We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Friendly”

The Anchor at Shapwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Shapwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Modern British food including fresh fish, meat & seasonal game. Wide variety of vegetarian options.Monthly changing menus.Cracking ales, wines & ciders.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Once we found this little place we didn't eat anywhere else for the rest of our short break. The staff were friendly and helpful, the décor was neutral and the food was good quality. Really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and my husband (a bit of a foodie) liked eating here. The chef cooks veggie dishes from first principals, much appreciated.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbara f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    80
    36
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Visited for Sunday lunch. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Sunday roast was really good although wasn't as hot as I would have liked - hence only 4 stars. Will definitely return - lots of lovely sounding dishes on the menu.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CazWr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top quality food”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a gem of a pub in rural dorset.
Unpretentious, serving imaginative, quality food at a reasonable price.
Excellent real ales. Attentive staff.
Wonderful to have the opportunity to speak with the chef and owner, Richard and share with him his love and passion for food.
Booked the small room by the bar for a special celebration and gave Richard free rein to impress us all with his culinary skills. We were not disappointed.
The Amuse Bouche was a perfect start to the evening followed by Haggis faggot in pea and mint purée and red wine reduction. Next a refreshing sorbet before the main course, sea bass fillet, crispy chicken skin, potato rosti, bernaise sauce, purple broccoli, grilled baby leaks and burnt tomatoes.
A perfect evening.
Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Ottimista1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best pub in England”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a wonderful pub. The best new find I've made in years.
A cheery, light, airy, spacious, characterful, elegant decor and well-kept interesting ales (including the superb Timothy Taylor's Landlord) combine with friendly personable staff, led by Evelyn and Fiona, both of whom are charming, to make visiting the Anchor a special experience.
The fire was lit and pumping out heat and fragrance on a dismal day in damp Dorset (bit of alliteration, there, did you like it?).
The food is superb and well-priced - chef Richard not only did an outstanding Crispy Thai beef salad (beautiful balance of sweet, sour and salt in the dressing), but he left his kitchen to explain not only how he made it - but where to source the ingredients locally. A generous man.
The menu is very appealing and shows originality and knowledge (there's an Israeli dish that looks very exciting and is well priced - we did order it but see below). There is also a very customer-friendly £12 'starter and mains' offer off one part of the menu for weekday lunchtimes, which bearing in mind some mains are £12 means one gets a free starter (including the excellent Thai dish mentioned above) - and they're generous portions.
Thoroughly enjoyed it and arranged to meet friends there for lunch a couple of days later. But on that second visit a problem, flood-related, caused chef some concerns and, putting responsibility over profit, he made the tough decision to close the kitchen and take the hit.
The staff couldn't have dealt with this in a more professional, friendly and generous way - to the extent that we all had a bit of a laugh about it, trying to persuade deeply apologetic staff (the other chef, a good young man, was devastated that he couldn't cook us lunch) that it really wasn't a problem and we understood - indeed, were grateful for their openness and desire to lean on the side of safety.
Although we obviously hadn't paid, we all got free vouchers for another lunch and the excellent staff refused payment for the drinks we'd enjoyed.
We insisted, they said, 'no'.
Top marks, staff of the Anchor. You're my new favourite pub in England!
I note that a very small amount of Trip reviews are a bit sniffy about the Anchor regarding parking and 'atmosphere'. Come and judge for yourself and have a beautiful time at the Anchor - I'll end with this: the male of our friends said, 'shall we find another pub for lunch?' and the woman said, 'no, anything after this will be a step down. We can all look forward to coming back".

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic little pub”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Found this pub on a drive one day and have enjoyed it a few times now.

Friendly, good beer, good food and lovely locations.

Definitely worth a visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor at Shapwick also viewed

Sturminster Marshall, Wimborne Minster
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Holt, Wimborne Minster
 

Been to The Anchor at Shapwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing