We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really bad” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Des Moines North

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Johnston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Des Moines North
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Johnston
co
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2006

Very bad experimence. We got a non-smoking room and a smoking room was across the hall. The rugs were dirty. The place is noisy. Our towel rake fell from the wall. There are plenty of other hotels at this exit - any of them would have to be a better choice.

Also, forget about the Diner. It was poor as well.

  • Liked — Room was larger than most
  • Disliked — Overall layout, smoke, cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Pick another one at this exit - there are many
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pitt1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    5
    4
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
RI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2006

We thought this hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was very good with an assortment of food. The location was good...near restaurants and shopping. I would stay here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank chiefearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2006

The Best Western is definitely old and in desperate need of some updates. We arrived at 4:20 Saturday night and tried to check in but our rooms were still not ready, not to mention the computers were down so check in took over 20 minutes with a line of 4 guests behind me. Was not impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. Bathrooms had hair on the floor and in the tub, hallways were dirty, stained carpet, etc. I booked the Best Western over Priceline for $55.00 including tax. If it not been for the great price, I would've been very upset.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jettafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2006

One of the worst Best Westerns we have ever stayed at. It is a good local just off Hwy 80/35. Our room was "in the back" and as we drove around, our dread increased. This isn't a horrible neighborhood, but it does have a higher crime rate. No security, little lighting. Our room was moderately clean but old. Everything about this hotel seems "worn down." The room was really big though. We had to walk through many doorways (through unheated hallways) to get to the pool - which was HUGE and warm. They had an area for playing and a separate one for lap swim. Dial up internet only. The bestwestern website can get you a $60/night rate which is moderately good for the area. No breakfast but did get a discount coupon for the diner that is attached. Food was good but diner food. There are quite a few restaurants in the surrounding area. We were supposed to stay 3 nights, cancelled remaining 2 nights upon check-in. There really are no hotels in a 2-3 mile radius of this area. Really, I would try to stay in another Des Moines area. The hotels in this area all are generally old and have problems, but the Best Western seems to have more than the others.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krhm2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2005

This is an old hotel that apparently was renovated in 2004. A former Ramada Inn. The hotel could use more improvements both inside and on the grounds. The staff was friendly and the room was clean.

Helpful?
1 Thank idawmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethpage new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2005

On July 8,2005 my daughter and I stayed for one night at the Best Western DSM North in Johnston IA. We were on a mission of mercy as she relocated from Denver Colorado to Long Island New York. After the relocation we drove back to Denver to pick up her dog that a friend kept for her until she was settled. We purchased a book by Mobil of dog friendly hotels. The room we were given had a terrible odor of mold and mildew in it. My daughter was so tired she said lets just stay. When we unmade the beds there were black specks on the sheets. We both began coughing alot that night even with the a/c on. In the morning I looked up at the ceiling and to my disgust, there was mold and mildew growing on it through the paint. It was not clean at all. When we left, my daughter noticed they were painting the brick on the outside of the building. We both agreed that they should be repainting, changing carpet and getting rid of the mold on the inside of the hotel first. Stay away from this hotel even if you are exhausted!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank schatzie345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnston
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
0.4 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#31 of 49 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#28 of 49 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.5 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#11 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Moines North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Moines North

Property: Des Moines North
Address: 5055 Merle Hay Road, Johnston, IA 50131-1202 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Iowa > Johnston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Johnston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 146
Also Known As:
Johnston Best Western
Best Western Johnston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing