We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wish...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Iowa City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“I wish...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

we could get a room here everytime we come to Iowa City, but it's often booked for big weekends. We have stayed here 3 times in the past 2 months and have always had an enjoyable experience. Great location, nice staff, clean rooms and by far the best hotel in the Iowa City/Coralville area.

If management is reading this, please hook me up for Saturday, 10/20/2012 for the Penn State game, it says your all booked up, but I'm sure you can figure something out!

Room Tip: Room 400 is very quiet and has a nice view of the mall area & fountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    152
    87
    40
    34
See reviews for
110
56
41
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed on the club level, double queen, which was pretty standard. But, the bathroom was tiny. The AC was incredibly loud (but it worked well enough, I suppose). Also, club lounge was very small, and the evening snacks were terrible. Also charged a fair bit for really low-end wine and beer. Staff seemed quite friendly, though. And, hotel was clean.

Room Tip: Club level may not be worth the extra money here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Iowa City was a pleasant surprise, and the Sheraton was part of it. The hotel is embedded in the interesting downtown. Walk out the front doors and you are onto a delightful mall. There was live music, some dancers, interesting people in a constant stream. A wide choice of pubs and eateries are right there.
The University Buildings begin a block away. Spacious greenbelts offset beautiful buildings. Students (favorite people) scurry along or lounge around. An art class was spread over the lawns, busily sketching away.
The Sheraton was great value for the price. Courteous staff, clean big rooms. For a change, the rooms seemed extra quiet, Some hotels are noisy due to cheap construction, doors banging, people laughing and general noise from the corridors are invasive. The Sheraton was the opposite, I assume from good construction.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at Sheraton Iowa City Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We are so pleased you had a great stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Due to an unexpected family emergency at University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, I was looking for a hotel that was close to the hospital. Apparently there were a lot of things going on in the city that evening because all hotels were booked. I was fortunate to have found a room at the Sheraton, and I'm glad I did. From the warm hospitality at the front desk, to the clean rooms with modern decor and fabulous beds, it was wonderful. There was a party going on at the local watering hole next door, and the front desk was kind enough to make note of that and they put me in a room on the opposite end of the hotel. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travelalot216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at Sheraton Iowa City Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Sorry to hear about your family emergency. We hope everyone is alright. You are welcome anytime you are in the area. We are proud of our hotel and it's great that you had a wonderful stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here during the big Iowa vs. Iowa State football game weekend, and enjoyed ourselves. The hotel was nice and clean. They also took security precautions to make sure drunken students didn't all hang out in the lobby. It was also a convenient distance from the airport.

We ordered room service for breakfast on both mornings, and it was pretty good. We had the egg white omelette, and both oatmeal choices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at Sheraton Iowa City Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
This was a sad weekend for our Hawkeyes and really glad you got to enjoy the game! We know at times some feel our security may be stringent, yet we want everyone to have a great time on the Pedmall and in our city!

We look forward to your return and let us know what we can do to improve to obtain all 5 stars next time! We strive to provide the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, IA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I must have stayed at a different Iowa City Sheraton than the one mentioned in many of the posted rave reviews. I had stayed here a few years ago and found it to be a satisfactory standard Sheraton product. Certainly nothing to get excited about. This time I elected to spend another 1500 points to upgrade to Club level. What a waste of points!
I had recently stayed in several Sheratons in Europe and Asia, upgraded to Club with points and found it a bargain - excellent wines and cocktails available, at no charge, with a very nice selection of canapes in the evening, and a huge breakfast buffet in the morning. Again, all for 1500 points extra per room per night. At the Iowa City Sheraton, we walked into the Club lounge shortly after checkin, found it occupied by a half dozen people who were talking at the top of their lungs. I'm certain that they had just returned from the Iowa football game, as had we, but we didn't see any need to converse so loudly that other people couldn't hear their conversations. The young male attendant was pleasant and friendly, but the hotel hadn't given him much to offer. There were a few razor-thin slices of pineapple and there was a chafing dish of some sort of eggrolls, and that was it! Much to my shock, the alcohol was NOT free, and there were no cocktails available at all. Why on earth would they not at least offer them? The charge for 2 glasses of an average quality Merlot was only $10, not entirely unreasonable, but I was surprised that there was a charge at all. Since we were going to dinner soon, we didn't even bother with the canapes.
Breakfast the next morning was a shock after my experiences abroad - one chafing dish of overcooked scrambled eggs. a few muffins, a couple of bagels and slices of bread, and another appearance by the tiny pieces of pineapple. A few tubs of yogurt were in the refrigerator and only two small bottles of OJ. It looked as though they were hoping nobody would show up for breakfast! The young female attendant was pleasant, but seemed to be paying little attention - had to ask her to put out some plates, even though she was standing only three or four feet from where she had to put them.
The computer in the lounge was functional, but internet speed was unbelievably slow. The printer was NOT functioning.
The room itself was standard Sheraton-issue. It was clean, but the mattress was way overdue for replacement - very soft. There is essentially no closet space (had never before seen such a small closet in a hotel), and the air conditioning was extremely noisy. There is no ventilation in the bathroom, one has to open the door after showering to allow the mirrors to clear. The towels were satisfactory, and shower head quite good. Our desk lamp would NOT function.
The location of the hotel is fine - it's in downtown Iowa City, which is only a few square blocks - any hotel in the downtown area would have an excellent location. It's a nice area, with lots of bars, pubs, eating establishments (typical for a college town) with a number of nice shops and boutiques. Any other hotel in the area would offer as much, it's just that there is only one other hotel in the downtown area.
If you can get a standard room for 7000 Starwood points or about $170 or less, the value is fine. Do not waste your points (1500) or your money ($30 to $50 per night depending on the day of the week) on their Club level product. It's a horrible value. They should be embarrassed to offer such a pitiful product and charge anything at all for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BettendorfTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at Sheraton Iowa City Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
I am so incredibly apologetic that our Club Lounge accommodations were less that acceptable. Please know this was not our intent to provide such a poor experience. We should have plenty of food offerings and an abundant spread of selections. We fell short and this is not our standard. We did have our internet provider out to check signal strength and found a couple areas we have since corrected. Our printer did stop operating and we have purchased a new machine which is now operable.

Our hotel does increase in groups during our football games as everyone becomes very spirited and excited for their home teams! We do provide additional security over the dates and encourage our guests to contact us if someone has overstepped their bounds. I'm sorry it was so loud for you and your guests.

Your guestroom experience is also extremely disappointing. We do have bathroom ventilation, although not a separate switch in the guest room, it is located in the shower and is ventilated thru the hotel pump.

We take your comments seriously and this is not the type of experience we want to provide at Sheraton. Please accept my apologies and know that we do care. We will continue to train, coach and be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Due to unforeseen circumstances, I spent my first two days in Iowa staying at a hotel that was NOT the Sheraton, in a smoking room, with at best fairly patchy hotel staff. The difference between that hotel and The Sheraton was night and day. Firstly the Sheraton rooms are immaculate, their staff are friendly and helpful and this hotel's location is one of the best I've come across, given the price range. My only suggestion is free in-room wifi...get that nd this hotel would be a world-beater!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieErnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at Sheraton Iowa City Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Glad to have you as our guest and you are welcome back anytime! Our internet does host a charge yet we do offer expanded bandwidth that many hotels do not offer. Come back soon as we are going to be offering 3 connections for one price! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.1 mi away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
0.4 mi away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
2.1 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Iowa City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Iowa City Hotel

Property: Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Address: 210 South Dubuque Street, Iowa City, IA 52240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Iowa City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel is located on the campus of the University of Iowa, and close to Carver Hawkeye Arena, the legendary Kinnick Stadium, Hancher Performing Arts Center and the Museum of Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Iowa City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Iowa City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing