We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy comfort food might ease the discomfort of bad service”
Review of Bob's Your Uncle - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bob's Your Uncle
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
198 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Yummy comfort food might ease the discomfort of bad service”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

The turkey open faced was like grandma's, the tortellini arrabiatta was pretty good, and it was a cozy place. Not fancy and medium priced. Some things seemed overpriced. The service.was terrible- slow and the waitress had a bad attitude.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CandiSpfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    2
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tiffin, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food Served by Friends”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Has a lot of great Hawkeye memorabilia on the walls. The menu is diverse and LONG! Service is very friendly, and prices are in the middle

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RDL311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The service has never been good”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I've been going to this restaurant off and on for years. When I do go, I leave telling myself I will not return. The food is good, but I have never received good service. There is always a group of people (at least 4) standing at the hostess stand chatting away. There is also always a group of people standing around by the kitchen entrance chatting away. I have actually had to go to the hostess stand and ask someone to find my waiter (which the person did not do). If you want good service, then this is not the place to go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Town”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My family loves this place. It has the best pizza in the area along with a good selection of other food. It's a casual restaurant meets sports bar meets pizza joint. Great place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BobLeslieHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just say no!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The beers were served short by an inch or so, and my appetizer was as cold as a brick. Sent it back but instead of doing a remake they ran it through the browner again. End result crap food, and the "manager" explained to me that my expectations were unreasonable. All I wanted was a decent beer and a nibble. Will be staying next door for the next several days but at this point it is a one in my book

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stewey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob's Your Uncle also viewed

 
Iowa City, IA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing