We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Visit.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Larchwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larchwood
South Dakota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at Grand Falls Casino Resort on Saturday, September 24th. It was our first time to the new property. The hotel was very clean- actually the entire property was very nice and clean. This is, in no way, shape or form a "Tribal Casino." The staff was friendly and very professional. The rooms are very nice and modern- but very overpriced. Hopefully over time, more promotions will be made available to make the room rates more affordable. The food was wonderful. There is a reservation restaurant that we did not try, but we heard good things about it. The buffet for breakfast and dinner was excellent. The one thing we wish they would, look into is at the sit down Cafe- to have made to order breakfast options, oatmeal, fruit, etc. so the buffet would not have to be the only option, and in the evening have a hamburger bar as another option instead of the buffet. Again, the food was great. It was better then "Casino Food" and there was a wide variety of options. The pool area is very nice, the indoor and outdoor whirlpool is very nice also. When the property is finished it is going to be beautiful.

The SPA was great. As far as a spa goes for a midwest Casino- this one was very nice. Priced high but worth the money. Our only suggestion would be to have a supply of towels available throughout the spa instead of having them in the lockers. Also, having fruit, juices, tea and coffee available would be nice. The staff at the spa was wonderful, friendly and very inviting. Compared to the Canyon Ranch Spa- this one rates very high and is alot closer for us.

The gaming area is not huge. If you like the poker machines there are a few, not alot. The ONLY complaint of our visit was that the poker machines were located close to one of the bars where some of the bands play. The music was so loud coming from the small stage it was actually uncomfortable. Several people left there machines and either went to there rooms or went to the opposite side of the casino. If the sound system would get turned down it would not be a problem. The band that night was from Sioux Falls, and just from how loud it was, made it painfull to listen to.

Room Tip: In the summer, ask for a view of the falls and pool area. In the winter months, there is no reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hard_To_Impress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    40
    23
    23
    15
See reviews for
23
62
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Attended a conference at this location and stayed from September 19-21, 2011. Wonderful property with spectacular rooms. Comfortable king sized beds, flat screen televisions, modern decor. The buffet is a bit pricey but there are lunch specials for folks over 50 years old on Mondays and Wednesdays - just $6.95 if a member of the player's club. Didn't try the restaurant which is more pricey but guessing that the food served is quality. The casino is placed so you have to walk past it to get to the hotel or restaurants. There is a spa on site and a golf course is under construction. The property is about ten minutes away from Sioux Falls, SD.

Room Tip: In a rural setting... when the golf course is finished, the rooms on the north side will have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n0uzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presho, South Dakota
Level Contributor
183 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

In spite of all the hype about the new Grand Falls Casino near Sioux Falls, we found it to be like most other casinos we have visited.
The lunch buffet at $11.99 was certainly no bargain. While it looked attractive, the food was mediocre. Some of the oriental dishes were inedible.
To us, it was not worth the drive from Sioux Falls or off the interstate. We have no intention of returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DIVESD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

The casino was impressive. We stayed two nights room was not cleaned on day 2, had to ask front desk for towels. Roberts buffet, on property was good, Ruthies Restaurant, on property was excellent. Prices me seem high but well worth it, best steak I have ever had.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rob5ash2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Very modern rooms with high end features and finishes. Excellent amenities as well including a very nice indoor an outdoor pool along with a simply amazing spa. This place was way more than just another casino. Surprised by the quality of the entire casino and the professionalism of everyone that worked there. The choices of food an entertainment were also amazing. Looking forward to the golf course that is coming soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dominicmassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Great rooms, wonderful pool and spa! I had a most relaxing 1.5 hr. hot stone massage the morning after my hotel stay ( I stayed on a Thursday night). The best part was this gem of a resort is new the area so I got the spa to myself Friday morning.

The rooms are very modern, If you have ever stayed at an aloft Hotel, the Grand Falls hotel rooms are comparable. Ask for a room with a view of the falls.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larchwood
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon
14.2 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#13 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
11.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
10.1 mi away
Super 8 Sioux Falls
Super 8 Sioux Falls
#15 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort

Property: Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort
Address: 1415 Grand Falls Blvd, Larchwood, IA 51241-5000
Location: United States > Iowa > Larchwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larchwood
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will see for yourself when you visit Grand Falls Casino Resort that the wait has been well worth it. This resort is like no other in the area, offers peerless amenities. Ruthie’s Steakhouse and Seafood, Robert’s Buffet and The Big Drop Café round out our dining choices; offering a wide variety of atmosphere and option to serve every taste. Our hotel features gorgeous views and a variety of rooms and suites and balconies with breathtaking views of our outdoor pool and waterfall. The resort also features The Spa at Grand Falls a full service AVEDA concept salon and spa, Indoor and Outdoor pools, meeting rooms and fitness center. Our Cete Boutique and Grand Falls Gift Shop offer up a variety of ways to pamper our guest with clothing, purses, jewelry, and one of a kind gift items. Our entertainment both in our Show Lounge and on our Event Center stage will be some of the best the area has to offer. And of course, which no one will forget, non-stop gaming action with 900 slot machines and 23 table games including roulette and craps. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Falls Hotel Larchwood
Grand Falls Casino And Golf Resort Larchwood, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing