We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Johnston
Certificate of Excellence
Brewster, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The front desk clerk was very accommodating when we checked in, giving us an isolated room since we were travelling with an infant. The room was very nice and clean with a small kitchenette area and a few cooking utensils. It was perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    44
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
75
28
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This TownPlace Suites was not quite up to snuff compared to the other TownPlace Suites where I've stayed in the last couple of years.

The staff was friendly and helpful as always - no problem there. However, the room wasn't as clean or well kept as they usually are. Some of the dishes appeared to be wiped off rather than washed, the refrigerator door didn't close properly (which could have cost us quite a bit in spoiled groceries had we not noticed), the HVAC was very loud, etc. Not bad but compared to the high standards most TownPlace Suites have it was a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms that face away from I-80 are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in April. Desk staff was knowledgeable and nice. Room was clean and ready to go at check in. Continental breakfast was just fine--cereal, toast, bagels. We stayed on the 3rd floor and yet never heard any footsteps from the 4th floor. We never heard any noise from the hallway. Despite being right off the highway, the road noise was low enough that it didn't bother us while we slept. Very convenient to highways. The kitchen was well equipped with real silverware and pots and pans and a full-size fridge and freezer. Also had a microwave and dishwasher. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannonbobannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oquawka, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel was very nice. Our room was large, they already had a cot and extra towels we requested in our room. It was very clean the beds were comfy. Kitchenette was stocked with minimal dishes and appliances worked well. Lots of choices for breakfast. Had a weird closet door that blocked doorway to bathroom when it was open, but the closet shelves were plentiful. Plenty of pillows. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Nice, big, CLEAN room. Friendly staff. Breakfast is continental, but you have a full kitchen. Pool was good. Exercise equipment was in good shape. Walked across parking lot and got Texas Roadhouse to go. Loved fully equipped kitchen w table for 4.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jg2rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, MO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed here three nights, two using rewards points and one purchased. First let me say the place is nice and clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are well equipped for extended stays with full refrigerator, two burner flattop stove, microwave, dishwasher and full cupboard of dishes and kitchenware. The room was nice size with acceptable bathroom.

Now the shortcomings - sofa was very uncomfortable, room layout was a little strange, the only mirror was over bathroom sink, pillows on bed were not the most comfortable, back door of hall closet opens into bathroom--just a little strange--breakfast was extremely continental-basically toast and cereal, no real lobby, just uncomfortable breakfast seating, interstate noise on north side. I also thought the rates were strange and overpriced. Listed at $144 but when questioned, dropped to $99.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnthegoBranson_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This Townplace Suites is an very nice affordable hotel. The check-in process is great, the room very comfortable and it even has breakfast, which some Townplace Suites don't offer. It's only cereal, toast, mufffins or bagels, juice, coffee and yogurt but it was presented nicely and got us on our way. I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel that is away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanoscf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnston
0.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale

Property: TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Address: 8800 Northpark Ct, Johnston, IA 50131-3018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Johnston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Johnston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott is an extended-stay hotel where you can balance work and life as you like, with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you require. Relax and feel at home with a fully equipped kitchen including full size refrigerator, microwave, cooktop, dishwasher and full complement of cookware, dishes and flatware; large work space, and complimentary wired and wireless high-speed internet access. Complimentary Continental Breakfast Daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townplace Suites Urbandale Hotel Johnston
Towneplace Suites Johnston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing