mood at night. The bed was comfortable. Bathroom had a nice walk in shower but the hot water never got real hot? We won a little in the Casino :) Staff & Security were nice & helpful. Would diffinitly stay here again!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WhiteCamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFCR, Front Office Manager at Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We appreciate you providing us with such favorable input from your recent stay at Grand Falls! Hopefully you have a chance to stay in one of our Grandview rooms during the summer season; the view is even more spectacular with the addition of the cabanas, outdoor pool, fountains, water fall, and golf course. I apologize that the water was not hot enough in the shower during your stay. Should you encounter this problem on a future stay, please advise the Front Desk staff and they will alert our Maintenance Department promptly. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to have you back to Live It Up again!

Joel Twedt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okoboji, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a very nice overnight at Grand Falls. We ate at Ruthie's bar. Service was great and food and drinks were excellent. Thanks James! Even won while playing the slots! Our room was a nice surprise. Walked in to find a two room suite. Quiet and comfortable. Would have enjoyed the balcony if it had been warmer than 10 degrees outside! Enjoyed the fireplace instead. We'll be sure to come back whenever we're in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Hawkeye55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFCR, Front Office Manager at Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for providing us with such wonderful input from your recent stay at Grand Falls! The two balconies are a wonderful feature on our Grandview Two Room Suite. Glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the fireplace instead during the inclement weather. I will be sure pass along your praise to the Food and Beverage department, as well as James, for a job well done. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back as a guest during your next visit to the area!

Joel Twedt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The room was nice and clean however there is no water pressure in the shower at all! The pillows on the bed are in dire need of being replaced. My neck hurt so bad from the worn out lumpy pillows made for a bad Sunday! The price of the room is way out of line considering you are pumping money in there machines as well. I don't gamble so they didn't get anymore out of me! The buffet is way over priced! It is not that good. The pizza bland, mac and cheese mushy non cheese flavor, turkey not ham on a breakfast buffet? Hello?! It is horrible!

Room Tip: I think all the room are pretty much the same unless you get a suite which I looked in and it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c1angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFCR, Front Office Manager at Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I apologize that the amenities in the hotel room did not meet your expectation. Many guests appreciate our walk-in showers; should we be alerted to an issue with them (temperature, pressure, etc.) we do send our Maintenance Technicians to the room to address the problem promptly. We offer two variations of pillows in our rooms - a soft and medium fill - to provide our guests with options. We have a variable rate structure based on the demand for rooms, often resulting in higher rates on Saturday evenings, especially when we have entertainment in our Show Lounge and Events Center. As a benefit to our active Resort Club members, incentives are sent out monthly that include valuable Hotel offers. I have passed your comments about the buffet to our Food and Beverage Director so that he may work with this team on improving the offerings and food quality in this outlet.

Joel Twedt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife, daughter and grandson and I stayed one night. My wife is disabled and we had one handicap accessible room. Distance from the check in area to the hotel rooms is a long way. The check in area could be moved to another area to be more convenient for people with walking difficulties. The room was small for four people. The handicap shower area was great but it took forever for the water to reach a comfortable temperature. They charge 10 BUCKS to get wifi per day. My grandson was pretty disappointed. Every other motel I've stayed at provides free wifi. The outdoor pool was closed and you must bring towels from your room into the pool area. Expect a nasty note describing what will happen if you don't bring back your room towels after using the pool. The front desk staff were friendly. The luggage carts for hauling your suitcases are stored near the main casino entrance. So therefore to use them upon departure you have to take the long trec from the room to the storage area, then return the long trec to the room to load and then again back to the main entrance so you can load you car. Poor design that could easily be rectified by stroring half the carts near the hotel rooms. There appeared to be plenty of room for storage of the carts at the concert hall entrance. Overall the beds were comfortable and the rooms quiet. If I was to stay again, I'd get two rooms.

Room Tip: Be prepared to do lots of walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFCR, Front Office Manager at Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to evaluate your stay with us and hopefully by providing you with some information you will choose to be our guests again. I am glad that you found the beds comfortable and rooms quiet, but I do apologize for the water in the shower heating slowly. I have alerted our Maintenance department and the issue will be corrected. Guest satisfaction was our goal in the design of Grand Falls Casino Resort, but that does result in some distance between the Front Desk and the Hotel rooms. The Hotel placement allows for excellent views of our waterfalls, outdoor pool area, and our 18-hole golf course that is on schedule to open next summer. We do have wheelchairs for guest use at Valet and 24-hour complimentary bellhop service available. We also would be happy to deliver a luggage cart to your room if you prefer not to utilize the bellhop service. I do apologize that the outdoor pool season (open Memorial Day to Labor Day) had commenced prior to your stay. As a benefit to our guests, we do provide luxurious pool towels in the room and additional towels will be provided by contacting the Front Desk. I am unsure as to the “note” that you received, but we do have signage provided in each room indicating our policy on this. I thank you for your input on your stay, and through ongoing training with my staff I hope to improve on communication with our guests to make the stay more enjoyable.

Joel Twedt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Larchwood hotels

Roseburg, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This resort consistently delivers! Service in all areas is awesome. The rooms are amazing, and the food is delicious, no matter where you get it. The boutiques are worth a look and the staff in them is very nice and helpful. Occasionally I even win on the machines.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get the grandview room, nice view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meandmytreasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFCR, Front Office Manager at Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are pleased to hear that we are meeting your expectations at Grand Falls Casino Resort! I am glad to hear that you enjoy the Grandview rooms and the experience that is afforded with the balcony upgrade. Everyday there is progress being made on our Rees Jones designed golf course, which is certain to add to the scenery from the balcony! We look forward to having you back as our guest on your next visit to the area!

Joel Twedt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larchwood
10.1 mi away
Super 8 Sioux Falls
Super 8 Sioux Falls
#19 of 53 in Sioux Falls
492 reviews
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon
14.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
11.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
13.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 53 in Sioux Falls
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort

Property: Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort
Address: 1415 Grand Falls Blvd, Larchwood, IA 51241-5000
Location: United States > Iowa > Larchwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larchwood
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will see for yourself when you visit Grand Falls Casino Resort that the wait has been well worth it. This resort is like no other in the area, offers peerless amenities. Ruthie’s Steakhouse and Seafood, Robert’s Buffet and The Big Drop Café round out our dining choices; offering a wide variety of atmosphere and option to serve every taste. Our hotel features gorgeous views and a variety of rooms and suites and balconies with breathtaking views of our outdoor pool and waterfall. The resort also features The Spa at Grand Falls a full service AVEDA concept salon and spa, Indoor and Outdoor pools, meeting rooms and fitness center. Our Cete Boutique and Grand Falls Gift Shop offer up a variety of ways to pamper our guest with clothing, purses, jewelry, and one of a kind gift items. Our entertainment both in our Show Lounge and on our Event Center stage will be some of the best the area has to offer. And of course, which no one will forget, non-stop gaming action with 900 slot machines and 23 table games including roulette and craps. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Falls Hotel Larchwood
Grand Falls Casino And Golf Resort Larchwood, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing