We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small home town cooking AWESOME BBQ”

Cactus Bob's BBQ Corral
Ranked #6 of 44 Restaurants in Johnston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Johnston, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small home town cooking AWESOME BBQ”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Great food for the money, always good service. I think the meat and ribs are by far better than texeas roadhouse. They need a better atmoshere. More like fast casual here.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeachLOVER0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    34
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Hot Hot Hot”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Try their hot sauce. It is yummy. Fresh food, good prices and a local lovely. Friendly and fast.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Suzan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garwin, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellent Tenderloin”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My husband considers himself a tenderloin connoisseur and he thought it was incredible! So he had to introduce me to the tenderloin. We were there between 3 and 4 in the afternoon and they only had one handbreaded tenderloin left. We split it and the brisket sandwich. They were both wonderful! I'll have a hard time deciding which to get the next time we go.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Bbq in Johnston”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I'm from a Bbq city and am pretty picky. The coleslaw was vinegar based. The beans were better than good and the brisket sandwich was awesome. Tender and juicy. Several different sauces rocketed this place to the top. The prices were excellent. Well worth the stop. Highly recommend. I plan on returning soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KansasCityTootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Too bad more people don't know about this place”
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This place is worth the trip out to Johnston. I'm not sure how they smoke their meats, but it is soooo good! Love the chicken but also a fan of their brisket and ribs. Cornbread is tasty here and their coleslaw is my favorite. Sweet and spicy.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UsTravelinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Bob's BBQ Corral also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Bob's BBQ Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing