We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in Iowa City”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iowa City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Iowa City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2007

We stayed at Bella Vista in Sept 2006 and Sept 2007. It is very clean, quiet and comfortable. Located on a private drive in a charming older neighborhood, it is an easy walk to downtown Iowa City, restaurants, shopping and University of Iowa campus. The proprietor, Daissy Owen, was very welcoming and helpful with suggestions for dinner and activities. We especially liked the large front porch at Bella Vista where our group gathered each night for drinks, conversation and chess. We have already booked our reservations for 2008 homecoming and graduation. Bella Vista has made our trips to Iowa City special.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank HawkeyeDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 193 of 193 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2007

We've just returned from another wonderful Iowa homecoming weekend at A Bella Vista. We consistently enjoy our visits with Daissy and appreciate her warm hospitality. Her convenient location to campus makes the experience even better. We're already looking forward to our next visit!"

Stayed: September 2007
Thank Caroline59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2007

Loved staying at A Bella Vista. The accomodations were very clean, the hospitality was awesome and her food was delicious. This is definantly the one place I would like to stay in Iowa City.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank frontporch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

Bella Vist B&B provides a rare combination of excellent property, great location and gracious host. Our daughter went to Iowa University and we had several occassions to visit her. Each time we stayed at Bella Vista. After our first stay we decided we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Daissy the propriator gives her guests unparalleled and friendly service. her knowledge of the surrounding area helped us find the right restaurants and shopping areas we needed. Her extensive travels and experiences provided us with many interesting conversations. We now think of her as a family friend.

One of the many benefits of staying at Bella Vista is Internet wireless access. Her breakfasts are tasty and are served very elegantly. Your stay at Daissy's B&B is sure to be enjoyable. prices are very competetive.

Daniel and Jill, Highland Park, IL

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jzseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

The house is located in a beautiful part of the city and very close to the main part of town and the University of Iowa. The proprietor has travelled all over the world and has a home full of beautiful art, objects, books, and furniture that make it feel both very international and very personal as well. The suite was exceptionally comfortable and well-appointed – it was a pleasure to relax and read some of the many books and magazines there. The proprietor is a very interesting woman who can talk about all parts of the world. Her breakfast was very good as well. I will definitely stay there whenever I stay in Iowa City and recommend the place to friends, family, and colleagues.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuciMoya20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 7 in Iowa City
457 reviews
0.9 mi away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
1.6 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Iowa City
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2 Bella Vista Pl, Iowa City, IA 52245-5840
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Iowa City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nineteen-twenties air-conditioned home, tastefully decorated with antiques and international artifacts. A Bella Vista provides three large comfortable suites with private baths and two rooms with shared baths. Guests can enjoy coffee on the back deck or front porch facing the garden and the quiet, private Bella Vista street. Conveniently located in the historical Northside. Within walking distance to the U of Iowa and downtown. Nice view of the Iowa River and Hancher Auditorium. This B&B was included in Rachel Ray's magazine in an article about Iowa City. Cable TV and free wireless access available. Breakfast with international flavor provided by well-traveled hostess, who in addition to English is fluent in Spanish and speaks some French. Her photographs of the Antarctica are the ones most appreciated by her guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Bella Vista Bed And Breakfast Iowa City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing