We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Johnston
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The young man at the front desk was very polite and professional. The rate was fair and the free breakfast the next morning was more than adequate. If we are passing through this area again in need of a place to stay, this will be it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagoodbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We appreicate your kind words about our staff member. I am glad that he was caring and sensible for meeting your arrrival experience.
It is easy to receive excellent service and keep it to yourself but you took the time to let us know that you received acceptable service.
We look forward to your next visit with us when you are in the Des Moines, Ia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    41
    29
    25
    20
See reviews for
80
34
5
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I had a nice room. It was clean, convenient, and a good quality for the price. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. There was a little microwave, fridge, and wifi was free. The breakfast was not great, as there was no fruit. If you like carbs, you are in luck.
I would not stay here again, though, because of the smokers. They were smoking in their rooms and in the hallways near my room. The odor was in my room, and it was pretty strong. I can't stand that odor, and people with asthma should be warned of this hazard.

Room Tip: if you can't stand to smell cigarette smoke or have asthma I wouldn't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arla59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is through the eyes of our guest that we can accurately assess our services and accommodations. We appreciate your kind words on the hotel and our staff. I would like to sincerely apologize to you for the items unavailable. Our signature perk breakfast does offer fresh fruit. In the upcoming year we will have 2 hot items every day during our breakfast hours we will have scrambled eggs and sausage every day add to our signature breakfast as well, still having our make our own waffles. Bringing still more protein items to the menu. I have spoken with all the staff on how breakfast needs to be the same throughout the scheduled hours. Every guest should be able to enjoy all the items available in our signature breakfast.
Again, I would like to sincerely apologize to you for the inconvenience that you endured during your stay. We do have rooms that are not located near our smoking rooms. I would like to speak to you further about this matter, please call 515-270-1111 or e-mail at johnston.ia@americinn.com. You may ask for me, Kalpesh or Karen would be able to help you as well.
Thank you again for your comments on your recent stay and we look forward to once again saying “Welcome to the end of the day”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our room was nicely decorated, well kept, very clean. We got into town early and they allowed us an early check in. We did not join in the breakfast, but i did go in an get coffee and a pastry, they have the typical continental breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassygt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and the staff. I want you to know that we value our guests opinion and comments; this is the best way to make sure we are giving our guests the best value and quality of service. Our breakfast will be changing we will be having two hot items scrambled eggs, sausgage plus biscuits and gravy. We also have yogurt, hard boiled eggs and other protein items. We look forward to seeing you in the future and meeting all your expectations and needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We received great, understanding front desk service. We had a few personal problems and the hotel staff did everything they could to make our visit better.
Breakfast is workable in a fairly clean area. Could have been cleaner. Price was right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet06181983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalpesh2, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. I am also pleased the front desk staff was sensible towards your needs and took the necessary steps to make you feel welcome.
We greatly appreciate your specific comments on how we could have better maintained our breakfast area. This is definately a good training opportunity for our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Returning from a trip to CO, we found this hotel by accident after planning to stay at a Comfort Inn and Suites with an abondoned restaurant attached. A refreshing change, alert desk person listened well and provide a room with little need to walk. Quiet and our window faced the hot tub.

Morning breakfast was a bit sparse, with no hot cereal or carton milk options. No yogurt was out when we ate and no fresh fruit, limiting choices. Other guests were amiable and fun to talk to.

I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We appreciate your kind words on the hotel and our staff. I am pleased they were responsive and caring, so we could accommodate your needs so you could relax and recharge after a long drive.
I would like to sincerely apologize to you for the items unavailable to you. Our signiture perk breakfast does offer those items. I have spoken with all the staff about the breakfast area and how it need to be the same through out the scheduled times of our breakfast hours. Every guest should be able to enjoy all the items available in our signiture breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were in Des Moines for one night for the Color Run 5k. We wanted a price friendly hotel that offered a comfortbale place to stay. We were pleasantly surprised by the cleaniness and updated room. I even enjoyed the pillows and slept well. All of the staff were very helpful and nice. The breakfast was above average especially the biscuits and sausage/gravy! Nicely done! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I will go again on my next trip there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyB1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalpesh2, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased you found your room to be clean, relaxing and comfortable. Our free Hot, home-style breakfast is a great value and we are glad that you enjoyed it. We look forward to having you as our guest next time you are in the Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a great place and well priced for what it offers. All the staff are very helpful and right there when you need them. It is very clean and comfortable. It def feels like home away from home. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and will be staying here every time I visit the Des Monies area. VERY GOOD PLACE TO STAY!

Room Tip: If you want to feel like your right at home with a comfortable bed quiet area and a good breakfast w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalpesh2, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you so much your words were very gracious. Our AmericInn works hard to provide the best service We want all of our valued guest to enjoy their stay from the moment the walk in to the monent they leave. We are pleased to hear that you received our best. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we hope to see you again next time you are in the Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnston
1.7 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#28 of 48 in Des Moines
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
0.3 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston

Property: AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
Address: 5050 Merle Hay Rd, Johnston, IA 50131-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Johnston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Johnston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upgraded rooms at the AmericInn Johnston include updated furnishings, room decor, 32" flat screen TVs and cozy Serta(R) Perfect Sleeper beds. The AmericInn Johnston hotel is conveniently located just off Interstates I-80 and I-35 on the outskirts of Des Moines and right on the border of Urbandale, Iowa. Visitors can explore our neighboring cities and attractions like the Buccaneer Ice Arena and Metro Ice Arena in Urbandale or the Waveland Golf Course in Clive. In nearby Altoona, gaming enthusiasts can visit the Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino. We have a nice bike trail conveniently located behind the hotel, great for biking or just a quiet relaxing walk. Free parking; lot can house RV's, Semi's, Truck and Trailers and buses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Inn Johnston
Johnston Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing