We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalets d'Anse Forbans
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$463
$424
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,289
$1,225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$134
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valmer Resort(Mahe Island)
$335
$323
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$598
$550
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,747
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$2,808
$2,393
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
158
49
15
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
49
15
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjean pierreself cateringshort drivestarter packgentle slopeincredible beachcar is essentialcoconut treeswonderful snorkelingbeautiful tropical gardencomplete relaxationprivate beachbeautiful fishloaf of breadsmall shopcooking utensilsvictoria market
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 230 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I looked for beach chalets with two bedrooms for our trip to Seychelles and stayed in 5 different places. Proximity of a good beach was a priority as well as not having to cook dinner ourselves.

Chalet Anse Forbans is probably the friendliest place I ever stayed. The lady manager is extremely helpful. I cannot imagine any question that she couldn't have answered or at least found out.The place was run extremely professionally. Everything seemed to be thought of.

The location is excellent on the beach. The water at the beach is unbeliably clear. No big waves here and I enjoyed swimming there. Some tiny fish may come to "taste" you, no harm done, but a surprise.

The appartments are good, clean and well kept. Water and some basic items are waiting for you in the fridge.

According to the hotel description we expected two separate bathrooms in the 2-bedroom villa. It is actually one bathroom, there is a shower in the middle and small toilets on both sides of the shower area (walls don't go all the way up to the ceiling so the two toilets are in the same space).

One great thing is that there is air-con in the bedrooms (not so everywhere we stayed).

There is a very simple store close by. For a better grocery store you need a car (or a longer walk). There is a fruit stand on the road to Anse Intendance (turning left before the better supermarket). No restaurants close by (except Hotel Allamanda which is probably quite expensive for dining, considering the price I paid for a small amount of fruit I bought for breakfast before we found the fruit stand). For meals we drove to Surfers Beach restaurant, okay, but slow, and to Kaz Kreole. After the very good local style dinners we had had on the other islands we were not impressed as the food didn't seem very creole style.

The 2-bedroom chalets are behind the 1-bedroom chalets (not right on the beach that is) but close. Beach towels are provided.

They offer reasonably priced rental cars and bring it to the airport where you also leave it. I wouldn't stay there without a car.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbans, Owner at Chalets d'Anse Forbans, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Kauris

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Chalets d' Anse Forbans. We pride ourselves on our professional service and very happy to see your comments.

We certainly enjoyed hosting you and your friend and we would be most happy to host you both once again. The next time you will need to stay longer so we can give you further suggestions of other places of interest to visit and restaurants to sample with more Creole Cusine especially in the South of the Island.

Kind Regards,
Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Having visited Chalets d'Anse Forbans a few years ago, and having visted Seychelles over many years this is still our favourite location. Why?...the south of Mahe is in my opinon the most unspoilt part of the island, with one of the best beaches a short drive away...Anse Intendance (originally purchased I believe by Peter Sellars and George Harrison, and one year the film Tarzan was shot there with Bo Derek and Richard Harris, together with "Clyde" the famous Orang Utang) although it has lost its original charm and is gradually being swamped by larger hotel complexes...albeit in keeping with the surroundings. As south Mahe is relatively flat with less rainfall than the generally cloudy "mountainous" north (where most hotels are found) however, there are times, during the two 2 rainy seasons, where it can get seriously wet whevever you are on the island. Hire a car and follow the sun, it usually works. Another obvious tip, buying crates of Seybrew from a local roadside shop is worth it if you are on a budget, as the cost of eating out and drinks, as other reviewers have noticed, is not so reasonable anymore. Other common sense advice, be careful with your valuables and don't take expensive watches or jewelry to completely isolated beaches, we have met many people over the years who have been mugged during the day, and thinking it would never happen to us, well on one visit it did, once on the beach (Anse Intendance - and while we were out, at our bungalow, where they took everything. Hopefully this will never happen to you but if it should, you will a Police "incident report", to claim on your insurance when you get back home. Have fun!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbans, Owner at Chalets d'Anse Forbans, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Dear David

Thank you for your review of the Seychelles and for noting that Chalets d' Anse Forbans is your favourite location on the island. We agree with you on this issue however, we tend to be a little bias in this regard for obvious reasons.

Your review is generally of the Seychelles and covers some practical tips for visitors & tourists. Unfortunately your review seems to suggest that you were robbed of all your possessions whilst staying at the chalets. This statement came as quite a shock to us as we have no recollection of this most unfortunate incident. We subsequently checked all our records and can verify that this incident did not occur at the Chalets. We can only assume that this unfortunate incident happened to you during one of your many visits to the Seychelles (not at Chalets d’Anse Forbans) and you were merely bringing the issue of security to the attention of future visitors to our beautiful Seychelles islands?

For the benefit of our future guests we strongly encourage all our clients to be vigilant when it comes to looking after their belongings on the island and also whilst staying at the chalets. We take the safety of our clients and of their belongings very seriously and as such the Chalets have CCTV installations and a night watchman patrolling the premises for your peace of mind. We also have in rooms safes for the guests personal use.

David, we do look forward to welcoming you again to our Chalets and trust that you do not mind us clarifying your statement should there be any misinterpretation by any of our prospective clients/guests.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Chalets d'Anse Forbans is a family run enterprise and this adds to the feel of the place. Brigete and her team, made every effort to accommodate our requests and travelling questions. The chalets is ideally situated, only a few meters from the blue sea. Beautiful long beach and amazing snorkelling opportunities. You need a car, because the shops and other attractions are a distance away. The car can also be rented from the Chalets. It is a quiet break away, thus not ideal for the party crowd. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenjitru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbans, Owner at Chalets d'Anse Forbans, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Jenjitru
Thank you for selecting to stay with us and your time to write the wonderful review. We are so pleased you and your friends enjoyed your time and certainly hope to welcome you all back one day soon.
Kind Regards,
Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

What a brilliant place. Very helpful and friendly owner (Brigete). Pleasant chalets in the secluded south of Mahe. Lovely peaceful beach to yourself with fringing reef for great snorkelling and a safe swim for our 20 month old son. Good value for Seychelles (which is a pricey place). You do need a car for at least some of the time for food shopping/ exploring/ eating out. Not for those looking for a hotel setup or a lively place. Great for those seeking peaceful paradise! Great for youngsters (big safe garden off road to run in). I would definitely return here. Ignore negative reports of narrow beach (not true) low water pressure (not true) and crime (just use common sense). Thanks for a great holiday Brigete an crew!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbans, Owner at Chalets d'Anse Forbans, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Dear TimUpNorth
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our family run self catering chalets. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you plus new baby to our chalets one day soon.
Kind Regards,
Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband and I had ten delightful days here last month. The chalets are super clean, comfortable and well equipped. You are steps away from the best beach on Mahe and fall asleep to the sound of the sea.Unless you are looking for a busy nightlife, this is the ideal place to stay. A big thank you to Daphne, Jean-Pierre and Brigitte. Wish we were still with you!

Louisa and Johan van der Westhuizen, Cape Town

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank louisageary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbans, Owner at Chalets d'Anse Forbans, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Dear Louisa and Johan
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and more importantly thank you for deciding to stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Seychelles for a 3rd in the not to distant furture.
Tot siens.
Daphne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews