We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Johnston
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Enjoyed my stay”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My daughter from Minneapolis and I stayed the night before I attended a conference held at SCI. Located near a movie theater so we attended "Despicable Me 2" after shopping at Jordan Creek Mall the day before my conference. Hotel was well kept - thought it was newer than it actually was. Breakfast was sparse though.

Room Tip: We were on lower level and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    111
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
135
102
18
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Funny Hotel, lot's of wood, you would expect hunters as guests - somehow strange in this area of agriculture. Nice and friendly staff, big rooms, very clean. Breakfast is poor - quality ok, but not very much to select from

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The breakfasts were very good. The ambience was quite cozy. Beds are comfortable. It is close to numerous good dining options. Very happy with from desk staff also. We had a 2 bedroom which fit our needs quite nicely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was traveling for business and the hotel offers a free shuttle between the airport and the hotel which made it convenient (Johnston, IA is about 25-30 minutes from DSM airport). The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating - I was able to check in early, set up a late check out, reserve the airport shuttle without a problem. The bedroom I was in had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, ironing board and iron, etc. Overall, I had a really nice stay. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neener702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed one night. Check in was easy staff was friendly. The room was very nice and beds were very comfortable. Was a little worried about noise as there was a wedding and family reunion going on but it was quiet. Pool area was nice. Loved the indoor/outdoor set up my daughter loved it. Breakfast was nicely set up with a good variety. Overall a great place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmcmains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Imcmains, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We strive to make every stay a ‘great stay’ and are pleased to have that effort acknowledged. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I found this hotel quite by accident. Only rooms available because of a convention and sports tournament. I will make this my primary hotel when visiting Des Moines. Comfortable rooms, friendly service and Nice area. Convenient to I 80 / I 35. Easy access.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Doug A, Statistics show than most accidents happen within just a few miles of home and we are so pleased you have accidently found a new home in Des Moines. Thanks for sharing and for your very kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have held our annual family Korean Culture Camp at the Stoney Creek Inn (our first stay was 2011). The sales and conference staff are amazing! They saved our past information, which made planning a breeze. Also, they had such a solid idea of what our needs were that we were able to spend more time adding new events to our conference instead of starting from scratch. They responded to our requests immediately. Cynthia and Stacey in the group sales office checked in with me regularly. The front desk staff was also so helpful. Our families received wonderful treatment. The accommodations were great. If you are looking for a cozy, family friendly spot to have a retreat or conference, I highly recommend it. It is also so close to Hy-Vee, Fairway and Dahl's grocery stores. There is a Super Target and Super Wal Mart, must minutes away. We had families traveling from all over the midwest, so the easy I-80/235 access was helpful. Lastly, the folks we worked with in the conference center, sales, and front desk back in 2011 are still there- not an easy accomplishment in the service industry. I can't recommend Stoney Creek highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnston
4.3 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
1.8 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines

Property: Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
Address: 5291 Stoney Creek Ct, Johnston, IA 50131-2852
Location: United States > Iowa > Johnston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Johnston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off I-80/35, our Des Moines Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center puts you only minutes away from Living History Farms, Wells Fargo Arena, Science Center of Iowa & the Jordon Creek Town Center. Take in an I-Cubs game or visit Bass Pro shop, but when your day is over, relax by the fireplace in one of our Northwoods-themed rooms, or take a dip in our year-round indoor/outdoor heated swim-through pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn - Des Moines Hotel Johnston
Stoney Creek Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing