We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like at mom's house!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iowa City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Iowa City B&B and Inns
Hartford, CT
1 review
“Just like at mom's house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

I just returned from a two-week business trip to Iowa City. We stayed at Daissy Owen's B&B Bella Vista and it was wonderful! When you are away from home, every little bit of extra comfort counts and Daissy certainly made us feel at home. She accommodated our various breakfast needs (I'm vegetarian) and everchanging breakfast times and provided fun conversation about her travels.
I can highly recommend this B&B, especially if you are looking for a quiet and green neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HannaKanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
48
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2008

I enjoyed my stay at Bella Vista and I might stay there again. I had a room with shared bath -- I was the only guest, and it was fine. It's a simple room, it's not that large, but it was fine for one person. It has a great view. Daissy was very friendly. The location could not be beat, about 10-15 min. walk down a pleasant street from downtown.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank Claire55812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2008

I have been traveling to Iowa City every summer for the Iowa Summer Writing Festival and this will be the 4th year I will stay at A Bella Vista. It is cozy, inviting, and the perfect place to write. Daissy is charming and a wonderful hostess. I would never think of staying anywhere else while visiting Iowa City. Highly recommend!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank inspiredwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2008

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at this lovely B&B. Even though it was cold and cloudy outside (Iowa in January) the atmosphere was warm and bright inside. Our room was large, clean and oh so comfortable. But what topped it all was our host, Daissy. She was an absolute delight. When we arrived she invited us to share a glass of wine in her dining room to toast our anniversary. We talked about her world travels, politics, gardening, you name it. Such a warm, intelligent woman. We went away feeling like we had found a new friend.

  • Liked — Our Hostess
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CedarRapids4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2007

A Bella Vista is on the north side of downtown, the east side of campus and yet tucked away; we could go downtown or on campus on foot and just blend into the hubbub or the quiet places in this state university town. The accommodations were good and reasonably priced; the breakfast was great with good table conversation. It was a delightful experience in a special place.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank sls59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2007

We stayed at Bella Vista in October 2007 in the private apartment below the main house. It was very comfortable and nicely appointed. The B & B's location, in a quiet and charming older neighborhood, is an easy walk to downtown and the university campus. The proprietor, Daissy Owen, is very helpful about nearby attractions and restaurants. A world traveler, photographer and wonderful conversationalist, she loves to chat with you about her travels and yours.
--A traveler from Columbia, Missouri

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank buonappetito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goettingen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2007

I have stayed at A Bella Vista B&B several times from the time it opened until I recently bought my own house in Iowa City. It is a charming unassuming place on a beautiful tree-lined street in one of the city's historic districts. A Bella Vista B&B is always clean and comfortable (there are rooms with private and shared baths) and Daissy is very accomodating and attentive to your needs. The university campus is just a few blocks away and public transportation is very convenient. Definitely book well ahead of time if you want to stay over a football weekend as the place fills up quickly.

One of the most memorable things about A Bella Vista is having breakfast with the other guests, many former Hawkeyes like me, who come from all over the world to enjoy Daissy's hospitality. Some of the people I have met at A Bella Vista are still friends to this day.

  • Liked — Comfort and convenience.
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Iowalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
1.6 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2 Bella Vista Pl, Iowa City, IA 52245-5840
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Iowa City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nineteen-twenties air-conditioned home, tastefully decorated with antiques and international artifacts. A Bella Vista provides three large comfortable suites with private baths and two rooms with shared baths. Guests can enjoy coffee on the back deck or front porch facing the garden and the quiet, private Bella Vista street. Conveniently located in the historical Northside. Within walking distance to the U of Iowa and downtown. Nice view of the Iowa River and Hancher Auditorium. This B&B was included in Rachel Ray's magazine in an article about Iowa City. Cable TV and free wireless access available. Breakfast with international flavor provided by well-traveled hostess, who in addition to English is fluent in Spanish and speaks some French. Her photographs of the Antarctica are the ones most appreciated by her guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Bella Vista Bed And Breakfast Iowa City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing