We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Johnston
Certificate of Excellence
OPKS
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean and Quiet”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

First off, this is not a 5-star hotel, but for what it is - a basic services place to stay while in the area for other reasons, this place can't be beat. When we arrived I saw a Volleyball team awaiting check in. We were delayed by the volume of check-ins, but the desk guy immediately directed us to a place to sit and provided an estimate on when we could check in. He beat his estimate, came to get us. Bad situation avoided by handling it like a professional. Then I feared noise from the team, he told me we were on the same floor but he could change it. The coach assured me she 'would have them running the parking lot' if they were up past 10:30PM. I owe her an apology, we never heard a thing despite staying in the original room. Says something about the team and the hotel. Breakfast is minimal - and exactly as advertised. Plenty of everything though, even though we followed the team the next morning. My wife had satyed here last month and experienced the same good customer service. This place knows what it is and delivers.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side away from the interstate, not sure how the noise would be on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeKings09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    45
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
75
31
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We returned here because of previous visits and the value for the room size, however the sprinklers go off at 6:15 am and hit the bedroom windows about every 20 seconds, making sleep impossible. Cannot believe we would be the first to notice or complain about this. So avoid first floor if possible. Breakfast are quite limited compared to other hotels of this size. Kitchenettes are nice, dinnerware a plus and full sized fridge is a bonus. TVs in every room, but bathroom quite small.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

I travel a lot for work and am shocked at how nice this marriott townsuites was!! Full kitchen, huge closets, lots of work area space, comfy beds, at least a 42" tv, large bathroom and very clean! A+++

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmahairas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as an alternate to the Embassey Suites in Des Moines. This was a much different experience....it was surprisingly very good. The rooms have a kitchenette in them that was great....since we travel with a toddler we always need to have a refrigerator in our room. It was great to have the stove and microwave to make a meal on the fly as well.

The most OUTSTANDING thing.....these are some real HONEST folks. I left in a rush and forgot a number of my things in the drawer of the dresser. Yes, diamond earrings and a Rolex watch that has a lot of sentimental meaning to me. I thought when I left the hotel that I would never see any of these items again!

When I called the front desk was great! They fedex-ed my belongings to me free of charge and actually wrote me a note thanking me for my stay! My boyfriend thought everything was gone and I should call the insurance company immediately...(he's a police officer and said even good people much of the time wouldn't return that or report something like that to lost and found).

Thank you Towne Suites!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgie912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The front desk clerk was very accommodating when we checked in, giving us an isolated room since we were travelling with an infant. The room was very nice and clean with a small kitchenette area and a few cooking utensils. It was perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This TownPlace Suites was not quite up to snuff compared to the other TownPlace Suites where I've stayed in the last couple of years.

The staff was friendly and helpful as always - no problem there. However, the room wasn't as clean or well kept as they usually are. Some of the dishes appeared to be wiped off rather than washed, the refrigerator door didn't close properly (which could have cost us quite a bit in spoiled groceries had we not noticed), the HVAC was very loud, etc. Not bad but compared to the high standards most TownPlace Suites have it was a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms that face away from I-80 are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in April. Desk staff was knowledgeable and nice. Room was clean and ready to go at check in. Continental breakfast was just fine--cereal, toast, bagels. We stayed on the 3rd floor and yet never heard any footsteps from the 4th floor. We never heard any noise from the hallway. Despite being right off the highway, the road noise was low enough that it didn't bother us while we slept. Very convenient to highways. The kitchen was well equipped with real silverware and pots and pans and a full-size fridge and freezer. Also had a microwave and dishwasher. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannonbobannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnston
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
0.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale
2.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale

Property: TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Address: 8800 Northpark Ct, Johnston, IA 50131-3018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Johnston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Johnston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott is an extended-stay hotel where you can balance work and life as you like, with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you require. Relax and feel at home with a fully equipped kitchen including full size refrigerator, microwave, cooktop, dishwasher and full complement of cookware, dishes and flatware; large work space, and complimentary wired and wireless high-speed internet access. Complimentary Continental Breakfast Daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townplace Suites Urbandale Hotel Johnston
Towneplace Suites Johnston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing