We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Relaxing Stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Starkville, MS
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another Relaxing Stay....”
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Was in Iowa City this past weekend and it's just become second nature for us to stay at the Hotel Vetro and honestly we wouldn't think of staying another place! However, the hotel has just gotten BETTER (if that's possible)! The Bread Garden Market and Bakery in Iowa City has just become new residents there IN the Hotel Vetro. It's an amazing fusion of cafe, restaurant, pastry shop, deli, buffet, bakery, gift shop and GROCERY store. It has something for everyone...gourmet quality meals and organic foods...a wonderful selection of wines and beers...you can purchase just about anything you desire within this market!

This is perfect for the hotel especially since each room comes with a kitchen area that has a cook top, full size refrigerator, large microwave and dishwasher. Now if you want to entertain in your room and you are without transportation, you've got the best of both worlds. We always like to have couples in prior to going to the theatre for wine and cheese...a wonderful section of wines and the cheese, well what can I say!

The Hotel Vetro is in the perfect location, convenient to everything...good restaurants, great pubs and bars, entertainment, art galleries, museums and of course the university.

The people that are employed at the hotel have been nothing but gracious and extremely helpful. Another thumbs up from a very satisfied customer.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, the room (always request a corner room), location, very relaxing
  • Disliked — ABSOLUTELY NOTHING
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    61
    31
    28
    11
See reviews for
52
58
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

Great location. Nice views of IA City. Service was pretty inconstant a couple of time when we called down to the front desk or room service no one picked up. Then again walking up to the front desk there was just no one around. We had a lot of trouble with our key cards which was very frustrating to have to walk back down to front desk to have new ones made, and at one point my card was cancelled for some reason and the room was not in my name and they would not call the room or give me a new key even though I new the name and the room number and I had an expired key to the room. After threatening to sleep in the lobby they went and got the manger from another hotel and called up to the room and let me in.
Not sure how else to say this, but this hotel may be cutting edge in IA but don’t expect the level of design that you would find in a Modern minimalist hotel in NY, LA, or Miami.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We chose Hotel Vetro after reading other reviews on this site, one of which mentioned this hotel in a commentary on the Sheraton. Our suite was gorgeous; like being in a display article in the New York Times Style Section! It's the only hotel we've ever stayed in of which I actually took photographs! Everything was absolutely spotless. We wondered how the all-glass shower had no water spots. For a family of 4 people it was very reasonable even without a breakfast (we went to the New Pioneer Co-op on Washington and made our own breakfast). The location is just fantastic: step out onto the pedestrian walkway and explore the town. Prairie Lights bookstore is nearby, the Old Capitol Musuem is an easy walk, there are lots of lovely restaurants (and we were there before school started up again). The staff were very attentive, made sure we had an air mattress for the youngest family member, etc. One caveat: the pool is horrible, as mentioned in the Sheraton reviews (the Sheraton and Hotel Vetro are in the same building and they appear to be still working out connectivity issues). The pool seems to be run by Iowa City Fitness, but when I wanted to mention the deplorable pool condition I was referred to the Sheraton! Dead bugs, bandaids, hair, and mystery stuff was floating in the pool, and it was very cold (my 11 year old checked that) and too deep for little kids. We also found the A/C to be loud at night, but it was a continuous noise, not rattly or squeaky, so perhaps less obtrusive. Don't let these last items stop you - overall we highly recommend the Vetro and would stay there again without hesitation!

  • Liked — Absolutely cool rooms, very comfortable beds, excellent location in town
  • Disliked — No pool (shared with Sheraton and very yucky)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaxAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Great rooms! They had a lot of space, each room has it's own kitchen and huge bathtub. It is the best possible location because it leads out into the main area where all the action is. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would absolutely recommend it to everyone. The gym is incredible, and at no extra cost to guests.

  • Liked — clean modern rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

This is my third stay at the Hotel Vetro and each stay has been great.

The rooms are quite large and furnished in lean, clean style that's very appealing, even if you're not a modernist.

The kitchen area is a true bonus, allowing for true chilling of wine or cup of tazo tea (provided as one of the in-room goodies) --which you'll want to do as you look out your window over the nicely lit downtown and towards the Univ. of Ia. campus and Old Capitol.

The bathroom is a wow as you slide the frosted glass door open to a huge bathtub and separate glassed-in shower. The large rectangular sink is gorgeous - the last time I went with a group of friends, several admitted to trying to find a model number for the sink because they also liked it so much.

An added bonus? Iowa City is great place to visit and to come back to this room really makes the visit a terrific one.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

Beautiful modernist dream in the heart of Iowa City. Adjacent to the Sheraton on the pedestrian mall. Excellent room with concrete floors and very comfortable bed. Not really full service hotel, but bar and restaurant in lobby are tops. Have the bartender make you a pear martini. Yum!

  • Liked — The room was tops!
  • Disliked — Front desk a bit understaffed.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalDavidG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

We stayed one night at HotelVetro, while we were in Iowa for a wedding. We opted for the "Romance" package as we were sans children. Beautiful property! What a "metro" surprise for Iowa. The room was spacious and sleek. Very inviting after a long day of shopping and wedding preparations. The employees were extremely helpful and pleasant. The package we chose was reasonably priced, and we would recommend it to all. Wine, fruit, breakfast in bed, what more could you ask for. When in Iowa City, HotelVetro, whenever you can!!!!

  • Liked — The hotel is very modern and upscale without the upscale price.
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WyomingGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 7 in Iowa City
451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.4 mi away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Iowa City
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
2.1 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center

Property: hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
Address: 201 S Linn St, Iowa City, IA 52240-1603
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, sophistication, and metropolitan flair-experience it all at downtown Iowa City's newest hotel and conference center, located just a block away from the University of Iowa. Listed by Budget Travel Magazine as one of the Top 100 Best Values in the World, hotelVetro is the ultimate in upscale lodging. Boasting modern architectural design, deluxe guest rooms, contemporary kitchens, and the sophisticated yet environmentally conscious amenities, hotelVetro is ideal for short or long-term stays. HotelVetro is a premiere Iowa City conference center, with over 15,000 square feet of versatile banquet space and meeting rooms. Featuring a stunning 4,800 square foot open-air Roof Garden, which offers a magnificent view of the Iowa City Cultural District, hotelVetro provides an unforgettable backdrop for business and social events. HotelVetro offers a complimentary shuttle within a 3 mile radius based on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelvetro: Studio Suites And Convention Center
Hotelvetro: Studio Suites & Convention Center Hotel Iowa City
Hotelvetro Studio Hotel
HotelVetro: Studio Suites & Convention Center Iowa City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing