We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Cozy Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip, and the moment I walked through the door I was greeted by extremely cheerful and friendly staff. Check-in took under two minutes, and the rooms are great if you've got work to do--the desks and chairs are ergonomically designed, with good lighting and plenty of outlets and places for gadget hookups. The beds are super comfortable and the heating/air system isn't too noisy and doesn't blast you with hot and cold air, as is the case in so many hotels.

Added bonus: The gym is wonderful! (it's a real gym that guests have access to, not just a room with a few machines). The location is great-just outside you've got plenty of restaurants, coffee shops, and even a great library if you need one. The Bread Garden next door has great soups and salads and snacks that you can take up to your room.

Only one small complaint: No movies "on demand"? I really wanted to watch a movie after a long day of work, but the TVs only get basic cable channels....sigh....oh well!

Great place, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank professorBgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, General Manager at Sheraton Iowa City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your travel to Iowa City! I am sorry we did not meet your need for on-demand movies yet instead have offered HBO to our travelers. There are alot of discussions on movie options and in our area we have found so many of our guests really like to explore our Pedestrian Mall and local shops that not many stay in.

I am truely sorry we disappointed you for this amentiy! We hope next time there will be better offerings on our cable channels! Also, let us know and maybe we can provide directions to one of our local theatres or provide options for great entertainment!

Look forward to seeing you in the gym!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 465 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

The rooms at the Sheraton were nice enough and it was clean but in an era when most hotels are providing extra amenities, Sheraton scrimps! No continental breakfast or free wi-fi. There are hotels as nice and nicer that are providing these so I would definitely make another choice next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, General Manager at Sheraton Iowa City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for letting us know the amenities that matter most to you! Our brand doesn't offer the breakfast and wi-fi you may have been seeking yet if you do check our packages & offers you hopefully can find a more customized experience that you were looking to make your stay more enjoyable!

We want to be able to provide full service to all our guests. Share Wine Lounge offers great breakfast entree's and a range of items on our breakfast table. Our wi-fi is a nominal fee which does enable us to offer you extensive bandwidth for all hi-def gaming and social needs.

Please don't give up on us! We want you to stay with us! Take a look into our specials and let's see if something might suit you better for your next stay in Iowa City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a great stay this past weekend at the Sheraton. Very comfortable beds and rooms are very spacious. Staff was very friendly and happy to help with directions and made sure we had everything we needed. Property is located in a wonderful area with shopping, bars and restaurants right out the front and back door!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, General Manager at Sheraton Iowa City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thanks for letting us know! Enjoy Iowa City! Our retail frends will have some great spring specials soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We made reservation for this Sheraton over a week in advance for two rooms. Received a confirmation for two rooms. Called a half hour before we got there and found out that they had only one room for us and only for one night. Thank goodness the Marriott had open rooms or we could have ended up staying in a neighboring city.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank ajkq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was surprised with the modern, up to date decor. The room was definitely conducive to a business traveler, and the location was perfect for walking around after being in business meetings all day (other than the <10 degree temperature).
In addition, the hotel has a wide variety of TV channels, and the Starwood fitness centers put the other chains to shame!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 136Linda136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 times at the Sheraton in Iowa City. It is next to the University of Iowa, as well as the restaurant and bar area. The service is very good. David in the concierge lounge was particularly helpful. Rooms are very comfortable. The hotel also seems to be pet friendly. The area next to the hotel has plenty of eating and drinking options. I have not been here during a game week, but would imagine the hotel being a perfect spot.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RW2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Was there for a conferance and it couldn't have been better. Excellent everything...food, room, service and right on the downtown pedestrian mall with resturants to choose from. Easy to find for someone who visited the town for the first time. Up to date accomodations. Convenient parking on site. Could not ask for anything more.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper floor room facing the mall. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennish414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at Sheraton Iowa City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

We are so pleased you had a wonderful time! We look forward to your return visit! Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Iowa City Downtown University
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.1 mi away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Iowa City
Travelodge Iowa City
#5 of 7 in Iowa City
626 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
2.9 mi away
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Iowa City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Iowa City Hotel

Address: 210 South Dubuque Street, Iowa City, IA 52240
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range: $195 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Iowa City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel is located on the campus of the University of Iowa, and close to Carver Hawkeye Arena, the legendary Kinnick Stadium, Hancher Performing Arts Center and the Museum of Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Iowa City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Iowa City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing