We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great history”

George M. Verity Riverboat Museum
Ranked #4 of 13 things to do in Keokuk
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed September 12, 2016

The tour and history of this boat was very good. You got to look around the boat alone after the initial tour to fully take in everything. There were old maps and a LOT of history.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tour guide"
in 3 reviews
"tug"
in 2 reviews
"technical"
in 3 reviews
"mechanic"
in 2 reviews
"boats"
in 2 reviews
"mississippi"
in 3 reviews
"history"
in 5 reviews
Filter

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2016

This is a small, but very interesting museum if you have an interest in mechanical things, or the history of the Mississippi. And the cost is minimal: $4 for an adult ($3 for seniors.) Our elderly docent led us through the engine room, showing us the boilers, then following the steam pipes to the electrical generators, pistons, power steering, etc., and explaining how it all worked. He was well informed and interesting. After that, we were on our own to explore the upper decks where there were a lot of photos and documents.

Somehow, I was expecting something like a riverboat for passengers, but this ship was built almost 90 years ago specifically to push barges, and that was interesting in its own right. (Were were told it would make about 3 miles an hour.)

To me, the experience of being able to walk through the engine room made me imagine being very small and being able to walk through the engine of a car. You could walk over to the pistons and almost touch them. The whole thing took less than an hour, but it would be easy to spend a bit more time there.

The museum has obvious budget constraints, and is a bit run down, but still well worth it.

Date of experience: May 2016
3  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2016

Road trip summer vacation up the Mississippi River, stoked to visit the Riverboat museum morning of July 10, 2016. My parents and I love history and engineering and literature and an historic riverboat truly fits the bill. We started our tour just the three of us and a few more people joined our tour partway through. The tour guide was one of the managers of the site so he knew EVERYTHING there was to know, super sweet, answered all our questions and even tailored our tour to our particular interests. He even took our group photo for us in front of the museum. We got to tour the boiler room, upper decks and cabins on our own, a windy day so felt thrillingly dangerous with those low railings. Don't miss looking down at the rear chevron paddle wheel and pretending you're the captain in the wheel house! Some wasps and bees, but it was summer on the river so expected but not necessary...

Date of experience: July 2015
2  Thank rainofhearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2015

Steamboat built in 1927 that was used to push barges on the Mississippi and Ohio Rivers. The admission price was very low, $4 pp adult. The first part of the tour is guided covering the mechanics of the boat, how steam was used to power everything onboard. The tour guide directed us up some stairs to deck 2 and let us explore at our own pace. Deck 2 was the crew quarters and galley with a lot of old photos and various documents telling the history of the steamboat days. This steamboat was decommissioned in 1960 but had plied the river from 1927 until then. The galley had been updated with modern appliances, counter tops and sink during the 50's if I had to guess. Deck 3 was smaller than deck 2, but there was still a lot of photos and documents to browse. The pilot house is on top of deck 3 and one could sit in the pilot's chair.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Blueboss573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George M. Verity Riverboat Museum also viewed

 

Been to George M. Verity Riverboat Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing